amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:56 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Amiga PSUs

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2011, 10:59 AM   #1
orange
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 19,212, Level: 87 Points: 19,212, Level: 87 Points: 19,212, Level: 87
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Yugoslavia
Posts: 2,569
Default Amiga PSUs

original power supplies are getting old. I'm worried PSU might break some other component when it fails. The trouble is with A4000 PSU, as its very small and cannot be easily replaced with ATX. So, would it be a good idea to just replace the fan and capacitors inside it? anyone got a list of those caps?
orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 11:24 AM   #2
Buzzfuzz
Technoid
Points: 2,988, Level: 33 Points: 2,988, Level: 33 Points: 2,988, Level: 33
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Buzzfuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 376
Default Re: Amiga PSUs

Fit a mini atx into the old psu shell.

http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=3539
http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=7593

Chances are the high voltage parts will fail too and the costs for a new mini atx are in the end lower and it makes it easier to replace.
__________________
Wishlist: A3500, A600HD40, empty 4000T tower
Buzzfuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 11:56 AM   #3
orange
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 19,212, Level: 87 Points: 19,212, Level: 87 Points: 19,212, Level: 87
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Yugoslavia
Posts: 2,569
Default Re: Amiga PSUs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzzfuzz View Post
Fit a mini atx into the old psu shell.

http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=3539
http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=7593

Chances are the high voltage parts will fail too and the costs for a new mini atx are in the end lower and it makes it easier to replace.
problem is, there is only one microATX around here: LC POWER LC380M
I'm not sure if it has enough power on 5V. also, its probably low quality :/
(no short circuit protection, etc..)
orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 01:26 PM   #4
actung_bab
Cult Member
Points: 6,503, Level: 52 Points: 6,503, Level: 52 Points: 6,503, Level: 52
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
actung_bab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 650
Default Re: Amiga PSUs

really just the plug that stops and some minor changing of the wires athough you do have to measure that correct voltages . my service tech friend wired my 1200 for use with atx
psu just garden shed variety one , main probelm with atx over old at is you have to
turn on the atx done on the pc mb you join 2 wires.
l have a dead amiga 4000 and waiting on chap to come back from south pole to fix
it . but my 4000 psu need work oh by the way somone said they have fuse l havent found on in my unit , anyway you can get adaptor from amikit and yeah easy
as thats simplist way you just plug it between the atx pc and your amiga 4000
even has thing for your power button so l go that way myself
l got one in my cart just got get around to buying it
but you chould also check aminet for wiring chart l had it for years and then just take
you psu or amiga to local tv service man tell what you need
oold chap here un solderied my 2000 mb battery for free
__________________
Acthung baby
telnet://midnight-blue.dyndns.org
Cnet 4.60 PRO bbs software
Amiga 1200 020 14 mhz mbz 1200 z pcmcia network card 4 meg ram 2 Gb scandisk cf
Amiga 2000 020
Amiga 4000 030 25 mhz broken
Amiga x 4 1200
x 6 Sony Ps 3 Orginal 60 gb 4 port usb 160 gb hd (os 4.1 ready :-)
what can i say i like thse machines
x 3 XBOX 360 1x xbox 360 slim
url=http://avatars.jurko.net]http://img1.jurko.net/avatar_10587.jpg[/url]

Last edited by actung_bab; 03-03-2011 at 01:34 PM..
actung_bab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 01:46 PM   #5
mongo
Premium Member
Points: 10,664, Level: 68 Points: 10,664, Level: 68 Points: 10,664, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 934
Default Re: Amiga PSUs

Quote:
Originally Posted by orange View Post
problem is, there is only one microATX around here: LC POWER LC380M
I'm not sure if it has enough power on 5V. also, its probably low quality :/
(no short circuit protection, etc..)
The only information I could find said it had 20 amps on the 5V rail. That's more than enough.
mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amiga , psus

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump