amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:26 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Insatll3.1 has a read error on disk block 2?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2010, 04:25 PM   #1
carvedeye
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,425, Level: 80 Points: 15,425, Level: 80 Points: 15,425, Level: 80
Activity: 53% Activity: 53% Activity: 53%
 
carvedeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via MSN to carvedeye
Default Insatll3.1 has a read error on disk block 2?

Hi i am wanting to format my new hd and i am getting this error, any way of fixing it without having to purchase another copy?
carvedeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 04:31 PM   #2
Azryl
Technoid
Points: 8,338, Level: 61 Points: 8,338, Level: 61 Points: 8,338, Level: 61
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 386
Default Re: Insatll3.1 has a read error on disk block 2?

if you have 2x floppy drives.. I would suggest DiskSalv by dave haynie, it can usually fix/restore a simple read error from your original disk, to a spare disk in the other drive.

http://aminet.net/package/disk/salv/DiskSalv11_32

Az
__________________
Completely useless? I can always be used as a bad example
Azryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 04:38 PM   #3
carvedeye
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,425, Level: 80 Points: 15,425, Level: 80 Points: 15,425, Level: 80
Activity: 53% Activity: 53% Activity: 53%
 
carvedeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via MSN to carvedeye
Default Re: Insatll3.1 has a read error on disk block 2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azryl View Post
if you have 2x floppy drives.. I would suggest DiskSalv by dave haynie, it can usually fix/restore a simple read error from your original disk, to a spare disk in the other drive.

http://aminet.net/package/disk/salv/DiskSalv11_32

Az
i only have one ? is it possible to use just one floppy drive with this program?
carvedeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 10:57 PM   #4
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,645, Level: 75 Points: 13,645, Level: 75 Points: 13,645, Level: 75
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,215
Default Re: Insatll3.1 has a read error on disk block 2?

Yes, if you have something to put the temporary fix result into - HD, enough RAM or RAD etc to wait to be written back onto the disk.
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
error , insatll31 , disk , block , read

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump