amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Operating System Specific Discussions » MorphOS » MorphOS -- Application questions and support » Switching to MorphOS

MorphOS -- Application questions and support Got a question regarding MorphOS software applications and/or support? This is the place.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2011, 08:29 AM   #61
pVC
VIP / Donor
Points: 10,925, Level: 69 Points: 10,925, Level: 69 Points: 10,925, Level: 69
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,013
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
And it's even faster to type "shutdown" and hit enter in shell
But if you use keyboard (command-q + s) to shut it down from Ambient, it might be faster still

And you could always assign it to any key for single press shutdown without requesters
__________________
Best viewed with http://aoproxy.extropia.co.uk/ and IBrowse! :-)
pVC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 08:35 AM   #62
Iggy
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,578, Level: 80 Points: 15,578, Level: 80 Points: 15,578, Level: 80
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,875
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

And we have a winner!

And you could always assign it to any key for single press shutdown without requesters
__________________
Now just another Sinner with a tablet.

Purchased a 2.0 GHz G5 PowerMac for now (and I have 2.3 PCI-E G5 PowerMac for future revisions of MorphOS).

Also I still have a 1.42 GHz iBook (with MorphOS 3.4).

Finally I still have an old A2000 for the days I'm into pain.

"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." -Benjamin Franklin

"I'm a hard worker." -George W. Bush

"Guess I'll have to change my way of livin..."

Kenny Downing is my God.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 10:23 AM   #63
Daedalus
Cult Member
Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 880
Send a message via ICQ to Daedalus Send a message via MSN to Daedalus
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

Quote:
Originally Posted by mt12345 View Post
Exactly. Swap kills the card. But even if you turn the swap off (in linux or windows) I think these systems still write more often than amiga-like systems.
BTW: Do I have to 'shut down' MorphOS before I turn the computer off or just push the power button like I do in Aros?
Yep. Writes kill these cards, and most mainstream OSs do a lot of writing, even without swap. They write icon and window sizes and positions, last used item lists, log files of all sorts, last accessed metadata and so on. I'm not familiar with MorphOS at that level, but AmigaOS was never much into writing to the disc unless you wanted it to - you could even boot from a read-only partition if you wanted to. I guess MorphOS follows that to a certain extent too.
__________________
Engineers do it with precision
--
http://www.robthenerd.com
Daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 10:24 AM   #64
Daedalus
Cult Member
Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 880
Send a message via ICQ to Daedalus Send a message via MSN to Daedalus
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
And you could always assign it to any key for single press shutdown without requesters
LOL, that would be an interesting payload for malware Not that I would be condoning such activities!
__________________
Engineers do it with precision
--
http://www.robthenerd.com

Last edited by Daedalus; 03-31-2011 at 10:32 AM.. Reason: Typos
Daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 08:44 AM   #65
Iggy
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,578, Level: 80 Points: 15,578, Level: 80 Points: 15,578, Level: 80
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,875
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

MorphZone is, as of today, accepting new registrations.
__________________
Now just another Sinner with a tablet.

Purchased a 2.0 GHz G5 PowerMac for now (and I have 2.3 PCI-E G5 PowerMac for future revisions of MorphOS).

Also I still have a 1.42 GHz iBook (with MorphOS 3.4).

Finally I still have an old A2000 for the days I'm into pain.

"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." -Benjamin Franklin

"I'm a hard worker." -George W. Bush

"Guess I'll have to change my way of livin..."

Kenny Downing is my God.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 01:19 PM   #66
mt12345
Hobbyist
Points: 1,226, Level: 19 Points: 1,226, Level: 19 Points: 1,226, Level: 19
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
mt12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 61
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
MorphZone is, as of today, accepting new registrations.
Really?

'Sorry, You Enter Wrong CAPTCHA Key. Try Once Again'

Tried 8 times. Either I can't read or there is some error on MZ site.
mt12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 05:32 AM   #67
Andre.Siegel
Premium Member
Points: 8,783, Level: 63 Points: 8,783, Level: 63 Points: 8,783, Level: 63
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 114
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

@ mt12345

Please try again.
Andre.Siegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 05:37 AM   #68
mt12345
Hobbyist
Points: 1,226, Level: 19 Points: 1,226, Level: 19 Points: 1,226, Level: 19
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
mt12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 61
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

Hello, World! I'm in!
mt12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 09:40 PM   #69
Iggy
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,578, Level: 80 Points: 15,578, Level: 80 Points: 15,578, Level: 80
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,875
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

Quote:
Originally Posted by mt12345 View Post
Hello, World! I'm in!
Cool. As Amiga.org experience partial meltdown, the MorphOS world chugs on past 1100 licenses and many more new demo users.
__________________
Now just another Sinner with a tablet.

Purchased a 2.0 GHz G5 PowerMac for now (and I have 2.3 PCI-E G5 PowerMac for future revisions of MorphOS).

Also I still have a 1.42 GHz iBook (with MorphOS 3.4).

Finally I still have an old A2000 for the days I'm into pain.

"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." -Benjamin Franklin

"I'm a hard worker." -George W. Bush

"Guess I'll have to change my way of livin..."

Kenny Downing is my God.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 02:37 PM   #70
mt12345
Hobbyist
Points: 1,226, Level: 19 Points: 1,226, Level: 19 Points: 1,226, Level: 19
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
mt12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 61
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

So.
I've been happy Morphos user for a while.
I'm surprised how fast it is!
My flatmate dropped his jaw when he saw me playing full screen Virtual Grand Prix 2 and Warsow.
('466 MHz??? Radeon 7000??? You're joking, right???')
I think G4 processor is underestimated, I was always complaining about G4 powerbooks/ibooks performance in OSX,
but MOS proved that G4 is still has much to say.

I have not registered yet, however. I hesitate between upgrading Powermac and buying Mac Mini.
Or should I will wait for MOS 3.0 with Powerbook support?
mt12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 02:42 PM   #71
Pyromania
Head Amiga.org Chef
Points: 21,025, Level: 91 Points: 21,025, Level: 91 Points: 21,025, Level: 91
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,461
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

MorphOS is nice.
Pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 03:08 PM   #72
nicholas
VIP / Donor
Points: 20,273, Level: 89 Points: 20,273, Level: 89 Points: 20,273, Level: 89
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Englistan
Posts: 8,113
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

Quote:
Originally Posted by mt12345 View Post
I have not registered yet, however. I hesitate between upgrading Powermac and buying Mac Mini.
Or should I will wait for MOS 3.0 with Powerbook support?
I am in the same situation too....
__________________
Every day is Ashura, every land is Karbala.
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 04:26 PM   #73
pampers
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,692, Level: 38 Points: 3,692, Level: 38 Points: 3,692, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 140
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

Nicholas & mt12345

It's quite simple. Just answer a question - do you want to be mobile or you prefer to stick with desktop system with chances to expand (PowerMac). As much as I love MacMini (I used to own one) I switched to PowerMac as I can put in better GFX card than Mini had, I can put SoundBlaster (with line in which Mini doesn't have), couple of hard drives etc..

I also have PowerBook awaiting for MorphOS release for it. I like to be mobile as well.

We should be happy that MorphOS Team gave us plenty choises about HW.

Last edited by pampers; 07-20-2011 at 04:27 PM.. Reason: typos
pampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 01:49 AM   #74
mt12345
Hobbyist
Points: 1,226, Level: 19 Points: 1,226, Level: 19 Points: 1,226, Level: 19
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
mt12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 61
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

It's not simple at all. I need both expandability and portability. I don't need good graphics but audio recording and more usb ports is essential. I think, Powerbook is what I need.
mt12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 05:48 AM   #75
JJ
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,262, Level: 89 Points: 20,262, Level: 89 Points: 20,262, Level: 89
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
JJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 3,685
Default Re: Switching to MorphOS

I would skip mac min then. Despite being really powerful for MorphOS and very portable. Lacks decent expandability
__________________
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2

Registered MorphsOS 3.4 user
JJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
morphos , switching

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump