amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion NTSC DCTV work on PAL Amiga?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2011, 07:54 AM   #21
tasmanian guy
Lifetime Member
Points: 6,045, Level: 50 Points: 6,045, Level: 50 Points: 6,045, Level: 50
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 269
Default Re: NTSC DCTV work on PAL Amiga?

Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
Just for clarification, you're using a PAL Amiga (1200??) running in NTSC mode with an NTSC DCTV and outputting DCTV images via the DCTV composite output to an NTSC device???

desiv
A PAL Amiga 1200 with a NTSC DCTV outputing it to a LCD Australian TV via the DCTV composite output.
__________________
Amiga 1200 1U Rack project
tasmanian guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 10:27 AM   #22
desiv
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51 Points: 6,191, Level: 51
Activity: 64% Activity: 64% Activity: 64%
 
desiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: NTSC DCTV work on PAL Amiga?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tasmanian guy View Post
A PAL Amiga 1200 with a NTSC DCTV outputing it to a LCD Australian TV via the DCTV composite output.
Nice..
I know my LCD TVs don't do either PAL/NTSC, but just NTSC here. If that TV does NTSC, then your're doing true NTSC all the way from your PAL 1200 in NTSC mode out.

Man, I wish more of our LCD's did both modes or we had SCART here..

Oh well.. Nice!

Would be interesting to see what the PAL software (It's different? I only have NTSC.) does on the 1200 in it's native PAL mode.
My guess is that the DCTV has PAL or NTSC crystals, which is why they sold them separately. But if it pulls it's timing from the Amiga connected, it could be just the SW...

desiv
__________________
Amiga 1200 w/ ACA1230/28 - 4G CF, MAS Player, ext floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 500 w/ 2M CHIP and 8M FAST RAM, DCTV, AEHD floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 1000 w/ 4M FAST RAM, DUAL CF hard drives, external floppy.
desiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 10:56 AM   #23
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,790
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: NTSC DCTV work on PAL Amiga?

Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
guys

I'm looking foe a DCTV RGB CONVERTER. I have a DCTV but want the converter. Please PM if you have one I have paypal waiting or trade.

Also want to make a note that ImageFX has a very nice DCTV render module built in!
Also Vista Pro dumps straight to dctv files as well.
What are you planning on doing once you aquire a DCTV RGB converter?

I just nabbed one on Ebay, it was VERY Pricey I thought, but I was willing to pay the price considering that I don't see them up for auction very often.
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 09:35 PM   #24
AmigaPixel
Technoid
Points: 7,439, Level: 57 Points: 7,439, Level: 57 Points: 7,439, Level: 57
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
AmigaPixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona USA
Posts: 388
Default Re: NTSC DCTV work on PAL Amiga?

"NTSC and PAL DCTV is probably on the Digitizing end, as timing is important."

That would make sense.

I have the NTSC DCTV, it was the most fun for me back in the nineties. Wonderful paint program, I did my first digital painting on DCTV. I'll post it soon as I can get it off my A2000. I was able to get away with 1 mb chip ram with an 030 at 50 mHz and still play my 3D animations. However it was a big step up using the DCTV with my A1200 060. I rendered them in Caligari 24 and later LightRave followed by Lightwave after Newtek unbundled it from the Toaster. Off course they were only a few seconds long though.

Last edited by AmigaPixel; 08-04-2011 at 10:06 PM..
AmigaPixel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 09:39 PM   #25
AmigaPixel
Technoid
Points: 7,439, Level: 57 Points: 7,439, Level: 57 Points: 7,439, Level: 57
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
AmigaPixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona USA
Posts: 388
Default Re: NTSC DCTV work on PAL Amiga?

"I'm looking foe a DCTV RGB CONVERTER. I have a DCTV but want the converter. Please PM if you have one I have paypal waiting or trade."

Does this convert the DCTV to to PAL?
AmigaPixel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 10:03 PM   #26
AmigaPixel
Technoid
Points: 7,439, Level: 57 Points: 7,439, Level: 57 Points: 7,439, Level: 57
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
AmigaPixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona USA
Posts: 388
Default Re: NTSC DCTV work on PAL Amiga?

Actually it just came back to me. I think I do recall seeing ads for that converter years ago in the Amiga magazines.
AmigaPixel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 10:06 PM   #27
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,790
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: NTSC DCTV work on PAL Amiga?

So now I have my Chroma Key +, SuperGen +, DCTV, and DCTV RGB Converter...

I'm kind of lacking manuals, so I got to spend the day tomorrow figuring out what goes where first, then I'm on to get familiar with everything.
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 01:08 PM   #28
bbond007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
bbond007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: NTSC DCTV work on PAL Amiga?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tasmanian guy View Post
Well I can confirm it works fine on a PAL Amiga in NTSC mode, having said that I do "believe" that if someone can source me the PAL software, that it would work just as well!
Mine only shoes B/W. I have a PAL A1200 and NTSC DCTV. I switched to NTSC in the early boot menu.

Thanks,

-nate
Attached Images
File Type: jpg photo.jpg (87.7 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by bbond007; 10-15-2011 at 01:12 PM..
bbond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
ntsc , work , pal , amiga , dctv

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump