amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:49 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion problems with audio & video on a1200 bvision - motherboard issue?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2012, 12:05 PM   #1
rvo_nl
Lifetime Member
Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64
Activity: 47% Activity: 47% Activity: 47%
 
rvo_nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 770
Default problems with audio & video on a1200 bvision - motherboard issue?

Hi everyone! Finally found some time (and space!) to play around with my Amiga again, but Ive run into a very strange problem. First, a bit of a background story.

A few years ago I returned to the Amiga 'scene' by buying a load of new hard- and software. Most important: a new BlizzardPPC board. I've had lots of fun (well, most of the time anyway) setting this machine up, and had it running in perfect triple-boot harmony.

Then, last summer, I started having corrupt graphics in CGX output. Often it started in the menu's, where garbled lines started appearing, but the more windows I opened, the more corrupt the graphics became. After reinstalling OS3.9 and installing a new PSU, I concluded it must have been the BlizzardVision board that had given up, so I went out (to amibay) and bought 2 new ones (cant have enough of them, I now have 4 in total). Worked first time, so once again I was a happy guy.

Until today. Since the beginning of this year I havent touched my Amiga. Now that I moved to a new home, I finally got round to unpacking and reinstalling the (carefully packed) BPPC and Bvision. Well, first time it seemed to work fine, good graphics, nice sound, perfect. So I turned the power off and did some cleaning up, small mods to the casing etc. When I turned it back on again, I had the exact same graphic problems as last year, and also there was no sound output at all. Shocked, I first suspected I mistakenly swapped Bvision or cabling around, so I tried every possible combination of those items, but that didnt solve anything.

Frustrated, and without swapping any cables or hardware, I screwed the machine back together and turned it on for the last time. To my surprise, the graphics were okay and the sound was working fine..

What is going on here! Is there a relation (on the a1200 motherboard?) to corrupt RTG output and the audio not working? Since Im pretty sure this is going to happen again soon or later.

Please dont start on software or power problems, thats not the issue here.

Any ideas welcome!
__________________
Amiga 1200 (1d4) Kickstart 3.1 (40.68), Elbox Power/Winner tower (450w psu), BlizzardPPC 603e+ @240mhz & 060 @50mhz, 256MB 60ns, BlizzardvisionPPC, IDE-fix Express, IndivisionAGA, 120GB IDE, cd, dvd, Cocolino, Micronik Keycase, PCMCIA Ethernet, Ratte monitor switcher, triple boot WB3.1 / OS3.9 / OS4.1
rvo_nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 12:43 PM   #2
Gulliver
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,369, Level: 80 Points: 15,369, Level: 80 Points: 15,369, Level: 80
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South of the south
Posts: 1,373
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: problems with audio & video on a1200 bvision - motherboard issue?

Hi, I understand your problems. I also had a BlizzardVision some time ago:

When I bought it, I thought the BlizzardVision was broken, had similar issues, but after trying numerous updates tweaks and advice from the previous owner, I finally got it working. It was a long suffering journey, but in the end, I was in heaven

The thing is that sometime after (2 years), I got a dead harddisk (It was a very old 540MB drive!) It was destined to die after all. The only solution was to replace it. I had no backup of my Amiga system which was stored there, so I ended up just like when I bought the BVision. So it was enough for me, I wasnt going to go all the way again wasting all that time just to get the bloody thing working! So I stored the bugger, and about 6 months later, sold it on ebay.

I am sorry if I sound too dissapointing. The BVision was really great when it worked, but it was just too much work to get it working properly.
Gulliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 01:12 PM   #3
rvo_nl
Lifetime Member
Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64
Activity: 47% Activity: 47% Activity: 47%
 
rvo_nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 770
Default Re: problems with audio & video on a1200 bvision - motherboard issue?

well, Im not going to swap my classic, thats for sure seems to me like you suffered mostly software issues, thats not the case here. software-wise its all sorted out. got warpos, ward3d, powerup etc all working (semi-)transparent. thanks for the reply though. good to see you didnt quit Amiga entirely after such dissapointment.
__________________
Amiga 1200 (1d4) Kickstart 3.1 (40.68), Elbox Power/Winner tower (450w psu), BlizzardPPC 603e+ @240mhz & 060 @50mhz, 256MB 60ns, BlizzardvisionPPC, IDE-fix Express, IndivisionAGA, 120GB IDE, cd, dvd, Cocolino, Micronik Keycase, PCMCIA Ethernet, Ratte monitor switcher, triple boot WB3.1 / OS3.9 / OS4.1
rvo_nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 02:32 AM   #4
rvo_nl
Lifetime Member
Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64
Activity: 47% Activity: 47% Activity: 47%
 
rvo_nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 770
Default Re: problems with audio & video on a1200 bvision - motherboard issue?

any other ideas?
__________________
Amiga 1200 (1d4) Kickstart 3.1 (40.68), Elbox Power/Winner tower (450w psu), BlizzardPPC 603e+ @240mhz & 060 @50mhz, 256MB 60ns, BlizzardvisionPPC, IDE-fix Express, IndivisionAGA, 120GB IDE, cd, dvd, Cocolino, Micronik Keycase, PCMCIA Ethernet, Ratte monitor switcher, triple boot WB3.1 / OS3.9 / OS4.1
rvo_nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 09:34 AM   #5
stevieu
VIP / Donor
Points: 6,581, Level: 53 Points: 6,581, Level: 53 Points: 6,581, Level: 53
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
stevieu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 84
Default Re: problems with audio & video on a1200 bvision - motherboard issue?

What revision/model PPC card are you using?

I had no end of stability problems with my first PPC card (with the 040). It was an early revision model. After a while, I'd end up with graphics corruption and freezes. At first I thought it might be down to over-heating, then tried for power issues... I tried a newer PPC card (with 060) and everything was fine.

I heard that the BVisions never got on too well with some of the early cards. That was my problem anyhow
stevieu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 09:54 AM   #6
rvo_nl
Lifetime Member
Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64
Activity: 47% Activity: 47% Activity: 47%
 
rvo_nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 770
Default Re: problems with audio & video on a1200 bvision - motherboard issue?

well, you are right. my first ppc card had lots of troubles too but this one runs fine and dont forget, I had it running for a full year without any problems. I do have a later 060 model.
__________________
Amiga 1200 (1d4) Kickstart 3.1 (40.68), Elbox Power/Winner tower (450w psu), BlizzardPPC 603e+ @240mhz & 060 @50mhz, 256MB 60ns, BlizzardvisionPPC, IDE-fix Express, IndivisionAGA, 120GB IDE, cd, dvd, Cocolino, Micronik Keycase, PCMCIA Ethernet, Ratte monitor switcher, triple boot WB3.1 / OS3.9 / OS4.1
rvo_nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:03 AM   #7
stevieu
VIP / Donor
Points: 6,581, Level: 53 Points: 6,581, Level: 53 Points: 6,581, Level: 53
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
stevieu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 84
Default Re: problems with audio & video on a1200 bvision - motherboard issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rvo_nl View Post
well, you are right. my first ppc card had lots of troubles too but this one runs fine and dont forget, I had it running for a full year without any problems. I do have a later 060 model.
Sorry, I should have paid closer attention to your signature!

The joys of classic hardware, at times... The problems I had drove me nuts. Nuts enough to buy another PPC card just to see if the problem would go away. (I'm using a 1D.4 motherboard)

I hope you get to the bottom of it. Without suggesting the obvious (which you've already mentioned), I'm not sure what to suggest.

Steve

Last edited by stevieu; 04-25-2012 at 10:06 AM..
stevieu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 01:06 PM   #8
rvo_nl
Lifetime Member
Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64
Activity: 47% Activity: 47% Activity: 47%
 
rvo_nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 770
Default Re: problems with audio & video on a1200 bvision - motherboard issue?

thanks for trying though

I shouldnt complain, at least its working now.. and when it works, this machine really shines.
__________________
Amiga 1200 (1d4) Kickstart 3.1 (40.68), Elbox Power/Winner tower (450w psu), BlizzardPPC 603e+ @240mhz & 060 @50mhz, 256MB 60ns, BlizzardvisionPPC, IDE-fix Express, IndivisionAGA, 120GB IDE, cd, dvd, Cocolino, Micronik Keycase, PCMCIA Ethernet, Ratte monitor switcher, triple boot WB3.1 / OS3.9 / OS4.1
rvo_nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 02:09 PM   #9
mfilos
Cult Member
Points: 8,433, Level: 61 Points: 8,433, Level: 61 Points: 8,433, Level: 61
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 660
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Default Re: problems with audio & video on a1200 bvision - motherboard issue?

Have you got secured with the appropriate screws the BVision on the BPPC?
Connector is ok but since it contains MANY signals, it kinda sux if some pin isn't making a nice and firm connection.
I also had in the past some artifact issues, but most of times were either a non-screwed BVision or heat issues that were solved putting 2x 40x40x10 fans and heatsink to Permedia and the 2 large chips
__________________
Visit my Amiga blog here
- A600: 030@37.5, 64MB, A604n, 16GB CF, Indivision ECS, Subway, MAS-Player + Custom Audio Mixer (internal), HxC SD + Slim floppy (internal)
mfilos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 02:58 PM   #10
rvo_nl
Lifetime Member
Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64
Activity: 47% Activity: 47% Activity: 47%
 
rvo_nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 770
Default Re: problems with audio & video on a1200 bvision - motherboard issue?

yeah it could be related to the screws. I never figured out how tight I should screw the bvision in place. as tight as possible isnt working here. did install proper cooling on the boards. do you people also feed extra power to the motherboard over the floppy drive connector?
__________________
Amiga 1200 (1d4) Kickstart 3.1 (40.68), Elbox Power/Winner tower (450w psu), BlizzardPPC 603e+ @240mhz & 060 @50mhz, 256MB 60ns, BlizzardvisionPPC, IDE-fix Express, IndivisionAGA, 120GB IDE, cd, dvd, Cocolino, Micronik Keycase, PCMCIA Ethernet, Ratte monitor switcher, triple boot WB3.1 / OS3.9 / OS4.1
rvo_nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a1200 , audio , bvision , issue , motherboard , problems , video

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump