amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:33 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion a1200 display sync problems with VGA cable

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2011, 11:17 AM   #1
Richard42
Merely Curious
Points: 1,678, Level: 23 Points: 1,678, Level: 23 Points: 1,678, Level: 23
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 16
Default a1200 display sync problems with VGA cable

I have an A1200 with a DB23<-->VGA cable and can't get it to work with my video converters and VGA CRTs. I have a GBS-8220 and an Ambery (http://www.ambery.com/rgbcgatovgac.html) and neither of them will sync to the A1200 display.

I took the cable apart and found that it was wired to take the A1200's CSYNC composite sync signal and route it to the HSYNC pin of the VGA. The converters are supposed to handle composite sync as well. So I hooked up a scope to the csync signal and found this:



The hsync component of the composite sync doubles in frequency (to 31khz from 15khz) around the time of the vsync pulse. Is this normal, or a problem with my Amiga?
Richard42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 12:51 PM   #2
desiv
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,112, Level: 50 Points: 6,112, Level: 50 Points: 6,112, Level: 50
Activity: 58% Activity: 58% Activity: 58%
 
desiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: a1200 display sync problems with VGA cable

Good luck..
There's some good tech people here, but there are also some very serious bit-heads over at EAB (English Amiga Board).
You might want to post this over there as well...

desiv
__________________
Amiga 1200 w/ ACA1230/28 - 4G CF, MAS Player, ext floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 500 w/ 2M CHIP and 8M FAST RAM, DCTV, AEHD floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 1000 w/ 4M FAST RAM, DUAL CF hard drives, external floppy.
desiv is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 07:54 PM   #3
ncafferkey
Technoid
Points: 9,411, Level: 65 Points: 9,411, Level: 65 Points: 9,411, Level: 65
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 348
Default Re: a1200 display sync problems with VGA cable

Don't you need a special Amiga VGA adapter with some resisters or something in it, rather than just a plain cable?
ncafferkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 02:25 PM   #4
Stedy
Technoid
Points: 7,437, Level: 57 Points: 7,437, Level: 57 Points: 7,437, Level: 57
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 258
Default Re: a1200 display sync problems with VGA cable

@Richard42

That looks like a typical Amiga video signal to me. It is sort of interlaced, though the odd even frame delimiter is missing. Take a look here for my handy guide:
http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/am...iga_scart.html

The Csync signal is possibly too big in amplitude, the info pages states 2v peak to peak for H/V sync signals, the Amiga H/V/C Sync signals are >4.5V. Adding a 150 ohm resistor in series with the Amigas CSYNC signal will reduce the levels nicely.

Ian
Stedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 11:23 PM   #5
Richard42
Merely Curious
Points: 1,678, Level: 23 Points: 1,678, Level: 23 Points: 1,678, Level: 23
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: a1200 display sync problems with VGA cable

Thank you for your answers. I got it working today, and there were 2 issues causing my problems. First, the csync voltage was too high. The input impedance on the GBS-8220 is about 500 ohms. By putting a 570 ohm resistor in series it knocked the voltage down to around 2v. The other issue is that the GBS-8220 appears not to be able to handle 50hz. It will only sync to the signal when the Amiga is in NTSC (60hz) mode.

I had this working a few months ago with an Ambery AV-1 converter, and it could do the 50hz modes as well, but now it doesn't work. I think that this converter is dead. I'll have to get another one and try it again.
Richard42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
problems , a1200 , cable , display , vga , sync

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump