amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Software Issues and Discussion Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2010, 07:48 AM   #1
silikonanswer
Merely Curious
Points: 430, Level: 8 Points: 430, Level: 8 Points: 430, Level: 8
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Question Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

Hi,

I've just bought a brand new PC :-P with an i7 processor and I want to install Amiga Forever. I want to use Deluxe Paint V but as I have lots of jpgs I plan to use them with Amiga Paint Programs. Personal Paint is very good but I prefer Deluxe Paint, is it possible to open jpgs directly? I think there was a program available on the Aminet that did exactly that but I am not sure. I prefer this than to use another tool to convert the jpg files to iffs, can anyone give me a hint about the name of this program?


Thanks!


Amiga 4ever
silikonanswer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 07:56 AM   #2
koshman
Technoid
Points: 2,884, Level: 32 Points: 2,884, Level: 32 Points: 2,884, Level: 32
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
koshman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 427
Default Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

Working in emulated Deluxe Paint on Core i7 - that's what I call a retro computing enthusiast
__________________
- Radim

A1200D - 68060/80, 64MB RAM, 4GB CF, Buffalo WLAN card
A3000D - 68030/25, 16MB RAM, Cybervision 64/3D, X-Surf
A500 - 68000/7, 2,5MB RAM
koshman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 07:59 AM   #3
silikonanswer
Merely Curious
Points: 430, Level: 8 Points: 430, Level: 8 Points: 430, Level: 8
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

:-D Deluxe Paint is lovely! Amiga OS is lovely as their users :-D

I think this is what I am looking for:
AutoPEG20.lha

Am I right?
silikonanswer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 08:00 AM   #4
arnljot
VIP / Donor
Points: 8,093, Level: 60 Points: 8,093, Level: 60 Points: 8,093, Level: 60
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
arnljot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Oslo
Posts: 731
Default Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

doesn't dpv support datatypes?
__________________
A posting a day keeps the sanity away...
http://www.arnljot.com
arnljot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:39 AM   #5
x303
Cult Member
Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
x303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 632
Question Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

JPEG7-MUI ? http://aminet.net/gfx/conv/JPEG7-MUI.lha
x303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 12:38 PM   #6
ElPolloDiabl
Defender of the Faith
Points: 14,833, Level: 78 Points: 14,833, Level: 78 Points: 14,833, Level: 78
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,284
Default Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

I know there is a program that lets you view .bmp/.jpg files. There a probably a few image converters on aminet. Have look for them.

Can't remember because I've been using irfanview on the pc for about 10 years.
__________________
Go Go Gadget Signature!
ElPolloDiabl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 03:09 PM   #7
Voyager74
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,509, Level: 37 Points: 3,509, Level: 37 Points: 3,509, Level: 37
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Voyager74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sweden - Down South
Posts: 87
Thumbs up Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

I've always preferred DP (3-5) over PP (7), but PersonalPaint being newer
over EA's DP obviously has a few perks...
Anyway, if you want to convert f.ex jpeg's to ilbm, you can always
use ye' olde GfxCon!
It runs from both Workbench and DOS, it converts between multiple
image-formats, you can add fcol./b.w-filters, re-scale (with interpolation) etc.

Happy Pixel-punching!

GfxCon on Aminet! <-
__________________
intuition inside!

Last edited by Voyager74; 01-14-2010 at 03:13 PM.. Reason: added url
Voyager74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 03:28 PM   #8
stefcep2
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,205, Level: 64 Points: 9,205, Level: 64 Points: 9,205, Level: 64
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

He said he doesn't want to convert his large collection of jpg to iff, just load them into DPaint transparently.

Datachrome is what you want. It doesn't work 100% of the time with DPaint. The lack of file format support by DPaint even in V 5 was its biggest failing, particularly as it started to offer 24 bit support- why offer 24 bit, but no way to load jpeg format whose very existence is to keep 24 bit pictures at a manageable size? Why not have built in support for datatypes that works, when datatypes was one of the unique characteristics of Workbench that set it apart from the rest. Jpeg was certainly not something that came after Dpaint 5, EA just chose not to implement support for it. Too much work for a dying platform.

I may have datachrome at home somewhere . It was not on Aminet, but commercial software that I got on a cover CD. I'll pmail you if I have it..

Last edited by stefcep2; 01-14-2010 at 03:35 PM..
stefcep2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 04:58 PM   #9
x303
Cult Member
Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
x303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 632
Arrow Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefcep2 View Post
He said he doesn't want to convert his large collection of jpg to iff, just load them into DPaint transparently.
Yes, I know, I also saw datachrome years ago. But I doubt that such an old program handles all jpegs correctly. Better convert them first (fast!).

x303
x303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 10:12 PM   #10
stefcep2
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,205, Level: 64 Points: 9,205, Level: 64 Points: 9,205, Level: 64
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

Quote:
Originally Posted by x303 View Post
Yes, I know, I also saw datachrome years ago. But I doubt that such an old program handles all jpegs correctly. Better convert them first (fast!).

x303
Possibly. i understood datachrome works by making datatypes-unaware programs use datatypes. So how good it works will depend on the quality of the datatypes installed. The AK datatypes are pretty good.
stefcep2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 02:33 AM   #11
Vulture
Technoid
Points: 7,137, Level: 55 Points: 7,137, Level: 55 Points: 7,137, Level: 55
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 307
Default Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

Yes, datachrome is as good as the dtype you have. So, install Warp or ak datatypes and Datachrome will work nicely with DPaint for Loading and IIRC for saving as well, but I could be wrong on the saving part.
Vulture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 03:53 AM   #12
Voyager74
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,509, Level: 37 Points: 3,509, Level: 37 Points: 3,509, Level: 37
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Voyager74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sweden - Down South
Posts: 87
Cool Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

Yes, I know he didn't wan't the hassle of converting them...
However Gfx-Con is one of the most "hassle-free" options.
Like " I'll pmail you if I have it.." , or "I'm not sure about the saving part",
probably weren't the direct answers he'd like.

Gfx-Con can be applied to many other situations, and it's a direct dl.
I also recall some sort of datatype loader-/saver on aminet for DP,
but instead of "maybe" or "perhaps", mine is an answer that will work directly.

There are other apps like Photogenics (v5+) and ImageFX that do batch-conversions... And then there's quite a few pc-options too!

Best Regards!
__________________
intuition inside!
Voyager74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 01:51 PM   #13
silikonanswer
Merely Curious
Points: 430, Level: 8 Points: 430, Level: 8 Points: 430, Level: 8
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

Many thanks for the answers! Amigans still rule

To be honest I am having lots of trouble running Amiga Forever and Deluxe Paint. First of all, I can't configure more than 8 megas of fast RAM, Could it be possible to use more than 2 megas of chip RAM with Amiga Forever so I could "cheat" Deluxe PAint (I think not)?

I want to use a paint program, PC or Amiga, that let me use the brush perspective as Deluxe Paint does. What I mean is the way you could "cut" a brush, position it in 3d and fill the screen. I haven`t found ANYTHING (excuse me for the capital letters) on the PC that handles perspective in this way, not to mention you could make cool animations with it.

I know this question, a Deluxe Paint clone on the PC, has arise many times on this forums but I can't find a PC program that handles perspective in this way.

Deluxe Paint was wonderful, it even can work with 24 bit files, but it doesn't handle non Amiga screen modes at all and it can't use more graphic memory :-( than the 2 megs of the Aga chipset.

Maybe someone could probe me wrong but, do you know any program that handles perspective as Deluxe Paint does?

I have an I7 with 5 gigs of RAM and still remember the magic times I spent with Deluxe Paint making animations, editing pictures I grabbed with Digi View and... I miss this magic.
silikonanswer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 02:00 PM   #14
x303
Cult Member
Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71 Points: 11,878, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
x303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 632
Exclamation Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

Quote:
Originally Posted by silikonanswer View Post
To be honest I am having lots of trouble running Amiga Forever and Deluxe Paint. First of all, I can't configure more than 8 megas of fast RAM
You might wanna check if Amiga Forever has an option to set Z3Mem. If so, set this as high as possible. Now you should have some more memory available.

Quote:
Deluxe Paint was wonderful, it even can work with 24 bit files, but it doesn't handle non Amiga screen modes at all and it can't use more graphic memory :-( than the 2 megs of the Aga chipset.
You might wanna think about switching to photogenics or arteffect.

x303
x303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 03:37 PM   #15
platon42
Cult Member
Points: 9,459, Level: 65 Points: 9,459, Level: 65 Points: 9,459, Level: 65
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
platon42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 573
Default Re: Working with jpg in Deluxe Paint V

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefcep2 View Post
He said he doesn't want to convert his large collection of jpg to iff, just load them into DPaint transparently.

Datachrome is what you want.

I may have datachrome at home somewhere . It was not on Aminet, but commercial software that I got on a cover CD. I'll pmail you if I have it..
DTConvert does the same job and is freeware. However, I don't think it supports 24 bit datatypes, so the jpg will be converted to 8 bit first I guess.

http://main.aminet.net/pub/aminet/gf.../DTConvert.lha
__________________
--
Regards, Chris Hodges )-> http://www.platon42.de <-(
hackerkey://v4sw7CJS$hw6/7ln6pr7+8AOP$ck0ma8u2LMw1/4Xm5l3i5TJCOTextPad/e7t2BDMNb7GHLen5a34s5IMr1g3/5ACM
platon42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
paint , working , jpg , deluxe

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump