amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:22 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Operating System Specific Discussions » AROS Research Operating System » Changing the Display Mode

AROS Research Operating System Your place for AROS discussion chatter.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2010, 04:01 AM   #1
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,790
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Changing the Display Mode

Once I have AROS installed on a real computer, how do I alter the boot up so that it does not present all the screen mode options and just defaults to the one I choose.

Also how do I get it into 16 bit mode instead of 24? I read in the DOSbox documents that this is necessary to prevent system slow downs.

Thankx!
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 04:33 AM   #2
lsmart
Technoid
Points: 4,783, Level: 44 Points: 4,783, Level: 44 Points: 4,783, Level: 44
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
lsmart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 436
Blog Entries: 23
Default Re: Changing the Display Mode

I have it running in VirtualPox and I`d really love to get it to boot into a resulution that I can actually see without scrolling. Unfortunately the screen mode preferences seems completely broken.

If you really want to fix this on the bootmanager level you should be able to find some info through google: "GRUB" is also used on many Linux distributions and should be documented pretty well. The muliboot options are visible when you press e in GRUB, so you should be able to roll your own, but I haven´t tried any of this.
lsmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 09:43 PM   #3
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,790
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: Changing the Display Mode

I had to select GeForce 7800, which is strange because I have an on-board 6100, but it will not work with the top NVIDIA option so 7800 is the only way I could get it to work.

I was surprised to see that I can now change video modes, though 16bit mode did not seem to help DOSbox from making the computer drag at all, though I only have 512Mb of RAM, maybe that has something to do with it?!

BOH's did not like it at all, I forget what I did, but it took forever to get it to display full screen again with proper colors and displaying corner to corner rather than only taking up half the screen.

I'm thinking AROS has some priorities that got over looked.
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs

Last edited by XDelusion; 04-05-2010 at 11:14 PM..
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 12:53 AM   #4
clusteruk
Premium Member
Points: 4,742, Level: 43 Points: 4,742, Level: 43 Points: 4,742, Level: 43
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default Re: Changing the Display Mode

just edit the sys:boot/grub.cfg file and change default setting at top. note that the first is zero.

when ruuning vesa the screenmode prefs only show one resolution. if you have a native supported nvidia card then you get lots of choices.
__________________
Amiga 1000/3000, iMica Silent and NVidia Aros computer.
http://www.imica.net
Lets enjoy the Amigas future, THIS year is 25th Anniversary lets make it special.
http://www.amiga25.org
clusteruk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 02:05 AM   #5
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100 Points: 38,922, Level: 100
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,790
Send a message via ICQ to XDelusion
Default Re: Changing the Display Mode

Aghh ha!

Thank you!
__________________
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
display , mode , changing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump