amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:48 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2011, 09:26 AM   #16
Fab
Technoid
Points: 3,744, Level: 38 Points: 3,744, Level: 38 Points: 3,744, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 216
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amigadave View Post
I thought Aladdin 4D would run on MorphOS without E-UAE? I have not yet tried to install and run it on my MorphOS systems, but have been planning on trying it soon.
It's about the game Aladdin, not the 3d rendering application.
Fab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 09:38 AM   #17
commodorejohn
VIP / Donor
Points: 10,617, Level: 68 Points: 10,617, Level: 68 Points: 10,617, Level: 68
Activity: 76% Activity: 76% Activity: 76%
 
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 3,055
Blog Entries: 8
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amigadave View Post
If you can get a MDD G4 PowerMac with a 1.8GHz accelerated G4 board in it for a decent price, I would say go for it, but if you have to pay a $200 to $350 premium for that accelerated G4 board, I would suggest doing like I am and getting the stock dual 1.42GHz G4 processor board with the 2mb of L3 cache (which I found for only $50) and if you want more speed, overclock it a bit.
I thought MOS doesn't support multithreading? Not a whole lot of point in getting a dual-processor box if that's the case, unless it's simply to make overclocking easier.

Quote:
I would like to see a complete list of several different benchmark results for all of the different G4 PowerMac possible combinations and speeds.
GeekBench has a broad variety of user-submitted benchmark results for PPC Macs, don't know if you'll find any results from machines with third-party accelerators, though.
__________________
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/MT-32/D-10, Oberheim Matrix-6, Yamaha DX7/DX7-IIFD/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/DSS-1, Hohner String Performer

"'Legacy code' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup
commodorejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 12:49 PM   #18
adolescent
Desperately needs a life
Points: 13,811, Level: 76 Points: 13,811, Level: 76 Points: 13,811, Level: 76
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
adolescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,056
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywirepc View Post
And can someone tell me at 1.25ghz can you run very demanding aga games in uae in morphos without any lag?

Can't do that on 1.25ghz-2ghz intel or amd pc, with winuae without lag city (at least for very demanding 68k games) but I don't know much about g4 or mac hardware in general..
If you can't do it with WinUAE on a x86 you sure won't be able to do it on E-UAE on a similar clocked PPC. PPC isn't magic, and can't overcome the limitations of E-UAE.
__________________
Time to move on. Bye Amiga.org.
adolescent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 12:51 PM   #19
Boudicca
Technoid
Points: 8,797, Level: 63 Points: 8,797, Level: 63 Points: 8,797, Level: 63
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Boudicca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 438
Blog Entries: 16
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

mdd dual 1.42 fw800 fast there is bog standard. they brought these back after the release of the G5.

Guess what I have
__________________
was Enterprise Vault (Its an Exchange Fail!), now its EMC Avamar, Dedupe for mostly everything including brain cells.
Boudicca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 01:27 PM   #20
Digiman
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,596, Level: 53 Points: 6,596, Level: 53 Points: 6,596, Level: 53
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,045
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywirepc View Post

And can someone tell me at 1.25ghz can you run very demanding aga games in uae in morphos without any lag?

Can't do that on 1.25ghz-2ghz intel or amd pc, with winuae without lag city (at least for very demanding 68k games) but I don't know much about g4 or mac hardware in general.
Super Stardust AGA used to run full speed on my Pentium III 1.0ghz Compaq laptop with 8mb ATI graphics years ago.
Digiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 07:30 PM   #21
Hammer
VIP / Donor
Points: 11,529, Level: 70 Points: 11,529, Level: 70 Points: 11,529, Level: 70
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NSW, Oz
Posts: 1,992
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywirepc View Post

Can't do that on 1.25ghz-2ghz intel or amd pc, with winuae without lag city (at least for very demanding 68k games) but I don't know much about g4 or mac hardware in general.
Could you name "very demanding 68k games"?

What type of 1.25ghz-2ghz intel or amd pc?

Is it Intel Core 2 or Intel Pentium IV or Intel Atom?
Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 07:41 PM   #22
smerf
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,512, Level: 73 Points: 12,512, Level: 73 Points: 12,512, Level: 73
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
smerf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pennsyltucky, USA
Posts: 1,593
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywirepc View Post
Can someone please tell me whats the fastest supported powermac g4 you can get that is supported by morphos...?

Also, I'm sure I saw someone here talk about a processor upgrade to 2ghz+ he got that he used on his morphos machine. Any info on those/links would be appreciated.

In searching ebay, I am finding tons of 800mhz-1.25ghz g4's but none much faster...

And can someone tell me at 1.25ghz can you run very demanding aga games in uae in morphos without any lag?

Can't do that on 1.25ghz-2ghz intel or amd pc, with winuae without lag city (at least for very demanding 68k games) but I don't know much about g4 or mac hardware in general.

I just don't want to buy one then go gee its not fast enough and have to buy another one.

Any thoughts very appreciated...

In my opinion, the fastest MAC out there is a dead MAC.

smerf
__________________
I have no idea what your talking about, so here is a doggy with a small pancake on his head.

MorphOS is a MAC done a little better
smerf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 02:27 AM   #23
haywirepc
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,005, Level: 69 Points: 11,005, Level: 69 Points: 11,005, Level: 69
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
haywirepc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Phila,Pa,USA
Posts: 1,264
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

Yes I meant games like super stardust AGA, things like alladin aga and others which seem to run slowly sometimes on my 2.0ghz windows pc without alot of tweaking...

Steven
haywirepc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 09:00 AM   #24
TheMagicM
Forums Moderator
Points: 19,679, Level: 88 Points: 19,679, Level: 88 Points: 19,679, Level: 88
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
TheMagicM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Antonio TEXAS!! USA!!!
Posts: 2,503
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

Breathless on my 1.4ghz Mac Mini with 1GB ram, set to:

Window size: 192x120
Pixel size: 2x2

Is playable. Anything with more pixels and that same window size and it gets too slow.

E-UAE on my little HP DM3-1140 laptop runs it at 320x200, 1x1 pixels just fine. Not really too entertaining of a game.
TheMagicM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 09:16 AM   #25
TheMagicM
Forums Moderator
Points: 19,679, Level: 88 Points: 19,679, Level: 88 Points: 19,679, Level: 88
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
TheMagicM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Antonio TEXAS!! USA!!!
Posts: 2,503
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

If I can figure out what keys to press in rhlaunch I will try Super Stardust AGA.
TheMagicM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 10:46 AM   #26
amigadave
Lifetime Member
Points: 21,651, Level: 92 Points: 21,651, Level: 92 Points: 21,651, Level: 92
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
amigadave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Big Bear Lake, CA
Posts: 3,468
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by commodorejohn View Post
I thought MOS doesn't support multithreading? Not a whole lot of point in getting a dual-processor box if that's the case, unless it's simply to make overclocking easier.


GeekBench has a broad variety of user-submitted benchmark results for PPC Macs, don't know if you'll find any results from machines with third-party accelerators, though.
To my knowledge there isn't any Amiga, or Amiga "Like" operating system anywhere that supports multithreading, or multiple processors yet, but many MorphOS users that are running MorphOS on Mac hardware have their computers set up to dual boot, or triple boot into other operating systems that DO take advantage of multiple CPU's.
__________________
How are you helping the Amiga community?
amigadave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 11:40 AM   #27
commodorejohn
VIP / Donor
Points: 10,617, Level: 68 Points: 10,617, Level: 68 Points: 10,617, Level: 68
Activity: 76% Activity: 76% Activity: 76%
 
commodorejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Duluth, Minnesota
Posts: 3,055
Blog Entries: 8
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

Fair enough, just wanted to make sure I was clear on that.
__________________
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/MT-32/D-10, Oberheim Matrix-6, Yamaha DX7/DX7-IIFD/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/DSS-1, Hohner String Performer

"'Legacy code' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup
commodorejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 01:17 PM   #28
nasty
Technoid
Points: 7,227, Level: 56 Points: 7,227, Level: 56 Points: 7,227, Level: 56
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
nasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 460
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywirepc View Post
Yes I meant games like super stardust AGA, things like alladin aga and others which seem to run slowly sometimes on my 2.0ghz windows pc without alot of tweaking...

Steven
Both run without any slowdowns or other problems on my 1.25ghz mini mac.
I'm using fabs wip4 and use igame to launch the games full-screen from ambient.
__________________
Specs:
A1200PT, mediator c/w voodoo 3 2000, sb128, 60G HDD,OS3.9,LITEON CDR, nec 4x4 changer,External Scan Doubler,Cocolino adapter,PS2 keyboard adaptor.

Morphos 2.6, mini mac g4 @ 1.25ghz.
nasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 04:04 PM   #29
TheMagicM
Forums Moderator
Points: 19,679, Level: 88 Points: 19,679, Level: 88 Points: 19,679, Level: 88
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
TheMagicM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Antonio TEXAS!! USA!!!
Posts: 2,503
Default Re: Fastest powermac g4 to run morphOS on?

Yea..Super StarDust AGA is no problem on my Mac Mini with E-UAE. Just tried it now...cool game.
TheMagicM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fastest , morphos , powermac , run

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump