amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics winuae woes....

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2012, 05:51 AM   #91
mcb
Lifetime Member
Points: 7,931, Level: 59 Points: 7,931, Level: 59 Points: 7,931, Level: 59
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
mcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 66
Send a message via Skype™ to mcb
Default Re: winuae woes....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lurch View Post
I'm very impressed, stuck some photos in my gallery on here :-)
Thanks for the gallery and the feedback there.

If you run Amiga Forever and select Check for Updates from the Help menu, and then install the update that was released today, does it automatically close the Amiga Forever player window?

The general rule is that if the update was invoked from inside the player, it should close the player.

The following is now unrelated, but I thought that it could be helpful to share with such an expert audience, as it involves the preservation of original Amiga configurations, which are often still stored on aging hard disks. Isn't this something that our friends sometimes ask us to help with? I too have all my former A3000 and other configurations imaged and accessible in Amiga Forever, inclusive of a recognizable preview screenshot. These articles link to free tools and step-by-step instructions for creating images from original disks, and using them in Amiga Forever:

Amiga SCSI and IDE Devices: Disk Image Files and Direct Access
http://www.amigaforever.com/kb/15-113

Referencing External Content in RP9 Files
http://www.amigaforever.com/kb/19-112

System Configuration Import Checklist
http://www.amigaforever.com/kb/13-132
mcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:59 AM   #92
ral-clan
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,203, Level: 79 Points: 15,203, Level: 79 Points: 15,203, Level: 79
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
ral-clan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: winuae woes....

I agree that the changes to Amiga Forever 2011-2012 were a game changer for me.

I use it a lot more now, with improvements and added ability to easily edit RP9 files.

The other great thing about the improved RP9 editing options is the ability to configure the emulation screen position and size. Before, I always would use UAE instead of RP9 when setting up games, because older versions of Amiga Forever would not size the game screen properly in fullscreen mode on my monitor.

The newer versions of Amiga Forever do this very well now, and I can tweak different screensize settings and save them in the RP9 - so all games look good now on my monitor.
ral-clan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 06:24 PM   #93
Ami_GFX
Technoid
Points: 5,923, Level: 49 Points: 5,923, Level: 49 Points: 5,923, Level: 49
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 379
Default Re: winuae woes....

I got the PM with the link, downloaded it and gave it a brief run. I'm impressed. It is very well done and easy to use. It did mess with my existing Winuae installation a bit--changed the default paths to the Amiga Forever paths. I changed them back and now they seem to co-exist without affecting each other. It has no problems running on an older Centrino laptop with XP SP3. Runs fine in user mode with no issues so far. I'm not likely to use it exensively. I use real Amigas whenever I can and use Winuae when I want the convenience of a laptop or for doing CPU intensive image processing that would take forever on an 030 or 040 Amiga. Still, it's a nice gift and I'm happy to say that it is a class piece of software for anyone who wants the Amiga experience and doesn't want to mess with real Amiga hardware or take the time to put a Winuae system together from all the different pieces it requires.
Ami_GFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 11:15 PM   #94
mcb
Lifetime Member
Points: 7,931, Level: 59 Points: 7,931, Level: 59 Points: 7,931, Level: 59
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
mcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 66
Send a message via Skype™ to mcb
Default Re: winuae woes....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ami_GFX View Post
It is very well done and easy to use. It did mess with my existing Winuae installation a bit--changed the default paths to the Amiga Forever paths. I changed them back and now they seem to co-exist without affecting each other.
Thanks for the post. Amiga Forever does not write to the WinUAE registry or other settings files. Perhaps what happened in your case is the opposite: WinUAE, not being configured otherwise, autodetected "Amiga Files", so it started looking there? Then, as soon as you set WinUAE to a specific path, it followed your preference.

Mike
mcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 02:41 AM   #95
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 14,630, Level: 78 Points: 14,630, Level: 78 Points: 14,630, Level: 78
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,257
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: winuae woes....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcb View Post

If you run Amiga Forever and select Check for Updates from the Help menu, and then install the update that was released today, does it automatically close the Amiga Forever player window?
Yep that works fine, just had that issue during the install :-) Really enjoying the product :-)
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amiga , forever , sucks , winuae , woes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump