amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2011, 12:44 PM   #91
bbond007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,036, Level: 66 Points: 10,036, Level: 66 Points: 10,036, Level: 66
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
bbond007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,378
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blizzard View Post
This is a great find! My biggest question tho would have to be whats the scrolling like? One of the amigas best features to me is the super smooth pinball games. My 28" scart crt still has lots of life yet but would hate to loose the smooth scrolling if i ever have to switch to a lcd monitor..
I would say the scrolling is really about perfect in my opinion. There is no tearing or anything like that in Pinball Illusions or scrollers like Lionheart or Shadow of the beast.
I think the reason it works so well is the fact the monitor can take 15hz without going through framerate conversion.

I know that as soon as I say that someone who has used a 1084 in the last 15 years will buy it on my recommendation and see some flaw I am overlooking, and my corrected eyesight not perfect.

If I thought I could accurately video the monitor and post it I would, but don't know of a way to do that without introducing the kind of tearing that I'm claiming is minimal or does not exist.

My suggestion is to see if your local store has the monitor so you can return it if you unhappy with it.

The monitor is not perfect for the amiga. Text still sometimes looks a little funny, because the amiga can't push the monitor at it's native resolution, but of all minor bad things, I do think the scrolling is probably a strong point.

Hope that helps.

Last edited by bbond007; 11-11-2011 at 04:24 PM..
bbond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 02:54 PM   #92
Blizzard
Merely Curious
Points: 817, Level: 15 Points: 817, Level: 15 Points: 817, Level: 15
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Blizzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Cheers for letting me know
If i happen to see one at a nice price one day may have to consider picking one up!
Blizzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:23 AM   #93
spaceman88
Technoid
Points: 7,406, Level: 57 Points: 7,406, Level: 57 Points: 7,406, Level: 57
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Hi,
Not sure if this has been answered yet, but has anyone tried the Dell ST2320L that is currently being sold by Dell. They Don't have a SR2320L listed (at least in Canada).
Thanks
spaceman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 11:42 AM   #94
Matt_H
VIP / Donor
Points: 24,044, Level: 94 Points: 24,044, Level: 94 Points: 24,044, Level: 94
Activity: 44% Activity: 44% Activity: 44%
 
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA, United States
Posts: 5,239
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Quote:
Originally Posted by spaceman88 View Post
Hi,
Not sure if this has been answered yet, but has anyone tried the Dell ST2320L that is currently being sold by Dell. They Don't have a SR2320L listed (at least in Canada).
Thanks
Don't know if it's been tested, but I couldn't find any difference between the two based on published specifications and pictures. That doesn't mean much, though - I've been screwed by LCDs loudly proclaiming themselves as 15KHz-capable that have failed to handle Amiga modes.
Matt_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 11:50 AM   #95
SquirrelM@ster
Beginner
Points: 288, Level: 5 Points: 288, Level: 5 Points: 288, Level: 5
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 22
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_H View Post
I've been screwed by LCDs loudly proclaiming themselves as 15KHz-capable that have failed to handle Amiga modes.
That sucks. That's exactly what I'm trying to avoid...I'm trying to find the right monitor/TV and the right adapter...
SquirrelM@ster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 03:41 PM   #96
Mr_DBUG
Hobbyist
Points: 6,174, Level: 51 Points: 6,174, Level: 51 Points: 6,174, Level: 51
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Mr_DBUG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South of Oslo
Posts: 60
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Same thing I wondered a while ago .. Might just get me a MiniMig and use VGA instead ..
Mr_DBUG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:57 AM   #97
droopy
Merely Curious
Points: 3,569, Level: 37 Points: 3,569, Level: 37 Points: 3,569, Level: 37
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post

Also, as it's looking like there are more and more of these, it might be nice for someone to try to keep a list (thread?) of monitors and varying degrees of success/failure with them, so people could refer to it...
Think that the monitors nowdays are used more and more to display HDTV and the low scanrate is connected to that feature in some monitors. Perhaps it's cheaper to just let the monitor scan all the way down to TV type signals than to make a special input for the tv connectors like HDMI.. So perhaps we will se more of them. and other clones between TV and computer monitors.. like TV with VGA support and so on.
droopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 10:02 AM   #98
bbond007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,036, Level: 66 Points: 10,036, Level: 66 Points: 10,036, Level: 66
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
bbond007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,378
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_DBUG View Post
Same thing I wondered a while ago .. Might just get me a MiniMig and use VGA instead ..
keep in mind that the current minimig 1.1 also has issues with some LCD monitors and PAL modes... the monitor must do 50hz
bbond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 03:08 PM   #99
Gradius
Merely Curious
Points: 930, Level: 16 Points: 930, Level: 16 Points: 930, Level: 16
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Any luck with BenQ XL2410T @ 15kHz and in NTSC mode?
Gradius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 05:05 AM   #100
magnetic
Defender of the Faith
Points: 16,009, Level: 81 Points: 16,009, Level: 81 Points: 16,009, Level: 81
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
magnetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,983
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Stevee

Great thread. I wonder how this Dell monitor is for HDTV? This was i can replace the tv in my bedroom with this one, hooked to the Sat cable box via HDMI and watch tv on that and hook up an amiga
__________________
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS /Amiga OS4.1 U4/Ubuntu GNU-Linux /MacOS X

Amiga Technologies A1200 HD | Blizzard 1260@66mhz | 128mb | OS 3.9 | Indivision MK2

Amiga 600 | 3.1 Rom | 4mb SRAM 2mb Chip | ClassicWB 68k
magnetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 05:37 AM   #101
DLH
Hobbyist
Points: 2,840, Level: 32 Points: 2,840, Level: 32 Points: 2,840, Level: 32
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 60
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

You must not be married or not want to be for much longer.

Putting an Amiga in the bedroom will either end your marriage or keep you single for quite sometime

DLH
DLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 10:36 AM   #102
stevee617
Too much caffeine
Points: 6,669, Level: 53 Points: 6,669, Level: 53 Points: 6,669, Level: 53
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
stevee617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 87
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
Stevee

Great thread. I wonder how this Dell monitor is for HDTV? This was i can replace the tv in my bedroom with this one, hooked to the Sat cable box via HDMI and watch tv on that and hook up an amiga
I really can't say as far as TV goes, but with the HDMI input, I have used my Mac Mini and my XBOX360 with the HDMI and it looks great on this and the 2420 monitors.
__________________
Steve E

-Mac Mini | PowerPC G4/1.42Ghz | 512MB RAM | MorphOS 3.1 | Chrysalis 3.1.3
stevee617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 03:42 AM   #103
InTheSand
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
InTheSand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nelson, NZ
Posts: 1,766
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Woohoo! Anothetr +1 for the ST2320L, all working well with my A1200 (PAL) in a variety of screen modes.

I can safely say it looks fine as a telly too, I've got it connected to a digibox via HDMI as well as to the Amiga and no problems so far.
InTheSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 05:02 AM   #104
magnetic
Defender of the Faith
Points: 16,009, Level: 81 Points: 16,009, Level: 81 Points: 16,009, Level: 81
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
magnetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,983
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

Is a "digibox" a cable tv / sat box? If this monitor can do HD television with HDMI i'll get one!
__________________
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS /Amiga OS4.1 U4/Ubuntu GNU-Linux /MacOS X

Amiga Technologies A1200 HD | Blizzard 1260@66mhz | 128mb | OS 3.9 | Indivision MK2

Amiga 600 | 3.1 Rom | 4mb SRAM 2mb Chip | ClassicWB 68k
magnetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 03:14 AM   #105
Kitch
Hobbyist
Points: 6,462, Level: 52 Points: 6,462, Level: 52 Points: 6,462, Level: 52
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 63
Default Re: A1200 works with Dell SR2320L w/o FF/SD!

InTheSand, where did you buy your Dell ST2320L from?
Kitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a1200 , dell , ff or sd , sr2320l , w or o , works

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump