amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion A3000 battery

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2012, 10:05 AM   #31
Kremlar
Technoid
Points: 4,254, Level: 41 Points: 4,254, Level: 41 Points: 4,254, Level: 41
Activity: 35% Activity: 35% Activity: 35%
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Milford, MA USA
Posts: 179
Default Re: A3000 battery

Quote:
That's interesting that you need LUNs enabled to use a CF card. I would ask mechy if he knows how to configure your SCSI/CF adapter to work without LUN's enabled.
You can boot without LUNs if you use a PCMCIA to CF card adapter. If you want to use the CF card directly you need LUNs.
Kremlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 04:52 PM   #32
lost_loven
Technoid
Points: 3,706, Level: 38 Points: 3,706, Level: 38 Points: 3,706, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
lost_loven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: THE PEG CANADA
Posts: 175
Default Re: A3000 battery

Dam! look at what i am doing now because of all this talk!

amiga battery.jpg

lost
__________________
A3000D 2 meg chip, 4 meg fast,128 meg zorram! 36 gig hd, 3.1 ROM, A3640, Indivision ECS, X-surf-100. A500 1 meg chip, 2 meg fast, 1.3/2.04, a500 x 5. FTP service now with my Ethernet WD2TB Live Book, haha love it !
hp lappy

http://www.youtube.com/user/lost666loven?feature=mhum
lost_loven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 06:48 PM   #33
matt3k
Cult Member
Points: 10,668, Level: 68 Points: 10,668, Level: 68 Points: 10,668, Level: 68
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 537
Default Re: A3000 battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by lost_loven View Post
Dam! look at what i am doing now because of all this talk!

Attachment 2123

lost
Show us the final product!
matt3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 10:36 AM   #34
lost_loven
Technoid
Points: 3,706, Level: 38 Points: 3,706, Level: 38 Points: 3,706, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
lost_loven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: THE PEG CANADA
Posts: 175
Default Re: A3000 battery

Here is the PORN! And she is naked!

SDC10469.jpg

SDC10470.jpg

SDC10472.jpg


SDC10474.jpg

SDC10506.jpg
__________________
A3000D 2 meg chip, 4 meg fast,128 meg zorram! 36 gig hd, 3.1 ROM, A3640, Indivision ECS, X-surf-100. A500 1 meg chip, 2 meg fast, 1.3/2.04, a500 x 5. FTP service now with my Ethernet WD2TB Live Book, haha love it !
hp lappy

http://www.youtube.com/user/lost666loven?feature=mhum
lost_loven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 10:39 AM   #35
lost_loven
Technoid
Points: 3,706, Level: 38 Points: 3,706, Level: 38 Points: 3,706, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
lost_loven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: THE PEG CANADA
Posts: 175
Default Re: A3000 battery

More!
SDC10507.jpg

SDC10508.jpg

SDC10509.jpg

Had to move the battery on top of the drive there because the cover would not slide all the on.. gonna have to think of another location later.

she all works and charging up now!

lost
__________________
A3000D 2 meg chip, 4 meg fast,128 meg zorram! 36 gig hd, 3.1 ROM, A3640, Indivision ECS, X-surf-100. A500 1 meg chip, 2 meg fast, 1.3/2.04, a500 x 5. FTP service now with my Ethernet WD2TB Live Book, haha love it !
hp lappy

http://www.youtube.com/user/lost666loven?feature=mhum
lost_loven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 03:05 PM   #36
Kawazu
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 126
Default Re: A3000 battery

Wierd, i mounted my battery on the first location you picked out and there where no problem what so ever to slide on the top cover.
Kawazu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:10 PM   #37
lost_loven
Technoid
Points: 3,706, Level: 38 Points: 3,706, Level: 38 Points: 3,706, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
lost_loven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: THE PEG CANADA
Posts: 175
Default Re: A3000 battery

Different size battery. I guess next time i will get something smaller.. Who knew these things are so costly. Average price was about $25 CDN for a 3.6v but the source (Radio Shake) had this one on for 14.29 and I missed out on the other ones which was smaller for on sale for 9.99. Oh well. Actually scared my self on this one, after i wired it all in the system didn't boot at all. It showed the same symptoms that (i think it was Matt3k) had with his.. even down to the caps pressing it 6 times and then nothing. I was freaking lol..I thought the cpu had fried or something. So between last night and this morning swapping hard drives, scsi cables and chips and what not. Found it to be the motherboard somehow was grounding itself out. I think i was lucky cause all is working now. But that was after i stripped it all down right out of the case again and looked at everything i touched! I should of known better cause when i was replacing the screws in the ports in the back (serial vga etc) the right side screws were abit tight, Alarms in brain should of went off there. Long story short and lesson learned.. TAKE YOUR TIME! and I am not going to mention the legs i bent on the indivision i bent lol. opps did i say that. All works so woot!

lost
__________________
A3000D 2 meg chip, 4 meg fast,128 meg zorram! 36 gig hd, 3.1 ROM, A3640, Indivision ECS, X-surf-100. A500 1 meg chip, 2 meg fast, 1.3/2.04, a500 x 5. FTP service now with my Ethernet WD2TB Live Book, haha love it !
hp lappy

http://www.youtube.com/user/lost666loven?feature=mhum
lost_loven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:34 PM   #38
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 911
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: A3000 battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by gertsy View Post
Wires to a rechargable phone battery away off the motherboard is the best idea. Sometimes a 2032 lithium coin battery will still drop the RTC because they are only 3v and the Amiga's RTC chip expects 3.5v.

Not having a diode in the circuit and alowing a 2032 lithium coin battery to charge will lead to VERY undesirable results.
the amiga wants 3.6v, which is why i suggest the LIR2032 which is a lithium coin that starts with 3.6v. it will go much longer than 3v coins and is rechargeable on a wall charger(not in amiga). This battery will fit the standard cr2032 holer also. just remember to use a diode.



mech

Last edited by mechy; 05-06-2012 at 09:46 PM..
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:41 PM   #39
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 911
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: A3000 battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedGeek View Post
That's interesting that you need LUNs enabled to use a CF card. I would ask mechy if he knows how to configure your SCSI/CF adapter to work without LUN's enabled.

I don't expect the shrink wrap to stop battery leakage. It just expect it to contain it enough to prevent damage to the motherboard.

Also, since I don't need a diode I can expect the RTC/memory to run a lot longer than with the coin battery hack. The rechargeable battery charges to approx. 4 volts and has > 100x the current capacity of a coin battery.
the pcd-50B scsi card readers are hard wired with pcmcia slot as lun 0.. so you can use that slot with a pcmcia adapter and cf card and not use luns, you simply will not have access to the other slots like cf,sd/mmc,smart media,and sony memstik which is ok if you just want a cf for a HD.
having the other slots hot swappable can be handy.

I have coin cells going on 5 years and still working btw. the LIR2032 should go way longer before voltage drops too low.

I feel you guys should quit recommending batteries that can leak when we have a better solution,haven't we lost enough nice amigas? i'm tired of fixing battery damaged traces

-Mech-
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:44 PM   #40
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 911
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: A3000 battery

Sigh.. another leak waiting to happen down the road

-mech-
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 10:10 PM   #41
matt3k
Cult Member
Points: 10,668, Level: 68 Points: 10,668, Level: 68 Points: 10,668, Level: 68
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 537
Default Re: A3000 battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by mechy View Post
Sigh.. another leak waiting to happen down the road

-mech-
Ok Mech,

I think you sold me on them. I am researching on switching over to them, I know they are not suppose to leak, but has anyone in the world ever had one leak?

If yes, I will still mount if off the mb.

Regards,

Matt
matt3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:20 PM   #42
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 911
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: A3000 battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt3k View Post
Ok Mech,

I think you sold me on them. I am researching on switching over to them, I know they are not suppose to leak, but has anyone in the world ever had one leak?

If yes, I will still mount if off the mb.

Regards,

Matt

all you have to do is look at the chemestry of them. they don't leak.. i have been using them for 10+ years. never a failure.they must have the diode to isolate them tho or they can pop lol.

mech
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:24 PM   #43
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 911
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: A3000 battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
I thought the chips usually run about @ 2+ Volts (my A500 expansion did have a 2.4V battery...)
you probably have a different clock chip, many different ones were used on expansions, we are mainly taking for amiga motherboards like 2000,3000,4000 etc which use a Ricoh rp5c01 chip.
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:59 AM   #44
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,418, Level: 75 Points: 13,418, Level: 75 Points: 13,418, Level: 75
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,204
Default Re: A3000 battery

From the Ricoh datasheet...
FEATURES
• Connected directly to CPU • 4bit bidirectional data bus : D0 - D3 • 4bit address input : A0 - A3
• Built-in clock counter (hour, minute, second) and calendar counter (leap year, year, month, day, day-of-the-week)
• Supports both 12-hour AM/PM clock and 24-hour clock
• All clock data expressed in BCD codes • 30 second adjustment function
• Backed up by batteries (minimum:2.2V) etc.
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:18 AM   #45
SpeedGeek
Technoid
Points: 3,193, Level: 34 Points: 3,193, Level: 34 Points: 3,193, Level: 34
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Posts: 172
Default Re: A3000 battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by mechy View Post
the pcd-50B scsi card readers are hard wired with pcmcia slot as lun 0.. so you can use that slot with a pcmcia adapter and cf card and not use luns, you simply will not have access to the other slots like cf,sd/mmc,smart media,and sony memstik which is ok if you just want a cf for a HD.
having the other slots hot swappable can be handy.

I have coin cells going on 5 years and still working btw. the LIR2032 should go way longer before voltage drops too low.

I feel you guys should quit recommending batteries that can leak when we have a better solution,haven't we lost enough nice amigas? i'm tired of fixing battery damaged traces

-Mech-
The problem is that it takes longer for the scsi.device to scan LUN's so the time you could save booting from CF is negated by the LUN scan. You can set LAST_LUN flag on RDB after CF drive is found but a cold boot will cause all LUN's to be rescanned if LUN's are enabled.

I didn't recommend a battery that would leak on the motherboard. The double sided adhesive tape is an extra barrier in addition to the shrink wrap. I simply offered an alternative solution. FYI coin batteries are not leak proof either. My ex's calculator had 2 which died, leaked and corroded the battery terminals. I didn't like fixing that very much either!

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 05-07-2012 at 10:51 AM..
SpeedGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a3000 , battery

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump