amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:44 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion » SCSI to IDE adapter

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2012, 01:20 AM   #1
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 15,467, Level: 80 Points: 15,467, Level: 80 Points: 15,467, Level: 80
Activity: 52% Activity: 52% Activity: 52%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,401
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default SCSI to IDE adapter

Do you think this will work, not sure so decided to post here. Don't think the connectors are correct and where is the chip for doing all the work?

Feedback seems good, so will eventually try one. Will by going in my A590 with any luck. :-)


http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....tchlink:top:en
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
A1200T 060@80MHz | A500 Plus 030@25MHz | Pegasos II G4@1GHz
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 01:46 AM   #2
nikos.rizos
Hobbyist
Points: 3,209, Level: 35 Points: 3,209, Level: 35 Points: 3,209, Level: 35
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
nikos.rizos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 52
Default Re: SCSI to IDE adapter

The adapter on the listing is for a U320 SCSI.

The A590 uses a 50 pin SCSI so it will not work without an additional adapter.

By the way this looks I seriously doubt that this will work. No IC on the adapters PCB. It's more like a pass through...
__________________
A500 Frühe Version,
A500
GVP HD+ AT286, 1084S, A500+
A1200 Blizzard 1230 MK IV, Indivision AGA MKII, IDEFix Express, Subway USB, Melody 1200 Pro
nikos.rizos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:30 AM   #3
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,788, Level: 78 Points: 14,788, Level: 78 Points: 14,788, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,229
Default Re: SCSI to IDE adapter

How do people get away with this shyt? Hook that thing up and you're likely to blow out your drive and/or controller.

No, mate... you're gonna spend quite a bit more than $20 for a real SCSI to IDE adapter. I've bought a couple for around $80 each from different vendors.
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:32 AM   #4
Tahoe
VIP / Donor
Points: 8,974, Level: 63 Points: 8,974, Level: 63 Points: 8,974, Level: 63
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Tahoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wilnis, The Netherlands
Posts: 967
Default Re: SCSI to IDE adapter

Indeed, this is an adapter to turn a normal IDE drive into a hot swappable drive, but it most definatly does not turn the drive into SCSI. It WILL damage your hardware.
__________________
Greetings from Wilnis, The Netherlands
Now owning ALL Amiga models and most; if not all; flavours of them...My Amiga Museum
Tahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 03:12 AM   #5
DonutKing
Hobbyist
Points: 661, Level: 13 Points: 661, Level: 13 Points: 661, Level: 13
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Gold coast/Tweed AUS
Posts: 61
Default Re: SCSI to IDE adapter

For a 50 pin SCSI - IDE adapter that should work in your Amiga look for a Yamaha V769970.
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:11 AM   #6
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 15,467, Level: 80 Points: 15,467, Level: 80 Points: 15,467, Level: 80
Activity: 52% Activity: 52% Activity: 52%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,401
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: SCSI to IDE adapter

Yep, was looking at thinking that something wasn't quite right with it. Will avoid. Thanks guys.

@donutking will have a look for a Yamaha V769970.

Get tired of ebay these days
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
A1200T 060@80MHz | A500 Plus 030@25MHz | Pegasos II G4@1GHz
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:13 AM   #7
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,892, Level: 74 Points: 12,892, Level: 74 Points: 12,892, Level: 74
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 927
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: SCSI to IDE adapter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lurch View Post
Do you think this will work, not sure so decided to post here. Don't think the connectors are correct and where is the chip for doing all the work?

Feedback seems good, so will eventually try one. Will by going in my A590 with any luck. :-)


http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....tchlink:top:en
If you need a solid state solution(i.e. using a compact flash or other card) in your 590 i sell these scsi card readers. they will go right on the 50 pin header.

Here is a link i posted on EAB about how to use this in the A590:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...highlight=a590

and if you want to buy a card reader they can be found here:

http://a4000t.com/store/index.php?ma...roducts_id=184
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 12:17 AM   #8
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 15,467, Level: 80 Points: 15,467, Level: 80 Points: 15,467, Level: 80
Activity: 52% Activity: 52% Activity: 52%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,401
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: SCSI to IDE adapter

Quote:
Originally Posted by mechy View Post
If you need a solid state solution(i.e. using a compact flash or other card) in your 590 i sell these scsi card readers. they will go right on the 50 pin header.

Here is a link i posted on EAB about how to use this in the A590:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...highlight=a590

and if you want to buy a card reader they can be found here:

http://a4000t.com/store/index.php?ma...roducts_id=184
Very tempted, might be a better option after reading your post on eab. Will have to check shipping and the exchange rate at the moment from US to NZ

But would be an easier more stable option
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
A1200T 060@80MHz | A500 Plus 030@25MHz | Pegasos II G4@1GHz
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
adapter , ide , scsi

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump