amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2003, 03:23 PM   #1
DoomMaster
Banned
Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 279
Default Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

Hello Amiga Fans,

I need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive. What are the parameters that I need to type into HDToolkit?

Cylinders:
Heads:
Blocks Per Track:
Blocks Per Cylinder:

Are blocks the same thing as tracks?
DoomMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 04:41 PM   #2
6
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,532, Level: 47 Points: 5,532, Level: 47 Points: 5,532, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Myassa, FL/Tallahassee, FL USA
Posts: 106
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

Your HDToolBox should read the parameters for you.
When in "Partition Drive", click "New Partition". That should do it.
6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 04:50 PM   #3
DoomMaster
Banned
Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 279
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

I am using Kickstart / Workbench 1.3. HDToolBox does NOT read in the correct number of heads (which is 4). Because of this, I think that it throws off the Blocks Per Track and Blocks Per Cylinder too. The Quantum Web Site states that the LP240S has 1818 Cylinders and 4 Heads, but has nothing about blocks. The number of 512 byte sectors is 479,350, which HDToolBox did pick up. Is there a web site that lists all of the Amiga SCSI hard drive parameters for HDToolBox? If there is not, there should be. :roll:
DoomMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 05:55 PM   #4
Markus_Bieler
Technoid
Points: 10,749, Level: 68 Points: 10,749, Level: 68 Points: 10,749, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Markus_Bieler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Schweiz Suisse Svizzera Switzerland Suiza
Posts: 366
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

For scsi-devices the amount of heads and cylinders doesn't count. ONLY the amount of sectors is important. And 479 350 divided by 2 gives 239 675 sectors with 1024 bytes. And that is a LP240s (HD manufacturer count a sector as 1000 bytes.)
Markus_Bieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 06:45 PM   #5
melott
Cult Member
Points: 9,136, Level: 64 Points: 9,136, Level: 64 Points: 9,136, Level: 64
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 989
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

I don't know if this will help...
there are a couple of good HD formatting prgs.
on Aminet. "RDP391.lha" and "HDinst.lha"
I don't know if they will run in OS 1.3 but
they look like they might. If they'll run it
would probably solve your problem, make life much
easier.

Mel Ott
melott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2003, 10:42 PM   #6
DoomMaster
Banned
Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 279
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

Don't any of you guys have this drive in your Amiga? Just look at it in HDToolBox and give me those parameters. I need:

Cylinders:
Heads:
Blocks Per Track:
Blocks Per Cylinder:

Thanks
DoomMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 03:20 AM   #7
Framiga
Energizer Bunny of Babble
Points: 17,731, Level: 84 Points: 17,731, Level: 84 Points: 17,731, Level: 84
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Framiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4,085
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

Hi DOOM!

download HDInstTool

Your disk should be a 234MB (formatted)

Run HDInstTool, click on "Setup drive" and make an "Inquiry" from the menu. . . . even if i'm sure that you already know all that :-)

Ciao!

Framiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 01:57 PM   #8
DoomMaster
Banned
Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 279
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

I am using Kickstart / Workbench 1.3 on an Amiga 2000HD computer. The hard drive is a Quantum 240 meg SCSI hard drive attached to a Commodore A2091 SCSI Controller Card. Comeon folks, this is a very simple question and none of you guys have answered it correctly! If any of you have a Quantum LP240S in your Amiga, give me the parameters:

Cylinders:
Heads:
Blocks Per Track:
Blocks Per Cylinder:

The first person to answer this question correctly will get $10.00 CASH from me ! :-D
DoomMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 02:21 PM   #9
fragment
Technoid
Points: 5,348, Level: 46 Points: 5,348, Level: 46 Points: 5,348, Level: 46
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 218
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

Quote:
DoomMaster wrote:
The first person to answer this question correctly will get $10.00 CASH from me ! :-D
WTF is wrong with you? Why not just download the util framiga suggested and get the info yourself?
fragment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 02:29 PM   #10
DoomMaster
Banned
Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 279
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

To fragment:

Because it is compressed with a newer version of LHA and I only have an older version of LHA. I downloaded the new version of LHA, but some stupid f**k compressed the actual LHA program with LHA! To all Web Masters: [size=x-small]NEVER COMPRESS THE ACTUAL LHA PROGRAM![/size] Leave it as an EXE file, so people can use it to uncompress other files. :-o
DoomMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 02:51 PM   #11
fragment
Technoid
Points: 5,348, Level: 46 Points: 5,348, Level: 46 Points: 5,348, Level: 46
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 218
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

Quote:
DoomMaster wrote:
To fragment:

Because it is compressed with a newer version of LHA and I only have an older version of LHA. I downloaded the new version of LHA, but some stupid f**k compressed the actual LHA program with LHA!
Well, try this then.
fragment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 03:04 PM   #12
seer
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,234, Level: 64 Points: 9,234, Level: 64 Points: 9,234, Level: 64
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,453
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

Doom,

For a sm@rt@$$ you're pretty stupid, but try lha.run and run it... Works fine...

Maybe this,
this or
this helps

__________________
~
Everything you say will be misquoted and used against you.
~
seer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 03:09 PM   #13
Markus_Bieler
Technoid
Points: 10,749, Level: 68 Points: 10,749, Level: 68 Points: 10,749, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Markus_Bieler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Schweiz Suisse Svizzera Switzerland Suiza
Posts: 366
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

Bwelieve me. It doesn't matter how many heads etc your drive has. Only the amount of sectors is imkportant,so if HD-Toolbox gets this number correct (or a litle less than the correct number) you are on the saveside. SCSI drives a intelligent drices, they know how todeal with heads and cylinder, only the total amount of sectors is important.

Markus_Bieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 03:43 PM   #14
DoomMaster
Banned
Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 279
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

To Markus_Bieler:

Where do I type this into HDToolBox? Thanks :-?
DoomMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 03:44 PM   #15
Markus_Bieler
Technoid
Points: 10,749, Level: 68 Points: 10,749, Level: 68 Points: 10,749, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Markus_Bieler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Schweiz Suisse Svizzera Switzerland Suiza
Posts: 366
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

Perhaps this helps you:

http://info.star.spb.ru/Hardware/The..._lps-240s.html

Markus_Bieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2003, 03:46 PM   #16
DoomMaster
Banned
Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 279
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

To fragment:

Thanks, dude, for the file
DoomMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2003, 04:28 PM   #17
odin
Colonization had Galleons
Points: 22,606, Level: 93 Points: 22,606, Level: 93 Points: 22,606, Level: 93
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Asker, Norway
Posts: 6,780
Default Re: Need help formatting a Quantum LP240S hard drive.

Hm....what happened with his helmet. Court-martialled?
odin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
formatting , hard , lp240s , quantum , drive

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partitioning and formatting a real hard drive in winuae blanning Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 6 11-28-2008 08:34 AM
Help Needed With Quantum Hard-Drive dannyp1 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2 01-29-2007 06:47 PM
Hard drive formatting problems nineoc Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 9 01-01-2007 02:59 PM
Amiga 3000 Hard Drive issue... quantum xp32150 cbcvenice Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 17 10-28-2005 08:50 PM
Formatting a hard-drive in WinUAE... RedWarrior Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 0 11-09-2003 11:39 PM