amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Picasso II Video Card questions

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2011, 04:34 PM   #1
amigasociety
Technoid
Points: 6,700, Level: 53 Points: 6,700, Level: 53 Points: 6,700, Level: 53
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
amigasociety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 340
Default Picasso II Video Card questions

I am buying a Picasso II Video Card for my A4000T. I understand it has two video ports on it, one being a pass-thru port. I am not quite understanding the pass-thru port.

I plan on connecting the A4000T to a Toshiba TIMM Monitor which I understand has a max 800x600 video on it.

All I am familiar with so far on the A4000T is the stock video port connected to a A1080 Monitor.

So, what resolution can I pump out to the Toshiba TIMM using this Picasso II card? Can it handle the 800x600 or will I get flicker at this higher resolution?

What port on the Picasso II do I connect the TIMM to to maximise its use?

Maybe someone can explain the videop options I will now have when I use the Picasso and at the same time, does Workbench 3.1 work fine with Picasso II or do I need to install some drivers?

tj
amigasociety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 05:24 PM   #2
stevee617
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,497, Level: 57 Points: 7,497, Level: 57 Points: 7,497, Level: 57
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
stevee617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 88
Default Re: Picasso II Video Card questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by amigasociety View Post
I am buying a Picasso II Video Card for my A4000T. I understand it has two video ports on it, one being a pass-thru port. I am not quite understanding the pass-thru port.

I plan on connecting the A4000T to a Toshiba TIMM Monitor which I understand has a max 800x600 video on it.

All I am familiar with so far on the A4000T is the stock video port connected to a A1080 Monitor.

So, what resolution can I pump out to the Toshiba TIMM using this Picasso II card? Can it handle the 800x600 or will I get flicker at this higher resolution?

What port on the Picasso II do I connect the TIMM to to maximise its use?

Maybe someone can explain the videop options I will now have when I use the Picasso and at the same time, does Workbench 3.1 work fine with Picasso II or do I need to install some drivers?

tj

Recalling how I set up my Picasso II on my A3000...

You will run the A4000T Video into the the Picasso II video in port and the plug you monitor to the video out port on the card. The pass through is so that you can see native Amiga resolutions.

I think you will need a 23 to 15 pin video adapter to use the pass through. On my 3000 I am using the 31Khz monitor port.

I am using 1024x768 resolution on a Sony 17" LCD monitor with no problems.

Hopefully, I explained this right, I'm sure some will clarify if I messed up my explanation. The biggest reason for the pass through is for native Amiga resolutions.
__________________
Steve E

-Mac Mini | PowerPC G4/1.42Ghz | 512MB RAM | MorphOS 3.3| Chrysalis 3.3
-PowerMac G5 | PowerPC G5 2.0GHz | 1GB RAM | MorphOS 3.5 | Chrysalis 3.5.1
stevee617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 05:42 PM   #3
SACC-guy
Technoid
Points: 9,864, Level: 66 Points: 9,864, Level: 66 Points: 9,864, Level: 66
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
SACC-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA USA
Posts: 328
Default Re: Picasso II Video Card questions

Stevee617 got it right...
to add, YES, you need picasso drivers added (remind me at the next meet)
This adds rtg to the amiga.

M
SACC-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 06:18 PM   #4
amigasociety
Technoid
Points: 6,700, Level: 53 Points: 6,700, Level: 53 Points: 6,700, Level: 53
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
amigasociety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 340
Default Re: Picasso II Video Card questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by SACC-guy View Post
Stevee617 got it right...
to add, YES, you need picasso drivers added (remind me at the next meet)
This adds rtg to the amiga.

M
Will do. 8-)

The only video cable I currently own is the one going from the A4000T stock video port to the A1080 monitor.

So I take it I need to buy one more cable?

And what is the cable I own currently considered?

Need to make sure I understand Amiga video cables better.

Thanks

tj
amigasociety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 10:03 PM   #5
SACC-guy
Technoid
Points: 9,864, Level: 66 Points: 9,864, Level: 66 Points: 9,864, Level: 66
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
SACC-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA USA
Posts: 328
Default Re: Picasso II Video Card questions

The amiga video port out is rgb.
The cable you have is a rgb 23 pin to (guess) 9 pin for the 1080.

You also have a 23 pin to 15 pin adaptor (which I gave you)

In order to connect a rtg (read vga) video card, you will need a 15 pin vga to 15 pin.

The pass thru from the picasso2 is also 15 pin vga (other cards ie spectrum are 9 pin)

With the TIMM which has a 15 vga in, the min is a 15 pin vga to 15 pin.

option 1: By using the 23 to 15 pin adaptor with the vga cable to the TIMM.

OPtion 2: using the 23 pin to 15 adaptor with a short 15 pin to 15 pin vga cable to the pass thru and then a longer 15 pin vga to the TIMM,
You have a complete or both the the 31khz and 15khz signals going to the TIMM.

You still RTG software.

M

Last edited by SACC-guy; 12-30-2011 at 10:08 PM.. Reason: fixed
SACC-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 12:19 AM   #6
amigadave
Lifetime Member
Points: 22,740, Level: 93 Points: 22,740, Level: 93 Points: 22,740, Level: 93
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
amigadave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Big Bear Lake, CA
Posts: 3,619
Default Re: Picasso II Video Card questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by SACC-guy View Post
The amiga video port out is rgb.
The cable you have is a rgb 23 pin to (guess) 9 pin for the 1080.

You also have a 23 pin to 15 pin adaptor (which I gave you)

In order to connect a rtg (read vga) video card, you will need a 15 pin vga to 15 pin.

The pass thru from the picasso2 is also 15 pin vga (other cards ie spectrum are 9 pin)

With the TIMM which has a 15 vga in, the min is a 15 pin vga to 15 pin.

option 1: By using the 23 to 15 pin adaptor with the vga cable to the TIMM.

OPtion 2: using the 23 pin to 15 adaptor with a short 15 pin to 15 pin vga cable to the pass thru and then a longer 15 pin vga to the TIMM,
You have a complete or both the the 31khz and 15khz signals going to the TIMM.

You still RTG software.

M
+1

Thanks for clarifying that the PicassoII card has a 15pin input port and not the 9pin input port that the Spectrum has. I have both video cards and could not remember which one of them had the 9pin input passthrough port. That makes it easier for AmigaSociety to get the cables he needs to utilize a one monitor solution with the TIMM and the PicassoII card on his A4000T. He might just need a gender changer, depending on if the port is male or female.

I will take a closer look at it tomorrow when I deliver it to him.
__________________
How are you helping the Amiga community?
amigadave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
card , picasso , questions , video

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump