amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Deneb troubles

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2011, 11:11 PM   #1
webmany
Technoid
Points: 4,937, Level: 44 Points: 4,937, Level: 44 Points: 4,937, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 170
Default Deneb troubles

I recently picked up a deneb for my A3000. Everything is installed and running in Z2 mode (freezes in Z3 mode, but I think I know the fix for it).

I have all the software installed, but I do not have MUI. I have a copy on CD, but can't use the cdrom as it is a usb.

I have tried using the command line to get the drive up and going but am having no luck. When I try adding the hardware using the following:
addusbhardware DEVS:USBHwarde/denebz2.device
I get failed.

Anyone know where I can find instructions on how to get the usb cdrom running without using the trident program, and just using the command line?
webmany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 11:34 PM   #2
Matt_H
VIP / Donor
Points: 24,090, Level: 94 Points: 24,090, Level: 94 Points: 24,090, Level: 94
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA, United States
Posts: 5,241
Default Re: Deneb troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by webmany View Post
addusbhardware DEVS:USBHwarde/denebz2.device
I'm assuming that "Hwarde" is a typo.

That command should be all you need from the USB side. By default, the CD drive will automount using L:AmiCDFS. If you don't have AmiCDFS, then automount won't work until you reconfigure it in Trident.

But you can of course mount your CD drive manually, just as if you had plugged it into a SCSI or IDE port. the device name is usbscsi.device, and the unit is probably 0.
Matt_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 12:35 AM   #3
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,342
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: Deneb troubles

MUI is available directly from the Deneb card.

Set the jumper on the Deneb for "RES" (it is marked on the card) and when your system boots there will be a draw full of install files. Install and extract the files and you'll end up with a MUI installer, FAT file type and all sorts of other goodies.

One thing you may have to do is track down an updated "INSTALLER" command (from Aminet) to replace the older version on the WB3.0/3.1 disks which will fail.

I'm trying to understand how you installed the Deneb software without installing MUI.
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 02:11 AM   #4
strim
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,783, Level: 32 Points: 2,783, Level: 32 Points: 2,783, Level: 32
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
strim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 75
Default Re: Deneb troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post
I'm trying to understand how you installed the Deneb software without installing MUI.
It's perfectly possible. The only thing that really needs MUI is a Trident GUI. You can use Poseidon from the command line like this:
Code:
AddUsbHardware Devs:USBHardware/youdriver.device
AddUsbClasses
That's it, you're done, check the logs with PsdErrorLog
strim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 05:13 AM   #5
platon42
Cult Member
Points: 9,459, Level: 65 Points: 9,459, Level: 65 Points: 9,459, Level: 65
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
platon42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 573
Default Re: Deneb troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post
MUI is available directly from the Deneb card.

Set the jumper on the Deneb for "RES" (it is marked on the card) and when your system boots there will be a draw full of install files. Install and extract the files and you'll end up with a MUI installer, FAT file type and all sorts of other goodies.

One thing you may have to do is track down an updated "INSTALLER" command (from Aminet) to replace the older version on the WB3.0/3.1 disks which will fail.

I'm trying to understand how you installed the Deneb software without installing MUI.
MUI is not included in the installer image. You can perfectly use Poseidon without MUI, but you will not be able to configure things (or get popups).

To use Poseidon without MUI, use

AddUSBHardware DEVS:USBHardware/deneb*usb.device (where * is either z2 or z3pio or z3dma according to your configuration).
AddUSBClasses
SYS:Prefs/Trident NOGUI SAVE

After that, you can just use ENVARC:PsdStackloader to start the stack. Note that the above steps are also done during the first installation (though it is a bit tricky there, because when you are installing from the Rescue image, you are always in Z2 mode).

As mentioned in the other posting, you the mass storage class will by default attempt to use AmiCDFS as a CD file system and FAT95 for FAT formatted media. But you can of course use the included UMSD mountlist as a template to mount whatever you like.

To see what's happening use

PsdErrorlog

for a list of errors and messages.
__________________
--
Regards, Chris Hodges )-> http://www.platon42.de <-(
hackerkey://v4sw7CJS$hw6/7ln6pr7+8AOP$ck0ma8u2LMw1/4Xm5l3i5TJCOTextPad/e7t2BDMNb7GHLen5a34s5IMr1g3/5ACM
platon42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 08:03 AM   #6
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,342
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: Deneb troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by platon42 View Post
MUI is not included in the installer image. You can perfectly use Poseidon without MUI, but you will not be able to configure things (or get popups).

To use Poseidon without MUI, use

AddUSBHardware DEVS:USBHardware/deneb*usb.device (where * is either z2 or z3pio or z3dma according to your configuration).
AddUSBClasses
SYS:Prefs/Trident NOGUI SAVE

After that, you can just use ENVARC:PsdStackloader to start the stack. Note that the above steps are also done during the first installation (though it is a bit tricky there, because when you are installing from the Rescue image, you are always in Z2 mode).

As mentioned in the other posting, you the mass storage class will by default attempt to use AmiCDFS as a CD file system and FAT95 for FAT formatted media. But you can of course use the included UMSD mountlist as a template to mount whatever you like.

To see what's happening use

PsdErrorlog

for a list of errors and messages.
Ah, sorry. I could have sworn I got it from the Deneb folder. I must have grabbed it from Aminet. The instructions sure as hell said to install it.
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 08:53 AM   #7
save2600
Premium Member
Points: 19,119, Level: 87 Points: 19,119, Level: 87 Points: 19,119, Level: 87
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern, WI USA
Posts: 3,097
Send a message via Yahoo to save2600
Default Re: Deneb troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by webmany View Post
I recently picked up a deneb for my A3000. Everything is installed and running in Z2 mode (freezes in Z3 mode, but I think I know the fix for it).
Did you get yours to run in Z3 mode yet? Like yours, mine too freezes when in Z3. Someone a while back suggested re-seating the zip RAM, but I have yet to try that. Wondering what you thought the fix was...
__________________
Cash paid or will trade for loose and CIB Amiga games I need. Game manuals and boxes only too! Will purchase in large lots as well.
save2600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 09:01 AM   #8
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,342
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: Deneb troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by save2600 View Post
Did you get yours to run in Z3 mode yet? Like yours, mine too freezes when in Z3. Someone a while back suggested re-seating the zip RAM, but I have yet to try that. Wondering what you thought the fix was...
I have an issue too on my A4000 with Z3 (and PIO) since I installed a Mediator board and I've been forced to use it in Z2 mode. I did notice yesterday that there is a v11 firmware update for the Deneb on the E3B site (I believe mine is v9) so I've downloaded it and I'll flash the Deneb when I get home (in 3 weeks).

Has anyone tried the new firmware?
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 09:14 AM   #9
save2600
Premium Member
Points: 19,119, Level: 87 Points: 19,119, Level: 87 Points: 19,119, Level: 87
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern, WI USA
Posts: 3,097
Send a message via Yahoo to save2600
Default Re: Deneb troubles

Oh shoot, for clarity... got Z3, DMA and PIO mode goofed up again. PIO *is* Z3, which my system runs just fine. What I can't get to work is DMA mode. That's when my system freezes. Buster 11 and no other DMA Z3 cards installed.

Looks like the V11 firmware may fix that and your issue Darrin
__________________
Cash paid or will trade for loose and CIB Amiga games I need. Game manuals and boxes only too! Will purchase in large lots as well.

Last edited by save2600; 05-29-2011 at 09:20 AM..
save2600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 09:21 PM   #10
webmany
Technoid
Points: 4,937, Level: 44 Points: 4,937, Level: 44 Points: 4,937, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: Deneb troubles

Thanks for the help. I managed to get everything working except for cdroms.

When I try using a disk, the debug shows it loading AmiCDFS (Loaded filesystem L:AmiCDFS via DOS!), but then run into this:
Couldn't find/load filesystem for usbscsi.device uinit 0 as UMSD:
Possibly no FAT32 installed?)

I checked L: and I have AmiCDFS and fat32 listed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by platon42 View Post
MUI is not included in the installer image. You can perfectly use Poseidon without MUI, but you will not be able to configure things (or get popups).

To use Poseidon without MUI, use

AddUSBHardware DEVS:USBHardware/deneb*usb.device (where * is either z2 or z3pio or z3dma according to your configuration).
AddUSBClasses
SYS:Prefs/Trident NOGUI SAVE

After that, you can just use ENVARC:PsdStackloader to start the stack. Note that the above steps are also done during the first installation (though it is a bit tricky there, because when you are installing from the Rescue image, you are always in Z2 mode).

As mentioned in the other posting, you the mass storage class will by default attempt to use AmiCDFS as a CD file system and FAT95 for FAT formatted media. But you can of course use the included UMSD mountlist as a template to mount whatever you like.

To see what's happening use

PsdErrorlog

for a list of errors and messages.
webmany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 09:22 PM   #11
webmany
Technoid
Points: 4,937, Level: 44 Points: 4,937, Level: 44 Points: 4,937, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: Deneb troubles

I had to add NOCACHE on the setpatch statement in Startup-Sequence


Quote:
Originally Posted by save2600 View Post
Did you get yours to run in Z3 mode yet? Like yours, mine too freezes when in Z3. Someone a while back suggested re-seating the zip RAM, but I have yet to try that. Wondering what you thought the fix was...
webmany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 09:39 PM   #12
webmany
Technoid
Points: 4,937, Level: 44 Points: 4,937, Level: 44 Points: 4,937, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: Deneb troubles

Never mind, got it. Had to setup ASIMCDFS properly.

Thanks for the help
webmany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 09:11 AM   #13
save2600
Premium Member
Points: 19,119, Level: 87 Points: 19,119, Level: 87 Points: 19,119, Level: 87
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern, WI USA
Posts: 3,097
Send a message via Yahoo to save2600
Default Re: Deneb troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by webmany View Post
I had to add NOCACHE on the setpatch statement in Startup-Sequence
I just got through updating the flashrom to v11 and it now runs in DMA mode nice and stable, without crashing! Didn't have to modify my setpatch or monkey with reseating the Zip RAM either.

Thanks to the Deneb team for the continued support.
__________________
Cash paid or will trade for loose and CIB Amiga games I need. Game manuals and boxes only too! Will purchase in large lots as well.

Last edited by save2600; 05-31-2011 at 09:19 AM..
save2600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
deneb , troubles

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump