amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:10 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion A4000D rebooting after Early Startup, but otherwise normal.

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2012, 10:43 PM   #1
slaapliedje
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,891, Level: 44 Points: 4,891, Level: 44 Points: 4,891, Level: 44
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 504
Default A4000D rebooting after Early Startup, but otherwise normal.

So I've ran into this odd issue. Firstly, I ordered a ZorRAM card (128MB) and it seemed to not like my Mediator 4000Di. The tech support from Amigakit suggested I pull out the Mediator and test it without any other cards in (I am assuming they meant for me to put in my original Busboard, since... well you know I don't have any Zorro slots on the actual motherboard..., but they did not specify.)

Regardless, once I put that in, I couldn't actually get back into the Early Startup long enough to click the button for Expansion Diagnostics. As soon as that screen comes up, the screen goes black and the hard drive light flashes, but then the screen turns off saying there is no signal.

I have an Indivision AGA in it, with it connected to an LCD monitor. The Mediator 4000Di itself has a Radeon 9250 and a 10/100 Network card.

The oddest thing about all of this... it boots up just fine and works as it always has.

The stranger thing is that it seems when I put the mediator back in, but didn't have the bracket on top yet (I was testing things) it seemed to work, but then when I put it on, and started putting everything back in, it again has the same issue, where the Early Startup freaks out the system, yet it still loads up workbench just fine.

So it's almost like somewhere there is a solder joint that isn't quite what it should be.

I did notice when going over my system and seeing if anything was loose, that there is a 50.000Mhz chip just like the one on the A3640 board underneath it that seemed to not be entirely connected (one of the corners was up, rather than it being flat against the board). I had no clue the system had two of those, I thought that was the crystal that needs to be twice the Mhz of the actual chip.

I also ended up reseating the Chip and Fast Memory, 'cause it had looked for a moment that I had only 8MB of the 16MB working. I thought that initially had fixed it.

Anything else I should / could check out? I did apply some pressure to the ROM chips, but it didn't seem to help, and they were in there pretty solidly.

slaapliedje
slaapliedje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:12 PM   #2
paul1981
Cult Member
Points: 5,618, Level: 48 Points: 5,618, Level: 48 Points: 5,618, Level: 48
Activity: 36% Activity: 36% Activity: 36%
 
paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: England
Posts: 831
Default Re: A4000D rebooting after Early Startup, but otherwise normal.

Hmmm, have you made progress with this yet?
I don't have an A4000, but when you say you put the bracket back in and it died again then that indicates a poor connection somewhere. Are you sure the Indivision is 100% secure?
paul1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 07:18 PM   #3
slaapliedje
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,891, Level: 44 Points: 4,891, Level: 44 Points: 4,891, Level: 44
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 504
Default Re: A4000D rebooting after Early Startup, but otherwise normal.

No progress yet. I did leave the Amiga on all day at 1024x768 through the Radeon, and it didn't crash. It's almost as if the ROMs themselves are messed up. I did have some weird coloring on the Indivision output once, but I moved the VGA cable around, and that fixed it. The Indivision is on there so tight I was afraid it would snap if I tried to pull it off to reseat it.

slaapliedje
slaapliedje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 08:23 PM   #4
slaapliedje
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,891, Level: 44 Points: 4,891, Level: 44 Points: 4,891, Level: 44
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 504
Default Re: A4000D rebooting after Early Startup, but otherwise normal.

Quick update, seems it definitely I'd something between the mediator and the zorro slot. Occasionally it doesn't detect any of it. Of I do a soft reset, it is detected, and then a soft rest again with both mouse buttons pressed, Early Startup works. Weird...

slaapliedje
slaapliedje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 09:23 PM   #5
platon42
Cult Member
Points: 9,459, Level: 65 Points: 9,459, Level: 65 Points: 9,459, Level: 65
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
platon42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 573
Default Re: A4000D rebooting after Early Startup, but otherwise normal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaapliedje View Post
So I've ran into this odd issue. Firstly, I ordered a ZorRAM card (128MB) and it seemed to not like my Mediator 4000Di. The tech support from Amigakit suggested I pull out the Mediator and test it without any other cards in (I am assuming they meant for me to put in my original Busboard, since... well you know I don't have any Zorro slots on the actual motherboard..., but they did not specify.)
I had an A4000D once which also had some weird behaviour. With 030 CPU, it worked just normally. With 060 CPU, after powering it up, it rebooted after less than 15 seconds, but only once and after that it worked normally, except for: No Zorro 3 cards would be working anymore.

I found no solution to this problem and so I tossed it for an A4000T after a few years not being able to use my CV64 in this machine.

Maybe you have a similarily broken machine.

PS: 20000 new posts since my last login... gosh...
__________________
--
Regards, Chris Hodges )-> http://www.platon42.de <-(
hackerkey://v4sw7CJS$hw6/7ln6pr7+8AOP$ck0ma8u2LMw1/4Xm5l3i5TJCOTextPad/e7t2BDMNb7GHLen5a34s5IMr1g3/5ACM
platon42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 07:08 AM   #6
slaapliedje
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,891, Level: 44 Points: 4,891, Level: 44 Points: 4,891, Level: 44
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 504
Default Re: A4000D rebooting after Early Startup, but otherwise normal.

So in part of my tweaking things, I had put on some Arctic Silver 5 on my CPU. At first it felt like the heatsink wasn't doing it's job (it was somewhat cool to the touch, even though the old heatsink goop had kept it rather toasty). After leaving it on all day (I had forgotten that is the real key to AS5, so it works as it should) it seemed to make the heat sink nice and warm again, but more evenly distributed (if that makes any sense)

In feeling around on it last night the only thing I really did was make sure the Mediator board was in there tight (it was). Then I booted it back up and it was working! I tried it a few more times and everything seems fine.

So at this point I'm not entirely sure what the deal was. During this whole process I was also attempting to install the coin battery holder, but since the pegs on the one I received from Amiga kit didn't quite fit right, I couldn't get it in, and ended up breaking the pins off of it (fortunately that was only 1.26!) I'll have to search to see if I can find a better fit for that, but the battery that is on there looks fairly new, so I'm thinking the previous owner must have already gone through the motherboard fairly well (it wasn't dusty and crappy when I got it).

slaapliedje

Last edited by slaapliedje; 03-28-2012 at 07:11 AM..
slaapliedje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 08:12 AM   #7
HammerD
Cult Member
Points: 11,776, Level: 71 Points: 11,776, Level: 71 Points: 11,776, Level: 71
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 677
Send a message via ICQ to HammerD Send a message via MSN to HammerD
Default Re: A4000D rebooting after Early Startup, but otherwise normal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaapliedje View Post
So in part of my tweaking things, I had put on some Arctic Silver 5 on my CPU. At first it felt like the heatsink wasn't doing it's job (it was somewhat cool to the touch, even though the old heatsink goop had kept it rather toasty). After leaving it on all day (I had forgotten that is the real key to AS5, so it works as it should) it seemed to make the heat sink nice and warm again, but more evenly distributed (if that makes any sense)

In feeling around on it last night the only thing I really did was make sure the Mediator board was in there tight (it was). Then I booted it back up and it was working! I tried it a few more times and everything seems fine.

So at this point I'm not entirely sure what the deal was. During this whole process I was also attempting to install the coin battery holder, but since the pegs on the one I received from Amiga kit didn't quite fit right, I couldn't get it in, and ended up breaking the pins off of it (fortunately that was only 1.26!) I'll have to search to see if I can find a better fit for that, but the battery that is on there looks fairly new, so I'm thinking the previous owner must have already gone through the motherboard fairly well (it wasn't dusty and crappy when I got it).

slaapliedje
Glad it's working for you now. I have several A4000D's and a couple towers, and it is not uncommon for them to act strange sometimes. On one of my A4000's I lose the secondary IDE port sometimes, other times I get some strange things happening.

Re-seating boards/chips sometimes helps, and ensuring proper cooling. As these machines are elderly so they can be picky

With proper care and patience (as you found out) they will work

I have several ZorRAM's and Mediators and they do work together. You can run into some address space issues with a fully populated Mediator and 256MB ZorRAM's, but seeing as you have the 128MB version you should be fine.
__________________
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!
HammerD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a4000d , early , normal , rebooting , startup

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump