amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:27 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Getting an A4000 on the wire.....

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2011, 02:49 AM   #1
gertsy
Lifetime Member
Points: 11,775, Level: 71 Points: 11,775, Level: 71 Points: 11,775, Level: 71
Activity: 79% Activity: 79% Activity: 79%
 
gertsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melbourne, Oz
Posts: 1,803
Lightbulb Getting an A4000 on the wire.....

Hi, Spent some time today getting my A1200 back onto my home LAN with Amiga SMBFS via its 3C589 PCMCIA Card.
SMBFS being quite usable even on 10Mbit it made me think, dangerous I know, how can I get my A4000D on the LAN as well ? (o:
Are there any modern Zorro3 LAN cards for the A4000? Or is going PCI the only option..?
Is there a USB Network option ?

Cheers in advance.
__________________
G E R T S Y
A4000 040@25 16/2MB 8GB CF
A2000 040@33 16/2MB 20GB BHD
A1200 030@33 64/2MB 4GB CF
A 500 000@07 2/1MB A590 1GB HD
gertsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 04:28 AM   #2
tone007
sad moaning faced git
Points: 14,755, Level: 78 Points: 14,755, Level: 78 Points: 14,755, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
tone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 3,204
Send a message via AIM to tone007
Default Re: Getting an A4000 on the wire.....

The X-Surf (Zorro) was around recently (can't find it at AmigaKit at the moment,) but new they cost almost what the Deneb USB card costs, which would indeed allow you to use a cheap USB Ethernet adapter.

Personally, I'd wait for a Zorro Ethernet card in the $50 range to pop up on eBay (it does happen sometimes,) but if you're buying new, Deneb USB seems to be a better value.
__________________
3 Commodore file cabinets, 2 Commodore USB turntables, 1 AmigaWorld beer mug
Alienware M14x i7 laptop running AmigaForever
tone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 04:35 AM   #3
gertsy
Lifetime Member
Points: 11,775, Level: 71 Points: 11,775, Level: 71 Points: 11,775, Level: 71
Activity: 79% Activity: 79% Activity: 79%
 
gertsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melbourne, Oz
Posts: 1,803
Default Re: Getting an A4000 on the wire.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by tone007 View Post
The X-Surf (Zorro) was around recently (can't find it at AmigaKit at the moment,) but new they cost almost what the Deneb USB card costs, which would indeed allow you to use a cheap USB Ethernet adapter.

Personally, I'd wait for a Zorro Ethernet card in the $50 range to pop up on eBay (it does happen sometimes,) but if you're buying new, Deneb USB seems to be a better value.
Thanks, Was just looking at the Deneb on AmigaKit. What sort of USB LAN dongle can you use. Specific device/driver ?
__________________
G E R T S Y
A4000 040@25 16/2MB 8GB CF
A2000 040@33 16/2MB 20GB BHD
A1200 030@33 64/2MB 4GB CF
A 500 000@07 2/1MB A590 1GB HD
gertsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 04:37 AM   #4
tone007
sad moaning faced git
Points: 14,755, Level: 78 Points: 14,755, Level: 78 Points: 14,755, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
tone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 3,204
Send a message via AIM to tone007
Default Re: Getting an A4000 on the wire.....

Never used USB on an Amiga myself so someone probably has a better answer, but:

http://aminet.net/package/driver/net/rtl8150eth
__________________
3 Commodore file cabinets, 2 Commodore USB turntables, 1 AmigaWorld beer mug
Alienware M14x i7 laptop running AmigaForever
tone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a4000 , wire

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump