amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:24 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Software Issues and Discussion A1000 Terminal Program

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2010, 01:06 AM   #1
RepoOne
Hobbyist
Points: 2,676, Level: 31 Points: 2,676, Level: 31 Points: 2,676, Level: 31
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
RepoOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 53
Thumbs down A1000 Terminal Program

I have an A1000 with only 512K of ChipRAM, and I'm wondering what a good terminal program for it would be.

I plan on doing this with it:
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=40122

However, many of the terminal programs seem to be for OS 2.0 or for Amigas with >512K of RAM. Are there any (preferably on AmiNet) that would work well with my setup?
RepoOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 09:45 PM   #2
Tenacious
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,349, Level: 75 Points: 13,349, Level: 75 Points: 13,349, Level: 75
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
Tenacious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: near Cincinnati
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: A1000 Terminal Program

NComm was my favorite, I used it for years before the internet. According to the text on Aminet, it's possible to run the last version (3.06) on OS1.3 with only 512K, IF, run in 2 colors. Another option would be to find older and smaller versions (older than version 3.0x) of NComm. I switched to NComm because it correctly handled IBM ansi characters, IIRC.

Before NComm I used ACCESS!, I didn't see it on Aminet.

I also liked a program called VLT (I think). It was written by a guy who worked at the Stanford accelerator (I think, ), I also didn't see it on Aminet. EDIT: this could be it http://aminet.net/comm/term/VLTj5867.lha

If you don't find something, I could look thru my floppy vault and see if one of these is still readable.

This brings up an interesting question: What happened to all the old stuff from Fred Fish and Elysian that doesn't seem to be on Aminet?

Last edited by Tenacious; 12-19-2010 at 10:18 PM..
Tenacious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 10:54 PM   #3
desiv
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,134, Level: 50 Points: 6,134, Level: 50 Points: 6,134, Level: 50
Activity: 61% Activity: 61% Activity: 61%
 
desiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: A1000 Terminal Program

I know I used JRComm a lot back in the day...
I'd give it a shot.. Although I can't remember off the top of my head how well it handled IBM ANSI.... Very nice ZModem support tho..

desiv
desiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 11:39 PM   #4
mechy
Cult Member
Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72 Points: 12,447, Level: 72
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
mechy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas,usa
Posts: 911
Send a message via AIM to mechy Send a message via MSN to mechy
Default Re: A1000 Terminal Program

Quote:
Originally Posted by RepoOne View Post
I have an A1000 with only 512K of ChipRAM, and I'm wondering what a good terminal program for it would be.

I plan on doing this with it:
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=40122

However, many of the terminal programs seem to be for OS 2.0 or for Amigas with >512K of RAM. Are there any (preferably on AmiNet) that would work well with my setup?
termite tcp was tiny and i think has a telnet client,check it out. I'm not sure if it runs under WB1.3 tho.
I managed to fit it on a 880K bootable floppy with telnet,email prog and grapevine long ago to get a Stock 1 meg ram A500 68000 machine on the net via dialup.
mechy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 03:11 AM   #5
prowler
Technoid
Points: 8,832, Level: 63 Points: 8,832, Level: 63 Points: 8,832, Level: 63
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 161
Default Re: A1000 Terminal Program

Quote:
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
I know I used JRComm a lot back in the day...
I'd give it a shot.. Although I can't remember off the top of my head how well it handled IBM ANSI.... Very nice ZModem support tho..

desiv
Both NComm and JRComm should support IBM ANSI _if_ you have the IBM ANSI fonts on your system. Well, that's what my hazy memory tells me anyway. It has been some time since I used a terminal package.

Also, you can grab xpr modem libraries for the different transfer protocols out there as well as replacement serial.device which should allow for faster transfer rates on an Amiga compared with the system supplied one. Unfortunately, the standard UART Amigas used are not very fast which is why so many people used to get serial cards.
prowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 08:24 AM   #6
hardlink
Cult Member
Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silver Springy, MD
Posts: 586
Default Re: A1000 Terminal Program

Quote:
Originally Posted by RepoOne View Post
I have an A1000 with only 512K of ChipRAM, and I'm wondering what a good terminal program for it would be.
The terminal program that I ran for years on my A1000, under WB 1.2, was A-Talk III, it had VT100, IBM, and Tektronix modes, but it was commercial. I just ran it (on an A4000T) and it uses about 200KB of ram; and still works under OS 3.9! Nice programming Marco Papa!

Edit: I just sent a request to who I think is the author asking permission to public release it, ala Ignacio; we'll see what happens.

EditII: Response-

From: Marco Papa <xxx>
Subject: Re: Felsina Software
Date: December 21, 2010 11:49:13 AM EST

Yes, I am THE Marco Papa of Felsina Software. And sure you can go ahead and "publicly share" with my approval.

-- Marco
--
Marco Papa, Ph.D.
Computer Science Department
xxxxxxxxxx

Now what to do; can I upload this to Aminet?

Last edited by hardlink; 12-21-2010 at 10:49 AM.. Reason: PD attempt
hardlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 10:36 AM   #7
motrucker
Premium Member
Points: 15,327, Level: 79 Points: 15,327, Level: 79 Points: 15,327, Level: 79
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
motrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Maryland - U.S.A.
Posts: 2,077
Default Re: A1000 Terminal Program

I believe Baud Bandit will do this too.
motrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
program , terminal , 512k , a1000

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump