amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:52 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion How do I install older floppy based software on my new Sam?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2009, 11:42 AM   #21
Trev
Slacker
Points: 12,103, Level: 72 Points: 12,103, Level: 72 Points: 12,103, Level: 72
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Trev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Francisco, California, US
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: How do I install older floppy based software on my new Sam?

I've got four Catweasels (one ISA, one Mk3, and two Mk4), and they all work well with standard 3.5" and 5.25" HD floppy drives. Standard is the key. Teac and Sony work well. Avoid mysterious, unmarked generic drives.

The ISA and Mk3 are known to work under Amithlon (at least, I think I remember the ISA card working under Amithlon). The Mk3 and Mk4 work with current versions of WinUAE under Windows. (The ISA might still work with WinUAE as well, but I'm not sure if Toni still has the legacy Catweasel code compiled in.) The Mk3 and Mk4 should also work on any Amiga system that supports m68k OS3 device drivers and OpenPCI.

If you happen to have a working ISA bus on an Amiga, the ISA card might work there, too. I don't know if that's ever actually been tested with the last release of multidisk.device.
Trev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 10:35 AM   #22
Pyromania
Sent from my Quantum PC
Points: 21,996, Level: 92 Points: 21,996, Level: 92 Points: 21,996, Level: 92
Activity: 39% Activity: 39% Activity: 39%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,487
Default Re: How do I install older floppy based software on my new Sam?

@beamer

Understood, the shipping department should have sent you a Aladdin 4D CD-ROM with the package. Sounds like this did not happen. Please send a request with your address for the CD via the link below and shipping will get a CD out to you for free.


http://www.discreetfx.com/contact.html
Pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 11:50 AM   #23
beamer
Merely Curious
Points: 4,426, Level: 42 Points: 4,426, Level: 42 Points: 4,426, Level: 42
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 11
Default Re: How do I install older floppy based software on my new Sam?

@ Methuselas

No apologies needed!

One definition of "ignorant" per merriam-webster.com "lacking knowledge or comprehension of the thing specified"

Thanks for educating me on the Amithlon... good to know.

Looks like I might have a catweasel in my future, will have to write to Jens, Thanks!
__________________
We are not humans having a spiritual experience We are spirits having a human experience
beamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 04:27 PM   #24
beamer
Merely Curious
Points: 4,426, Level: 42 Points: 4,426, Level: 42 Points: 4,426, Level: 42
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 11
Default Re: How do I install older floppy based software on my new Sam?

@ Pyromania

Thanks very much! I have already done as you said, you have been a great help to me!!
__________________
We are not humans having a spiritual experience We are spirits having a human experience
beamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 03:39 PM   #25
Mouse
Hobbyist
Points: 6,024, Level: 50 Points: 6,024, Level: 50 Points: 6,024, Level: 50
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Mouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 68
Send a message via MSN to Mouse
Default Re: How do I install older floppy based software on my new Sam?

Hi there,

I too only received a copy of Aladdin 4D v5 on Floppy, which of course is of no use with my Sam440.

Please would it be possible for you to supply the CD version so that I can install it?

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can give.
Mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
floppy , install , based , sam , software , older

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gallium3D based Software/Hardware 3D Bounty Is Now Open dammy AROS Research Operating System 0 12-31-2007 05:09 AM
A1200 and older external floppy drives? RW222 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 1 10-01-2007 01:32 AM
Amiga 1000 + Dell PC-based "floppy server" on eBay blakespot Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 4 03-13-2007 01:11 PM
Windows-based "net nanny" software - anyone use it? InTheSand CH / Science and Technology 2 02-06-2007 08:45 PM
Amiga-based Art Installation - Looking for Live! software (Invision, etc.) Liber777 Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 11 10-19-2006 10:42 AM