amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:55 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Software Issues and Discussion PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2011, 07:37 PM   #21
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Hah gotcha... John Anderson my aunties behind...

I'm On Google +

https://plus.google.com/113975820768...01/posts?hl=en

That's definitely a young Woody Allen... I knew it... I knew it all along...

Can I have your autograph please...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2011, 08:04 PM   #22
dreamcast270mhz
Technoid
Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
dreamcast270mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Melbourne Florida
Posts: 322
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

TheGoose

You can also add PFS3 to HDtoolbox. Add Filesystem should do it, and It will be CFS0x (depending on if you loaded other FS before it.
__________________
My machines:
PowerMac G4 MDD 1.5ghz 1.25GB 10.5.8 & MOS 2.7
Mac Mini C2D 10.6.8 2GHz 3GB 250GB HDD
MacBook Retina 16GB 256GB SSD 10.8
iPad 2
Underground Gamer invites (a classic game site) PM

Need a part for a PC or Mac? PM me, I'll let you know if I come across it.

OS X trumps Windows on every level.

MorphOS, OS4 and Classic Amiga systems are the only ones who are real 'Amigas', not that joke AROS or Amiga Forever.
dreamcast270mhz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 01:40 AM   #23
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
  1. PFS3 is faster than SFS (easy to benchmark and verify as a fact)
  2. PFS3 fragments less than SFS over time (easy to verify as a fact)
  3. PFS3 has a repair tool, SFS doesn't (except MorphOS SFSDoctor)
  4. PFS3 is more reliable than SFS (somewhat subjective and harder to verify)
5. PFS3 allegedly multitasks better than SFS. This makes a lot of difference when 2 or more tasks try to access the HD simultaneously.


Quote:
What SFS has going for it is the support for larger partitions than PFS3 (SFS: 128GB PFS3: 107GB)
Would I be allowed to hook a 2TB drive to my Amiga and PFSformat it into 20 different 100GB partitions?
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 05:20 AM   #24
Framiga
Energizer Bunny of Babble
Points: 17,731, Level: 84 Points: 17,731, Level: 84 Points: 17,731, Level: 84
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Framiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4,085
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

@Piru

i don't get why you still arguing with this "individual"!

People who knows how PFS3 perfoms, will go straight using it, others not.

Don't wast your time... he is here for the only purpose to stir people and to gain post count.
Framiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 05:29 AM   #25
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Framiga View Post
@Piru

i don't get why you still arguing with this "individual"!

People who knows how PFS3 perfoms, will go straight using it, others not.

Don't wast your time... he is here for the only purpose to stir people and to gain post count.

No I'm not...

Whoopee chalk another one up to me post count...

PS: I am not an "individual" We am a "collective"...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 05:33 AM   #26
Framiga
Energizer Bunny of Babble
Points: 17,731, Level: 84 Points: 17,731, Level: 84 Points: 17,731, Level: 84
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Framiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4,085
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

i know, my fault. there are many in your brain!
Framiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 05:35 AM   #27
Franko
Banned
Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93 Points: 22,799, Level: 93
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,707
Blog Entries: 33
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Framiga View Post
i know, my fault. there are many in your brain!
Always room for one more on top...
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 09:08 AM   #28
dreamcast270mhz
Technoid
Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
dreamcast270mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Melbourne Florida
Posts: 322
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

I would say that if PFS was updated to support bigger Hard Disks, than it would be no contest as to what to choose. SFS decays, Amithlon really, really hates it and it lacks many modern day features. PFS seems to be the best choice nowadays if you have the HW specs.

@Piru

Was PFS ever successfully ported to MOS natively?
__________________
My machines:
PowerMac G4 MDD 1.5ghz 1.25GB 10.5.8 & MOS 2.7
Mac Mini C2D 10.6.8 2GHz 3GB 250GB HDD
MacBook Retina 16GB 256GB SSD 10.8
iPad 2
Underground Gamer invites (a classic game site) PM

Need a part for a PC or Mac? PM me, I'll let you know if I come across it.

OS X trumps Windows on every level.

MorphOS, OS4 and Classic Amiga systems are the only ones who are real 'Amigas', not that joke AROS or Amiga Forever.
dreamcast270mhz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 09:18 AM   #29
Piru
' union select name,pwd--
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Piru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamcast270mhz View Post
I would say that if PFS was updated to support bigger Hard Disks, than it would be no contest as to what to choose.
I guess you mean larger partitions, PFS3 already supports as large HDDs as SFS.

@Piru
Quote:
Was PFS ever successfully ported to MOS natively?
It works. I've ported the filesystem, pfsdoctor, diskvalid and all the related commands. I'd need to do some more testing, but unfortunately my Peg2 started acting up lately. I've moved my devenv to my 2nd Mac Mini now, but I haven't had much time to work on it lately.

Last edited by Piru; 08-14-2011 at 09:21 AM..
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 10:58 AM   #30
dreamcast270mhz
Technoid
Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
dreamcast270mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Melbourne Florida
Posts: 322
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Yeah I do, I was really, really tired when I wrote that.

Great, so PFS3 will be on the 2.8 CD? And whats up with the Pegasos, I've been hearing people are having a ton of issues on them nowadays.
__________________
My machines:
PowerMac G4 MDD 1.5ghz 1.25GB 10.5.8 & MOS 2.7
Mac Mini C2D 10.6.8 2GHz 3GB 250GB HDD
MacBook Retina 16GB 256GB SSD 10.8
iPad 2
Underground Gamer invites (a classic game site) PM

Need a part for a PC or Mac? PM me, I'll let you know if I come across it.

OS X trumps Windows on every level.

MorphOS, OS4 and Classic Amiga systems are the only ones who are real 'Amigas', not that joke AROS or Amiga Forever.
dreamcast270mhz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 03:44 PM   #31
TheGoose
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
TheGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Moon
Posts: 1,458
Blog Entries: 9
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

How big can a PFS3 partition be? Trying to make one now and having some show stoppers...
__________________
G1200, A3000D, A1200 PPC AOS4.0C

I'm on Google +
TheGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 03:53 PM   #32
Piru
' union select name,pwd--
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Piru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamcast270mhz View Post
Great, so PFS3 will be on the 2.8 CD?
It will be inside the bootimg, but whether it'll make it to 2.8 remains to be seen. I'll try my best.

Quote:
And whats up with the Pegasos, I've been hearing people are having a ton of issues on them nowadays.
I guess it's just the age. This particular board is from the first batch so it's quite old already. It works fine for some time but then the IDE bus appears to drop in/out constantly. As if the HDDs would be running out of power (but they're not, I tried with another PSU and it's the same). As I said I've already migrated to the Mac mini so it's no real issue.
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 03:54 PM   #33
Piru
' union select name,pwd--
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Piru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGoose View Post
How big can a PFS3 partition be?
about 106GB
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 06:08 PM   #34
TheGoose
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
TheGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Moon
Posts: 1,458
Blog Entries: 9
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Thanks, I had to add the direct PFS3 file system to get my big partition to format, all good now.

I may be crazy but this seems to solve some old trouble with my Deneb setup. I can keep my CPU caches enabled now and run Poseidon now.

I have not installed any boingbags yet and may just keep it that way.


As far as speed goes, I see 0 improvement over FFS. Experiential, not test run.
__________________
G1200, A3000D, A1200 PPC AOS4.0C

I'm on Google +
TheGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 07:10 PM   #35
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,937, Level: 79 Points: 14,937, Level: 79 Points: 14,937, Level: 79
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

I've seen improvements with PFS3 over FFS and SFS, respectively. In particular, YAM loads folders faster and my drawer with hundreds of PNG icons displays more quickly.

One thing I have noticed, though, is if you enter "version dh0:" against a volume with FFS or SFS you will get the version of the filesystem returned, same if you use Amiga-I on the volume icon. You will not get any return on a PFS3-formatted volume.

I'm not concerned with volume size, at the moment. I have an 18GB SCSI drive in my system and use SMBFS to map a shared drive from a box running RAID. That 18GB drive is obnoxiously loud so I may replace it at some point with a reasonably sized CF with an IDE-to-SCSI or one of those SCSI-CF I've seen floating around.
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 12:31 AM   #36
takemehomegrandma
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 20,294, Level: 89 Points: 20,294, Level: 89 Points: 20,294, Level: 89
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
takemehomegrandma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,928
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
about 106GB
When your work on PFS3 is ready, maybe you can look into addressing those limitations that still exists, and call it "PFS4" of such, so "backwards compatibility" to old PFS3 disks can be ignored with good conscience?
__________________
MorphOS is Amiga done right!
takemehomegrandma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 07:28 AM   #37
Piru
' union select name,pwd--
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Piru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by takemehomegrandma View Post
When your work on PFS3 is ready, maybe you can look into addressing those limitations that still exists, and call it "PFS4" of such, so "backwards compatibility" to old PFS3 disks can be ignored with good conscience?
It looks like that'll have to be the way. Some of the ways to overcome this limitation have been discussed here: http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func...1&atid=2163218

I really don't like these "lets double the capacity" tricks much, as they don't raise the limit enough really. I think another level of indirection is the way to go.
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 08:19 AM   #38
takemehomegrandma
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 20,294, Level: 89 Points: 20,294, Level: 89 Points: 20,294, Level: 89
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
takemehomegrandma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,928
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
It looks like that'll have to be the way. Some of the ways to overcome this limitation have been discussed here: http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func...1&atid=2163218

I really don't like these "lets double the capacity" tricks much, as they don't raise the limit enough really. I think another level of indirection is the way to go.
Yes, do it as clean as possible...
__________________
MorphOS is Amiga done right!
takemehomegrandma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 11:09 AM   #39
TheGoose
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
TheGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Moon
Posts: 1,458
Blog Entries: 9
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoadWB View Post
I've seen improvements with PFS3 over FFS and SFS, respectively. In particular, YAM loads folders faster and my drawer with hundreds of PNG icons displays more quickly.

One thing I have noticed, though, is if you enter "version dh0:" against a volume with FFS or SFS you will get the version of the filesystem returned, same if you use Amiga-I on the volume icon. You will not get any return on a PFS3-formatted volume.

I'm not concerned with volume size, at the moment. I have an 18GB SCSI drive in my system and use SMBFS to map a shared drive from a box running RAID. That 18GB drive is obnoxiously loud so I may replace it at some point with a reasonably sized CF with an IDE-to-SCSI or one of those SCSI-CF I've seen floating around.
I had to install IconBeFast, really pitiful how slow 256 color icons load on my system, I guess I must blame the Picasso II. I have right now on my new drive:

A3000 25MHz load of RAM
AOS3.9 8bit screen mode (256C) 1024x768 using Picasso96.
PFS3, of course.
The drive is a Seagate Ultra320 Cheetah.
__________________
G1200, A3000D, A1200 PPC AOS4.0C

I'm on Google +
TheGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 09:39 AM   #40
yurif74
Merely Curious
Points: 2,229, Level: 28 Points: 2,229, Level: 28 Points: 2,229, Level: 28
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 20
Default Re: PFS3 Does Not Install - Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
What SFS has going for it is the support for larger partitions than PFS3 (SFS: 128GB PFS3: 107GB)

that's true on paper..
i wasn't able to create a 4 gb partition with SFS, switched to PFS3DS and that worked just fine for me, so i definitely switched to PFS...
yurif74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
error , install , pfs3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump