amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:56 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2012, 01:28 PM   #1
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,642
Default MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

Hello, I have finally got the inspiration to work on some more tracks and perhaps finish off a couple that I abandoned.

The thing is that I'm tired of only being able to use OctaMED S.S. to trigger a key on my keyboard, not to mention being limited to the fact that when OctaMED triggers the key it plays it as if the Key is being held down rather than letting me define how hard and how long the key is pressed. Does anyone have any info on this?

Beyond that I'd like to be able to trigger drums from my drum machine, but even though my drum machine is set to the propper MIDI channel, it does not respond. Likewise when I wire the drum machine for input into the Amiga, nothing happens when I strike a drum pad.

Mind you I can feed input into the Amiga via a Keyboard just fine so I know my settings must be configured correctly.

On top of all this I'd also like to know how one goes about triggering your Keyboard and Drum Machine to start playing, and playing at the same BPM as the Amiga, when I tell the Amiga to play. I.E. let's say I've defined my patterns and songs on my Drum Machine and I've written up a little song on OctaMED, and I want them to sync and start playing together when I press play on OctaMED.

Lastly, I would like to know how one is supposd to use the Auxilarly jack on the back of your hardware. Is this the port that I run into my Effects Processor, then from there, out the Left and RIght audio jacks and into my Mixer?
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 03:19 PM   #2
x303
Cult Member
Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
x303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 632
Lightbulb Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

Quote:
Beyond that I'd like to be able to trigger drums from my drum machine, but even though my drum machine is set to the propper MIDI channel, it does not respond. Likewise when I wire the drum machine for input into the Amiga, nothing happens when I strike a drum pad.
Don't know which drummachine you have, but in general these machines are not designed to output midi notes. Midi out is basically for sending start/stop/tempo signals and for using midi thru.

Quote:
On top of all this I'd also like to know how one goes about triggering your Keyboard and Drum Machine to start playing, and playing at the same BPM as the Amiga, when I tell the Amiga to play. I.E. let's say I've defined my patterns and songs on my Drum Machine and I've written up a little song on OctaMED, and I want them to sync and start playing together when I press play on OctaMED.
I think you should put the drummachine in the right sync mode. This to make sure it
a) plays in sync with the amiga
or
b) plays the midi notes
It's normally set one or the other.
Set midi channel on the amiga and drummachine to 10, which is the normal channel for these type of machines.
x303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 03:24 PM   #3
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,642
Default Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

I have an Akai Xr-20 for the note.

Am also using a MicrKorg
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 05:09 PM   #4
x303
Cult Member
Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
x303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 632
Cool Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

You should be able to transmit midi notes with the xr 20, if you set the option to "on". In SS, have you selected 'midi/input active', 'read key-up's' and 'read volume' ?

Your setup should look like: korg->amiga->xr20->korg
The korg first, as master keyboard and later when playing, as instrument. My own setup looks a bit like this (also starts with the korg) only a bit more complicated
x303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 08:39 PM   #5
magnetic
Defender of the Faith
Points: 16,052, Level: 81 Points: 16,052, Level: 81 Points: 16,052, Level: 81
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
magnetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,987
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

Guys lets keep this thread alive we need more like this. There is very little info on making Amiga music with midi on line.

Is there someone out there that can do a cool youtube vid showing their gear, how its integrated and how to use it??
__________________
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS /Amiga OS4.1 U4/Ubuntu GNU-Linux /MacOS X

Amiga Technologies A1200 HD | Blizzard 1260@66mhz | 128mb | OS 3.9 | Indivision MK2

Amiga 600 | 3.1 Rom | 4mb SRAM 2mb Chip | ClassicWB 68k
magnetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 09:11 PM   #6
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,642
Default Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

Like this?

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vPocY3UlK5A

HD Rec 1.0

For Classic 060 Amiga, MorphOS, OS 4.
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs

Last edited by XDelusion; 03-30-2012 at 09:15 PM..
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 09:18 PM   #7
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,642
Default Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

Also, as a side note.

I ran my Miracle Piano's out to my Korg's IN.

My hope was to use the Miracle Piano's Keys in place of the Korg's tiny keys. The Magic ddoes not have a means to select a Midi channel so I presume it out puts to 1?

Can't get the Korg to respond.

Edit: I need to check if the Miracle has dip switches.
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 07:52 AM   #8
x303
Cult Member
Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
x303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 632
Exclamation Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

Quote:
My hope was to use the Miracle Piano's Keys in place of the Korg's tiny keys.
Maybe your hands are too big.

Quote:
The Magic ddoes not have a means to select a Midi channel so I presume it out puts to 1?
Yeah, the 'magic' should output to channel 1 (i guess you have the manual->http://pianoeducation.org/pnompfaq.html#manuals). Just change the channel on the korg to match that.
x303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 09:51 AM   #9
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,642
Default Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

You are correct, channel 1, and I had to unplug the serial cable.

Sadly I can only activate a limited key range with it...

Maybe I need that foot pedal that I'm lacking? Oh well...


Got everything else working though!!!!!!! Thankx x303!!!
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 10:50 AM   #10
minator
Cult Member
Points: 10,283, Level: 67 Points: 10,283, Level: 67 Points: 10,283, Level: 67
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
minator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 589
Default Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

This was sequenced with an A500 according to the notes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yfdPfsYlgck
minator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 11:17 AM   #11
amiman99
Lifetime Member
Points: 5,613, Level: 48 Points: 5,613, Level: 48 Points: 5,613, Level: 48
Activity: 30% Activity: 30% Activity: 30%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 698
Default Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

I just got Roland GAIA and I would like to get it running with OctaMED Studio sometime.
I would like to find a book which explains all the MIDI basics.

I think the drums are running on MIDI CH10.
__________________
A500 KS 2.1, 1MB Chip, 68000
A600 KS 3.1, 2MB Chip, ACA630 32MB RAM
A1000 KS 1.3, 2MB RAM
A1200 KS 3.1, Blizzard IV 50MHz 64MB RAM
A2000 KS 2.1, 68030 25MHz, 6MB RAM
A3000 KS 3.1, 68030 25MHz, 16MB RAM
A4000 KS 3.0, 68040 25MHz, 16MB RAM
CDTV KS 3.1, 4MB RAM
CD32
AROS BOX
amiman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 11:27 AM   #12
x303
Cult Member
Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
x303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 632
Arrow Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
I just got Roland GAIA and I would like to get it running with OctaMED Studio sometime.
I would like to find a book which explains all the MIDI basics.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MIDI
Not enough info, check out all the links below the page.
x303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 11:29 AM   #13
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100 Points: 37,409, Level: 100
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,642
Default Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

Animan99: If you follow X303's advice, and learn how to set up your MIDI on your device, then play around a bit, you'll find that setting this all up is a LOT easier than it seems!

I really wish I hadn't promised my brother that I'd come over for the week's end, else I'd be doing nothing but this for the next 48 hours!
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 11:36 AM   #14
amiman99
Lifetime Member
Points: 5,613, Level: 48 Points: 5,613, Level: 48 Points: 5,613, Level: 48
Activity: 30% Activity: 30% Activity: 30%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 698
Default Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

I'm a visual person so links like that help me more, this is what I found http://www.synthman.com/roland/suppo...OTES/MIDI.html
Specific links to OctaMED or othe Amiga sw would be better.
I also have Atari STE with 4MB RAM and Notator SW, maybe this way is easier???
__________________
A500 KS 2.1, 1MB Chip, 68000
A600 KS 3.1, 2MB Chip, ACA630 32MB RAM
A1000 KS 1.3, 2MB RAM
A1200 KS 3.1, Blizzard IV 50MHz 64MB RAM
A2000 KS 2.1, 68030 25MHz, 6MB RAM
A3000 KS 3.1, 68030 25MHz, 16MB RAM
A4000 KS 3.0, 68040 25MHz, 16MB RAM
CDTV KS 3.1, 4MB RAM
CD32
AROS BOX
amiman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 11:47 AM   #15
x303
Cult Member
Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
x303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 632
Exclamation Re: MIDI Beyond theBasics and Other Such Stuff

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
Specific links to OctaMED or othe Amiga sw would be better.
http://aminet.net/package/mus/midi/cam_deAB
This program (demo) looks a bit like cubase. Loads of options to play with.
x303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
midi , stuff , thebasics

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump