amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:46 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga News and Community Announcements RunInUAE r5 released - Just double-click to run inside UAE!

Notices

Amiga News and Community Announcements If you have a news item, or want to announce something to the entire online Amiga Community, this is the forum in which to place your announcement.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2011, 11:29 AM   #1
SysAdmin
News posting Auto Agent
Points: 40,252, Level: 100 Points: 40,252, Level: 100 Points: 40,252, Level: 100
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,291
Default RunInUAE r5 released - Just double-click to run inside UAE!

RunInUAE is the easiest & most fool-proof way to run Classic (68k) Amiga games & software on AmigaOS4, especially if you have an AmigaForever CD.


This release has various small improvements to RunInUAE:
* Reduced the need for an Amiga Forever CD (just supply your own Kickstart files.)
* Improved WHDLoad compatibility.
* Improved E-UAE compatibility, accuracy & performance.
* Fixed an installation bug.
* Fixed RunInUAE to (hopefully!) work on Update 3 of OS4.1.
* Added support for DMS disk images.
* and more![/b]

You can download it from here:
RunInUAE.lha

Details of the changes:
* If you do not have an Amiga Forever CD, you no-longer have to supply files from a Workbench 3.1 disk (as a suitable fake WB3.1 will be created).

* Improved WHDLoad compatibility, by adding the "kick34005.A500" & "kick40068.A1200" files, which are needed by some games (such as Lucas Arts adventures).

* Various tweaks to E-UAE's configuration, to improve emulation compatibility, accuracy & performance. Heavily based on DAX's suggestions.

* Fixed an installation bug where RunInUAE might not run right automatically (until it had been run once manually).

* Improved patching of Workbench, to hopefully work on all versions of OS4, including Update 3 for OS4.1.

* Added support for DMS disk images (works the same as ADFs).

* Added option to not change Workbench 3.1's screenmode prefs.

* Added a Help menu item (also recognises the Help key).

* Mason's pretty icons are now used for folders & E-UAE's icon.

What is RunInUAE?
RunInUAE is intended to make it incredibly easy to run old Amiga games on Amiga OS4, and it comes with an easy installer, so that you can:

* Run almost any HD installed 68k game (or program) inside E-UAE, by simply double-clicking on it! Including WHDLoad & JOTD JST installed games.

* Run ADF & DMS games by double-clicking them. (Needs a little bit of manual set-up if you don't have at least OS4.1 Update 1.) Otherwise just drag & drop them onto RunInUAE's icon in AmiDock or it's AppIcon.

* Run CD32 & CDTV games from real or virtual CDs. (Compatibility is not great.)

* The installer can set-up E-UAE with full-speed Sam-optimised settings. But it can also use your existing E-UAE settings if you want.

* The installer will copy the necessary Kickstart ROMs off an Amiga Forever CD, if you don't already have them installed.

* You do *not* need to set-up any assignments, nor create or edit any cryptic scripts or config files, for it to work! (Unlike alternative solutions.)

Last edited by SysAdmin; 07-14-2011 at 11:32 AM..
SysAdmin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 12:50 PM   #2
J-Golden
"Night Janitor" Moderator
Points: 15,994, Level: 81 Points: 15,994, Level: 81 Points: 15,994, Level: 81
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
J-Golden's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rexburg, ID
Posts: 1,279
Send a message via AIM to J-Golden
Default Re: RunInUAE r5 released - Just double-click to run inside UAE!

Ok, so this sets up a seamless, transparent environment for classic AOS software, right?

So I can now run DPaint V on OS4.1 and (other then a few bugs that still need to be worked out) it will run just as if I were running on a classic Amiga? That's rather cool!

Have there been benchmark tests to compare the speed and resource management?
__________________


AMIGA: (NOUN) THE FIRST COMPUTER THAT BRIDGED THE GAP BETWEEN HUMANITY AND TECHNOLOGY.

Be Positive towards the Amiga community!

I'm a dyslectic, phonetic spelling English Major. It's funny 'cause it's TRUE!

WWBD? - What Would Batmen Do?
J-Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 03:21 AM   #3
Varthall
Cult Member
Points: 10,616, Level: 68 Points: 10,616, Level: 68 Points: 10,616, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Varthall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 620
Default Re: RunInUAE r5 released - Just double-click to run inside UAE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Golden View Post
Ok, so this sets up a seamless, transparent environment for classic AOS software, right?

So I can now run DPaint V on OS4.1 and (other then a few bugs that still need to be worked out) it will run just as if I were running on a classic Amiga? That's rather cool!
Last time I tried DPaint V it worked under OS 4.1, apart for a problem with menu items (they were black on black).
__________________
AmigaOne XE - AmigaOS 4.1 - Freescale 7457 1GHz - 1GB ram
MPlayer for OS4: https://code.google.com/p/mplayer-amigaos/
Varthall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
run , uae , runinuae , released , inside , doubleclick
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump