amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion A3000 battery

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2012, 10:10 PM   #41
matt3k
Cult Member
Points: 11,031, Level: 69 Points: 11,031, Level: 69 Points: 11,031, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 548
Default Re: A3000 battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by mechy View Post
Sigh.. another leak waiting to happen down the road

-mech-
Ok Mech,

I think you sold me on them. I am researching on switching over to them, I know they are not suppose to leak, but has anyone in the world ever had one leak?

If yes, I will still mount if off the mb.

Regards,

Matt
matt3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:20 PM   #42
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,892, Level: 74 Points: 12,892, Level: 74 Points: 12,892, Level: 74
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 927
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: A3000 battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt3k View Post
Ok Mech,

I think you sold me on them. I am researching on switching over to them, I know they are not suppose to leak, but has anyone in the world ever had one leak?

If yes, I will still mount if off the mb.

Regards,

Matt

all you have to do is look at the chemestry of them. they don't leak.. i have been using them for 10+ years. never a failure.they must have the diode to isolate them tho or they can pop lol.

mech
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:24 PM   #43
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,892, Level: 74 Points: 12,892, Level: 74 Points: 12,892, Level: 74
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 927
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: A3000 battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
I thought the chips usually run about @ 2+ Volts (my A500 expansion did have a 2.4V battery...)
you probably have a different clock chip, many different ones were used on expansions, we are mainly taking for amiga motherboards like 2000,3000,4000 etc which use a Ricoh rp5c01 chip.
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:59 AM   #44
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,658, Level: 76 Points: 13,658, Level: 76 Points: 13,658, Level: 76
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,218
Default Re: A3000 battery

From the Ricoh datasheet...
FEATURES
• Connected directly to CPU • 4bit bidirectional data bus : D0 - D3 • 4bit address input : A0 - A3
• Built-in clock counter (hour, minute, second) and calendar counter (leap year, year, month, day, day-of-the-week)
• Supports both 12-hour AM/PM clock and 24-hour clock
• All clock data expressed in BCD codes • 30 second adjustment function
• Backed up by batteries (minimum:2.2V) etc.
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:18 AM   #45
SpeedGeek
Technoid
Points: 3,491, Level: 36 Points: 3,491, Level: 36 Points: 3,491, Level: 36
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Posts: 184
Default Re: A3000 battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by mechy View Post
the pcd-50B scsi card readers are hard wired with pcmcia slot as lun 0.. so you can use that slot with a pcmcia adapter and cf card and not use luns, you simply will not have access to the other slots like cf,sd/mmc,smart media,and sony memstik which is ok if you just want a cf for a HD.
having the other slots hot swappable can be handy.

I have coin cells going on 5 years and still working btw. the LIR2032 should go way longer before voltage drops too low.

I feel you guys should quit recommending batteries that can leak when we have a better solution,haven't we lost enough nice amigas? i'm tired of fixing battery damaged traces

-Mech-
The problem is that it takes longer for the scsi.device to scan LUN's so the time you could save booting from CF is negated by the LUN scan. You can set LAST_LUN flag on RDB after CF drive is found but a cold boot will cause all LUN's to be rescanned if LUN's are enabled.

I didn't recommend a battery that would leak on the motherboard. The double sided adhesive tape is an extra barrier in addition to the shrink wrap. I simply offered an alternative solution. FYI coin batteries are not leak proof either. My ex's calculator had 2 which died, leaked and corroded the battery terminals. I didn't like fixing that very much either!

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 05-07-2012 at 10:51 AM..
SpeedGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a3000 , battery

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump