amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2012, 01:30 AM   #1
skywalkgr
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57
Activity: 26% Activity: 26% Activity: 26%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Hello to everyone

I bought an amiga 500 plus computer from ebay/DE. The problem with this is when i power it on the green led (power) is blinking and i get a green screen on my tv.

I opened it and i removed the battery, it looks that there is no leak from battery but i am not an expert. The board is revision 8A (b52/rock lobster) with kickstart 2.04. I used also a tool and i removed fat agnus and i put it back again but with no luck.

Is there a person that he can help me with this? I can send the machine worldwide i dont care about the cost, i would like that it will be fixed

Thank you
__________________
a12oo + blizzard 1230iV - 68030@50Mhz w/mmu- 10MbRam - Hitachi 2,5inch 40GB hard disk - OS 3.5
a5oo : Kickstart 1.3 , 512Kb of extra ram
skywalkgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 03:24 AM   #2
haywirepc
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,682, Level: 71 Points: 11,682, Level: 71 Points: 11,682, Level: 71
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
haywirepc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Phila,Pa,USA
Posts: 1,307
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

I believe green screen is an indication of bad ram. Do you have a ram board in the underside (trapdoor) expansion? I've gotten a few 500's with good onboard ram but the expansion ram was bad somehow. If there is a ram expansion board in the underside port, remove it and see if it will boot.

Steven
haywirepc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 03:31 AM   #3
spirantho
Premium Member
Points: 12,727, Level: 73 Points: 12,727, Level: 73 Points: 12,727, Level: 73
Activity: 36% Activity: 36% Activity: 36%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,458
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

If that doesn't fix it, it's probably a bad RAM chip.
There are people closer than myself but I could probably fix it if you really need to. I'm in the UK though, so postage would be expensive.
__________________
--
Ian Gledhill
ian.gledhill@btinternit.com (except it should be internEt of course...!)
Check out my shop! http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/shop/ - for 8-bit (and soon 16-bit) goodness!
spirantho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:07 AM   #4
skywalkgr
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57
Activity: 26% Activity: 26% Activity: 26%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywirepc View Post
I believe green screen is an indication of bad ram. Do you have a ram board in the underside (trapdoor) expansion? I've gotten a few 500's with good onboard ram but the expansion ram was bad somehow. If there is a ram expansion board in the underside port, remove it and see if it will boot.

Steven
Thanks for mention it, no i dont have something plugged in the underside (trapdoor).
I took the expansion card (512k) from my other amiga 500 and put it to amiga 500+ with no luck :/
__________________
a12oo + blizzard 1230iV - 68030@50Mhz w/mmu- 10MbRam - Hitachi 2,5inch 40GB hard disk - OS 3.5
a5oo : Kickstart 1.3 , 512Kb of extra ram
skywalkgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:12 AM   #5
skywalkgr
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57
Activity: 26% Activity: 26% Activity: 26%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spirantho View Post
If that doesn't fix it, it's probably a bad RAM chip.
There are people closer than myself but I could probably fix it if you really need to. I'm in the UK though, so postage would be expensive.
YES?? This would be great!!
I can send the mainboard to UK and i am willing to pay for the service Can we arrange it?
__________________
a12oo + blizzard 1230iV - 68030@50Mhz w/mmu- 10MbRam - Hitachi 2,5inch 40GB hard disk - OS 3.5
a5oo : Kickstart 1.3 , 512Kb of extra ram
skywalkgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:14 AM   #6
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,681, Level: 76 Points: 13,681, Level: 76 Points: 13,681, Level: 76
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,222
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Give still a wiggle/push to every socketed chip. And look at the Agnus socket if it's not cracked; you could gently scrape the Agnus contacts to be sure that they pass the voltage thru. I had a 500 that gave green screen because of defective Agnus contact.
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:35 AM   #7
haywirepc
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,682, Level: 71 Points: 11,682, Level: 71 Points: 11,682, Level: 71
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
haywirepc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Phila,Pa,USA
Posts: 1,307
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Yes thats another thing that sometimes works, push down hard on every socketed chip. Clean the motherboard, disconnect and reconnect everything tightly and try to boot it again...

Steven
haywirepc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:48 AM   #8
skywalkgr
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57
Activity: 26% Activity: 26% Activity: 26%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
Give still a wiggle/push to every socketed chip. And look at the Agnus socket if it's not cracked; you could gently scrape the Agnus contacts to be sure that they pass the voltage thru. I had a 500 that gave green screen because of defective Agnus contact.
I pulled out fat agnus with tool extractor and i check the socket and it looks in great shape. When you say "you could gently scrape the agnus contacts to be sure that they pass the voltage thru" what do you mean? How i will do this? is there a possibility that i can harm the chip?
__________________
a12oo + blizzard 1230iV - 68030@50Mhz w/mmu- 10MbRam - Hitachi 2,5inch 40GB hard disk - OS 3.5
a5oo : Kickstart 1.3 , 512Kb of extra ram
skywalkgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:57 AM   #9
skywalkgr
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57
Activity: 26% Activity: 26% Activity: 26%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywirepc View Post
Yes thats another thing that sometimes works, push down hard on every socketed chip. Clean the motherboard, disconnect and reconnect everything tightly and try to boot it again...

Steven
When you say push hard -- how hard is hard?? I hope i will not break something...
Everything seems to be in place except kickstart chip (close to agnus). i dont know if its normal but there is space between chip and the socket so i can see through the other side of the chip.
__________________
a12oo + blizzard 1230iV - 68030@50Mhz w/mmu- 10MbRam - Hitachi 2,5inch 40GB hard disk - OS 3.5
a5oo : Kickstart 1.3 , 512Kb of extra ram
skywalkgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 06:25 AM   #10
skywalkgr
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57
Activity: 26% Activity: 26% Activity: 26%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Close to the battery (on the left) there is one chip, the pins on this chip seems to be green , maybe its fluid from battery i dont know. Does anyone know what kind of chip this is?


__________________
a12oo + blizzard 1230iV - 68030@50Mhz w/mmu- 10MbRam - Hitachi 2,5inch 40GB hard disk - OS 3.5
a5oo : Kickstart 1.3 , 512Kb of extra ram
skywalkgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 06:29 AM   #11
spirantho
Premium Member
Points: 12,727, Level: 73 Points: 12,727, Level: 73 Points: 12,727, Level: 73
Activity: 36% Activity: 36% Activity: 36%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,458
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Can you send us a close-up photo of the area? It shouldn't be green....
__________________
--
Ian Gledhill
ian.gledhill@btinternit.com (except it should be internEt of course...!)
Check out my shop! http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/shop/ - for 8-bit (and soon 16-bit) goodness!
spirantho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 06:38 AM   #12
dougal
Defender of the Faith
Points: 17,545, Level: 84 Points: 17,545, Level: 84 Points: 17,545, Level: 84
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
dougal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Malta
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Look at the board very closely especially around the battery area. Take great care to look at the tracks / traces. See if you see any damage. (dark green / black etc..).

Get a digital multi-meter and set it to the continuity test mode (where if you touch the two leads it beeps) and check the traces close / close-ish to the battery area.

If any of them are damaged, clean them carefully with a circuit board cleaner spray & brush (toothbrush is good). If there is no continuity you will need to solder a bridge wire to bridge the broken trace.
__________________
A1200HD- Blizzard 1230IV / 64Mb / Kick 3.1 / OS 3.9 / 20GB HD / Indivision
A2000 Rev4.4 - '030 @25Mhz / 8MB / Kick 3.1 / ClassicWB
CD32 - Stock (W/ 2 CD32 Controllers]
A500 Plus - 68000 @ 7Mhz / 2MB Chipmem / 2Mb Fast ram / 2.04/Kick1.3 / A590
A600HD - 2MB Chip / 8MB Fast / 2GB CF HD / Kick 3.1
Various Spare A500's and A500 Plus's

PowerMac G4 1Ghz (MorphOS / Leopard)

http://amigamap.com/user/172
dougal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 07:07 AM   #13
skywalkgr
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57
Activity: 26% Activity: 26% Activity: 26%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spirantho View Post
Can you send us a close-up photo of the area? It shouldn't be green....
Here is the close-up photo, its not my mainboard. Its a picture from an amiga hardware site. I am at work now so its difficult to make a photo of the board


__________________
a12oo + blizzard 1230iV - 68030@50Mhz w/mmu- 10MbRam - Hitachi 2,5inch 40GB hard disk - OS 3.5
a5oo : Kickstart 1.3 , 512Kb of extra ram
skywalkgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 07:26 AM   #14
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,681, Level: 76 Points: 13,681, Level: 76 Points: 13,681, Level: 76
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,222
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

SN74LS244N - LOGIC, BUFF/DVR TRI-ST OCTAL driver chip.
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 07:37 AM   #15
skywalkgr
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57
Activity: 26% Activity: 26% Activity: 26%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
SN74LS244N - LOGIC, BUFF/DVR TRI-ST OCTAL driver chip.
i have a question , under SN74LS244N there is also a second code "FFCZ9133" i searched on ebay and i found some SN74LS244N from Texas instruments and also a few motorola. But the second code is not the same :/

Where i can find this chip?
__________________
a12oo + blizzard 1230iV - 68030@50Mhz w/mmu- 10MbRam - Hitachi 2,5inch 40GB hard disk - OS 3.5
a5oo : Kickstart 1.3 , 512Kb of extra ram
skywalkgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 11:17 AM   #16
Snoozy
Technoid
Points: 2,767, Level: 32 Points: 2,767, Level: 32 Points: 2,767, Level: 32
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Snoozy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 250
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

When i had green screen on my 1200 people were all going on and on about faulty kickstart ram.

In my case it was a damaged trace under the kickstart rom chip that could only be seen once the rom chip was removed.

Before suspecting your ram i would take a magnifying glass and conduct a full exam of the circuit traces of your motherboard...repair of damaged traces is often only a 2 minute soldering task

Last edited by Snoozy; 05-08-2012 at 03:34 PM..
Snoozy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 11:36 AM   #17
spirantho
Premium Member
Points: 12,727, Level: 73 Points: 12,727, Level: 73 Points: 12,727, Level: 73
Activity: 36% Activity: 36% Activity: 36%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,458
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

A photo of your particular motherboard was what I meant.

I've got several LS244s here... they cost about 1 on eBay. But yes, do check for traces and things like that - it could be something really simple that's gone wrong!
__________________
--
Ian Gledhill
ian.gledhill@btinternit.com (except it should be internEt of course...!)
Check out my shop! http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/shop/ - for 8-bit (and soon 16-bit) goodness!
spirantho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 02:16 AM   #18
skywalkgr
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57
Activity: 26% Activity: 26% Activity: 26%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spirantho View Post
A photo of your particular motherboard was what I meant.

I've got several LS244s here... they cost about 1 on eBay. But yes, do check for traces and things like that - it could be something really simple that's gone wrong!

Is it possible to use this chip that you have to my amiga 500+? Do i have to flash them or do something before i use them?
__________________
a12oo + blizzard 1230iV - 68030@50Mhz w/mmu- 10MbRam - Hitachi 2,5inch 40GB hard disk - OS 3.5
a5oo : Kickstart 1.3 , 512Kb of extra ram
skywalkgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 03:04 AM   #19
spirantho
Premium Member
Points: 12,727, Level: 73 Points: 12,727, Level: 73 Points: 12,727, Level: 73
Activity: 36% Activity: 36% Activity: 36%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,458
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Nope, the LS244 is a bog standard logic series chip. But to be honest it's probably not at fault, even if the legs are a bit green. The green will come from corrosion from the battery, yes, but chances are it's just on the surface. What you need to look out for is corrosion around the base of the chip - check the tracks around it. Any chance of a photo of your board around the 244?
__________________
--
Ian Gledhill
ian.gledhill@btinternit.com (except it should be internEt of course...!)
Check out my shop! http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/shop/ - for 8-bit (and soon 16-bit) goodness!
spirantho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 04:55 AM   #20
skywalkgr
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57 Points: 7,519, Level: 57
Activity: 26% Activity: 26% Activity: 26%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default Re: amiga 500 plus (dead?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spirantho View Post
Nope, the LS244 is a bog standard logic series chip. But to be honest it's probably not at fault, even if the legs are a bit green. The green will come from corrosion from the battery, yes, but chances are it's just on the surface. What you need to look out for is corrosion around the base of the chip - check the tracks around it. Any chance of a photo of your board around the 244?
i will check the mainboard today, sorry i didnt have time yesterday to upload photo. I will do it today
__________________
a12oo + blizzard 1230iV - 68030@50Mhz w/mmu- 10MbRam - Hitachi 2,5inch 40GB hard disk - OS 3.5
a5oo : Kickstart 1.3 , 512Kb of extra ram
skywalkgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
500 , amiga , dead

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump