amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:08 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga News and Community Announcements Amiga Retail News / Sales Micromys V4, PS/2 Mouse Adapter for Commodore 64, Amiga and Atari ST

Amiga Retail News / Sales This is the news feed forum for Amiga related retail news, announcement, and sales.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2012, 08:40 AM   #1
System
Technoid
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 199
Default Micromys V4, PS/2 Mouse Adapter for Commodore 64, Amiga and Atari ST




Micromys V4

PS/2 Mouse Interface for Amiga, Atari ST and Commodore 64/128

The new version of the Micromys interface comes without Dip switches for its configuration, the adapter figures out most computer environments automatically (you may need to press a mouse button in certain cases, though).

Here are the available modes of operation: Amiga wheel mode:
Just plug in and switch on. Device will auto-detect that it's connected to an Amiga and switch to 2-button mode with wheel support. Wheel and middle-mouse button can be activated with the driver from www.micromys.de Amiga 3-button mode without drivers:
User keeps middle mouse button (or wheel) pressed while switching the Amiga on. This mode stays active until the next power cycle. A machine reset does not alter the mode of operation - only a power-cycle does. Atari ST/STe/Falcon:
Just plug in and switch on. Micromys will auto-detect that it's connected to an Atari and switch to that mode. Pressing the right mouse button once after power-up may be required, depending on the machine. After that has been done, the detected Atari-mode will survive all resets; Micromys will stay in Atari-mode until the next power-cycle. C64 or C128 in joystick port 1:
This is the usual port for a 1351 mouse. Most programs use it for the proportional mouse, because the GEOS operating system expects the mouse there. If Micromys V4 is plugged into Port 1, it detects the machine and switches to 1351 mode. Should the user hold down the right mouse button during power-up, the unit goes to joystick emulation mode, just like the real 1351 mouse would do. C64 or C128 in joystick port 2:
This is a rather unusual port for a proportional mouse. However, the popular music programs MSSIAH and Prophet64 use the mouse in that port, so it must be covered. If the user wants to use joystick port 2, then Micromys must be attached to port 2 after power-up and after the program has been started. The program must be set to use the mouse, and then the adapter can be attached to port 2. Since auto-detect in port 2 is highly depending on software (thus may not always work), Micromys V4 can be configured to be C64-only by removing the auto-detect jumper inside the case. Once the jumper is removed, the auto-detect sequence is bypassed and the unit will work in C64-only mode on any port of any computer. This will also let you use the joystick emulation mode on other computers than the C64.
Micromys V4 of course retains the high compatibilty of its predecessor, the Micromys V3 adapter. USB mice supporting the PS/2 protocol also work with the Micromys adapter.


Item currently not available, ETA March 29, 2012.

EUR 29.99 incl. 19% German VAT (EUR 25.20 excl. VAT for non-EU customers)

More...
System is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:37 AM   #2
VingtTrois
Lifetime Member
Points: 12,782, Level: 73 Points: 12,782, Level: 73 Points: 12,782, Level: 73
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
VingtTrois's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Frankreich/France/Francia/Frankrig/Frankenstein
Posts: 823
Send a message via AIM to VingtTrois
Default Re: Micromys V4, PS/2 Mouse Adapter for Commodore 64, Amiga and Atari ST

I want one unit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
-A3K(T)040@35MHz/78MB/KS3.1/OS3.9/Buster11/PICASSO II/GVP IO/A2088XT/DENEB/HDD18GB
-A3K(D)030@25MHz/134MB RAM/KS3.1/OS3.9/Buster11/RETINA Z2/OKTAGON 2008/VLAB YC/MIDI/DKB3128/HDD18GB
-A2K/ROM 1.3-3.1/2MBCHIP/8MB/A2091/OKTAGON 2008/A2058/TANDEM IDE/FlickerFixer-Scandoubler/Genlock
-A1200/KS3.1/2MB+9MB/CF2GB A1200/KS3.0/2MB/CF1GB/
-A1K/KS1.2/Kickstart Adapter/A1050/512K
-A600/1MB/A603 1MB/CF2GB/4MB RAM expansion
-1xA2K-2xA600-2xA500-C128-C64-PS1-PS3-SNES-Archos GMini400-CDI Philips
VingtTrois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:51 AM   #3
Renegrade
Merely Curious
Points: 52, Level: 1 Points: 52, Level: 1 Points: 52, Level: 1
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default Re: Micromys V4, PS/2 Mouse Adapter for Commodore 64, Amiga and Atari ST

Oh nice!

I have a V3 unit, it works nicely.

I have a couple of older white-and-translucent-grey Logitech mice which support PS/2 mode with the little green USB->PS/2 dongle, they work fine with the V3 unit.
Renegrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:56 AM   #4
Sparky
Technoid
Points: 9,098, Level: 64 Points: 9,098, Level: 64 Points: 9,098, Level: 64
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 253
Send a message via Skype™ to Sparky
Default Re: Micromys V4, PS/2 Mouse Adapter for Commodore 64, Amiga and Atari ST

Nice!

Only one snag ... the advertising should probably be adjusted a little as it won't fit the C128 (flat) (or A600 as well I think) ... the 9pin connector with the screwy things is to large and won't physically fit :-(

I bought some joystick extension cables off of ebay for my Micromys V3 and they sort it .. plus saves on wear and tear of the ports on the Commodore :-)
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 03:08 AM   #5
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: Micromys V4, PS/2 Mouse Adapter for Commodore 64, Amiga and Atari ST

I own several V3's and they r0x my s0x!
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 07:46 AM   #6
motrucker
Premium Member
Points: 15,803, Level: 80 Points: 15,803, Level: 80 Points: 15,803, Level: 80
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
motrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Maryland - U.S.A.
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Micromys V4, PS/2 Mouse Adapter for Commodore 64, Amiga and Atari ST

Great timing! I just bought a V3. That's my luck.
I wouldn't trade this though - It works great on both my Amiga and the eight bit Commodore. Works with my Logitech laser mice (USB) just fine.
Damn nice adapter.
motrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 09:35 AM   #7
ognix
Technoid
Points: 8,306, Level: 61 Points: 8,306, Level: 61 Points: 8,306, Level: 61
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
ognix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Udine, ITALY
Posts: 244
Lightbulb Re: Micromys V4, PS/2 Mouse Adapter for Commodore 64, Amiga and Atari ST

It seems to be a nifty piece of hardware: really well done!

But it could be improved to support (if possible) also the MSX standard: MSX users will benefit, but also old Roland samplers users (S330, S550, etc).

This means more units sold (MSX mouses are quite rare).

BY!
ognix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 10:40 AM   #8
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,790
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: Micromys V4, PS/2 Mouse Adapter for Commodore 64, Amiga and Atari ST

Good... maybe this one will actually work on my C64 and Atari 8-bit instead of just with my Amiga for a change.

I REALLY wish the 9pin end wasn't so damn wide. I hand to cut my last one down a bit to make it work with my A600. :/
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 10:56 AM   #9
AmigaClassicRule
Cult Member
Points: 7,492, Level: 57 Points: 7,492, Level: 57 Points: 7,492, Level: 57
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 953
Default Re: Micromys V4, PS/2 Mouse Adapter for Commodore 64, Amiga and Atari ST

I do not get it. What does this adapter do actually? Is it suppose to allow you to use any PC/Mac standard mouse into your Amiga instead of an actual Amiga based mouse? Is that it? Thanks in advance.
AmigaClassicRule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:45 PM   #10
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,790
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: Micromys V4, PS/2 Mouse Adapter for Commodore 64, Amiga and Atari ST

On the Amiga, Atari 8-bit, C64, and Atari St
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 05:23 AM   #11
ptek
Technoid
Points: 10,506, Level: 68 Points: 10,506, Level: 68 Points: 10,506, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
ptek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 323
Default Re: Micromys V4, PS/2 Mouse Adapter for Commodore 64, Amiga and Atari ST

Nice price.
__________________
Onions have layers ...
ptek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 12:52 PM   #12
motrucker
Premium Member
Points: 15,803, Level: 80 Points: 15,803, Level: 80 Points: 15,803, Level: 80
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
motrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Maryland - U.S.A.
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Micromys V4, PS/2 Mouse Adapter for Commodore 64, Amiga and Atari ST

Who is releasing this version? I haven't seen a word on Jens site or the Mircomys site?
motrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump