amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:36 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Ľ Amiga.org Ľ Amiga computer related discussion Ľ Amiga community support ideas Ľ How to move AROS forward

Amiga community support ideas This forum is for the open discussion of new thoughts and ideas intended to help the Amiga community. What do we need? What do we want?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2008, 03:13 PM   #141
hardlink
Cult Member
Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silver Springy, MD
Posts: 586
Default Re: How to move AROS forward

Going back to the original post:

Quote:
uncharted wrote:
Start off as simply a bunch of replacement files that goes on top of an OS3.1 install and keep building them up until you have replaced everything. ... Really, it's how AROS should have been done from the start.
I don't follow AROS that closely, but you mean this is not being done for the non-hardware banging code?! GCC should be able to produce both 68K and x86 files; load the 68K on a hardware Amiga in place of the regular library or whatever, test the heck out of it, and if it passes try the other version in AROS.Isn't this rather standard procedure for trying to develop identical functionality on two different platforms?
hardlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 03:18 PM   #142
bloodline
Master Sock Abuser
Points: 39,716, Level: 100 Points: 39,716, Level: 100 Points: 39,716, Level: 100
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
bloodline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 11,968
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: How to move AROS forward

Quote:
hardlink wrote:
Going back to the original post:

Quote:
uncharted wrote:
Start off as simply a bunch of replacement files that goes on top of an OS3.1 install and keep building them up until you have replaced everything. ... Really, it's how AROS should have been done from the start.
I don't follow AROS that closely, but you mean this is not being done for the non-hardware banging code?! GCC should be able to produce both 68K and x86 files; load the 68K on a hardware Amiga in place of the regular library or whatever, test the heck out of it, and if it passes try the other version in AROS.Isn't this rather standard procedure for trying to develop identical functionality on two different platforms?
This is being done... check out AFA by Bernd
__________________
My iPhone Game: Puny Humans -
http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/puny-...362230281?mt=8
bloodline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 03:37 PM   #143
uncharted
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,520
Default Re: How to move AROS forward

Quote:
bloodline wrote:

:-? Quark isn't AmigaOS, it's modern microkenel. It's also proprietory, if we wanted to move the Amiga platform forward I would prefer an opensource solution. L4 is a cool system, but if you really want a MicroKernel, then I would probably choose something like Darwin, which has more real world useage and is being activly developed by comercial interests.
Darwin is not a kernal it is the OS (and XNU is not a strict microkernel)

Sorry, I don't often get the chance to be pedantic these days, have to grab every opportunity ;-)

Quote:
What is the problem with using the Linux Kernel? It's far better supported than L4, I think it was Staf who proposed a minimal Linux with AROS-Hosted on top. You've never know Linux was there and you get all of Linux's Driver support... nice idea really.
Why not go the whole hog and host UAE with 68k AROS on Linux and get full compatibility? That's what I've been trying to propose.
uncharted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 03:41 PM   #144
bloodline
Master Sock Abuser
Points: 39,716, Level: 100 Points: 39,716, Level: 100 Points: 39,716, Level: 100
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
bloodline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 11,968
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: How to move AROS forward

Quote:
uncharted wrote:
Quote:
bloodline wrote:

:-? Quark isn't AmigaOS, it's modern microkenel. It's also proprietory, if we wanted to move the Amiga platform forward I would prefer an opensource solution. L4 is a cool system, but if you really want a MicroKernel, then I would probably choose something like Darwin, which has more real world useage and is being activly developed by comercial interests.
Darwin is not a kernal it is the OS (and XNU is not a strict microkernel)

Sorry, I don't often get the chance to be pedantic these days, have to grab every opportunity ;-)
You are quite right, but I was trying to think of a system that would bring with it Drivers/Hardware support... and yet was still based on a Microkernel (though I realise Mach is now really a hybrid)...

Quote:
Quote:
What is the problem with using the Linux Kernel? It's far better supported than L4, I think it was Staf who proposed a minimal Linux with AROS-Hosted on top. You've never know Linux was there and you get all of Linux's Driver support... nice idea really.
Why not go the whole hog and host UAE with 68k AROS on Linux and get full compatibility? That's what I've been trying to propose.
That's what I think most sensible people would want...
__________________
My iPhone Game: Puny Humans -
http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/puny-...362230281?mt=8
bloodline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 03:47 PM   #145
uncharted
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,520
Default Re: How to move AROS forward

Quote:
bloodline wrote:

This is being done... check out AFA by Bernd
This is not what AFA is doing. AfA only replaces a couple of libs in quite an awkward way. It is not some kind of systematic 68k port.
uncharted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 03:50 PM   #146
bloodline
Master Sock Abuser
Points: 39,716, Level: 100 Points: 39,716, Level: 100 Points: 39,716, Level: 100
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
bloodline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 11,968
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: How to move AROS forward

Quote:
uncharted wrote:
Quote:
bloodline wrote:

This is being done... check out AFA by Bernd
This is not what AFA is doing. AfA only replaces a couple of libs in quite an awkward way. It is not some kind of systematic 68k port.
It's not systematic, but it's achieving the same result... the number of bugs that have been fixed by this method is quite considerable...
__________________
My iPhone Game: Puny Humans -
http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/puny-...362230281?mt=8
bloodline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 10:56 AM   #147
cicero790
Technoid
Points: 5,771, Level: 49 Points: 5,771, Level: 49 Points: 5,771, Level: 49
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 322
Default Re: How to move AROS forward

Hi
I glanced back at my last post here and saw it could come across as rather negative. I think AROS is great and the AROS team has done a fantastic job. I Just wanted to have that said. Also, it was an issue with the first pc not AROS. The second pc I tried the AROS livecd on installed without any problem, so no shadow over AROS.
How is the current situation with the browser?
Is traveler at a standstill?

Zekaric wrote his:
However I found a little something over on the SDL mailing list. If a browser is wanted maybe this will be at least a bare minimum until someone has the time to port over something like FireFox.

http://www.linuxdevices.com/news/NS9883020354.html
http://www.linuxdevices.com/articles/AT5894497943.html

SDL based Web browser. AROS has an SDL port doesn't it? Or at least SDL'll probably be easier to port over than all that window manager stuff that FireFox will need. A thought.
End quote:

Is this the way to do it? My programming skills are not up to date, so I am of no use here.
Is it possible to get a browser going so AROS could be used as the main OS and move from pre-internet state?
__________________
A1200 030 40MHz: 2/32MB Indivision AGA MkII
A600 7 MHz: 2MB
AROS 600 MHz
PC 13600 MHz: quad core i7 2600K 3.4GHz: 16GB RAM: ATI HD6950 2GB (Yes I know)

WINUAE AmiKit ClassicWB AmigaSYS UAE4Droid

cicero790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 12:09 PM   #148
SamuraiCrow
Premium Member
Points: 14,461, Level: 78 Points: 14,461, Level: 78 Points: 14,461, Level: 78
Activity: 38% Activity: 38% Activity: 38%
 
SamuraiCrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,111
Blog Entries: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to SamuraiCrow Send a message via Skype™ to SamuraiCrow
Default Re: How to move AROS forward

The port of SDL to AROS is rather old but it works for some things. Also, Origyn Web Browser has been ported to AmigaOS 3 and 4 but the license isn't listed in the article. The OS 3 port might work on a hefty AROS box if Joerg is required to hand out the source.

As for Wanderer, Rob had some emotional problems to work out so he ducked out of the bounty. The bounty is valid again if you want to take it.
SamuraiCrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 12:28 PM   #149
SamuraiCrow
Premium Member
Points: 14,461, Level: 78 Points: 14,461, Level: 78 Points: 14,461, Level: 78
Activity: 38% Activity: 38% Activity: 38%
 
SamuraiCrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,111
Blog Entries: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to SamuraiCrow Send a message via Skype™ to SamuraiCrow
Default Re: How to move AROS forward

Update: It's BSD Licensed but Joerg said he would post the changes needed to make an OS4 version on the Sand-Labs Subversion server when he's done with the latest version.
SamuraiCrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 04:29 PM   #150
cicero790
Technoid
Points: 5,771, Level: 49 Points: 5,771, Level: 49 Points: 5,771, Level: 49
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 322
Default Re: How to move AROS forward

Oh, it was my programming skills that were insufficient, but Zekaric seems to be a dev. Maybe he could be talked into doing it. He also had some ideas for pawing the road for new devs that havenít been deeply involved with Amiga. And all ideas that lead to more devs and more users sounds good.

AROS is different and different is good.
__________________
A1200 030 40MHz: 2/32MB Indivision AGA MkII
A600 7 MHz: 2MB
AROS 600 MHz
PC 13600 MHz: quad core i7 2600K 3.4GHz: 16GB RAM: ATI HD6950 2GB (Yes I know)

WINUAE AmiKit ClassicWB AmigaSYS UAE4Droid

cicero790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 01:48 AM   #151
paolone
Technoid
Points: 7,424, Level: 57 Points: 7,424, Level: 57 Points: 7,424, Level: 57
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
paolone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 348
Default maybe this can interest some of you...

Just a little news worth mentioning:

http://www.power2people.org/bounty_018.html

M. Schulz, after his successfull SAM440EP port, is porting AROS to the Efika platform too.

paolone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 04:24 PM   #152
cicero790
Technoid
Points: 5,771, Level: 49 Points: 5,771, Level: 49 Points: 5,771, Level: 49
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 322
Default Re: maybe this can interest some of you...

That's terrific news, terrific work. The more platforms its on the better.

And I also really hope a talented dev picks up the browser bounty or just do it for the greater good.

I'll be waiting anxiously for ditching Windows on the home pc.
__________________
A1200 030 40MHz: 2/32MB Indivision AGA MkII
A600 7 MHz: 2MB
AROS 600 MHz
PC 13600 MHz: quad core i7 2600K 3.4GHz: 16GB RAM: ATI HD6950 2GB (Yes I know)

WINUAE AmiKit ClassicWB AmigaSYS UAE4Droid

cicero790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 04:37 PM   #153
bloodline
Master Sock Abuser
Points: 39,716, Level: 100 Points: 39,716, Level: 100 Points: 39,716, Level: 100
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
bloodline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 11,968
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: maybe this can interest some of you...

Quote:
paolone wrote:
Just a little news worth mentioning:

http://www.power2people.org/bounty_018.html

M. Schulz, after his successfull SAM440EP port, is porting AROS to the Efika platform too.
Ahh, so it won't be long before Moto has a decent OS to run on his Lego monstrosity? ;-)

Ok then, two decent OSs... :roll:
__________________
My iPhone Game: Puny Humans -
http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/puny-...362230281?mt=8
bloodline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 05:55 AM   #154
uncharted
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,520
Default Re: maybe this can interest some of you...

I've been away all week, so I was really excited when I saw this news item:

VmwAROS to support 68K applications

I skipped the description and went straight to the good stuff on the video page. It was interesting, but not what it said on the tin. A start, nevertheless.

Remembering this thread, my favourite part of the video page is...

Quote:
Obviously, this is not the "UAE integration" many AROS users are aiming to, since it needs the original Amiga ROM and system files to work
Even if Rich had of completed the UAE bounty, it still would have needed AmigaOS system files and Kickstart Images. The first part of the Kickstart bounty is due tomorrow. It will be interesting to see if that has got anywhere.

When will you guys actually realise that a 68k port of AROS isn't some guy {bleep}ing about what he wants, but an actual requirement? It's not a good thing for an open source OS to require a closed source OS to be able to run 95%+ of the software library. :roll: Even super-duper-mega-Linux-AROS is going to need 68k port to be able to run legacy stuff (which lets face it is what the majority of the people that are going to take any notice of an Amiga-like are going to want).

I got such a kicking from the AROS community for this thread, but at every opportunity I've been proven right. The 'split' that everyone was pissing their pants about has happened anyway, and time and time again it has been shown that a 68k port is vital.
uncharted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 06:39 AM   #155
A1260
Cult Member
Points: 7,387, Level: 57 Points: 7,387, Level: 57 Points: 7,387, Level: 57
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
A1260's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 687
Default Re: maybe this can interest some of you...

the split is because there was to many morphos users on the aros team, the team lost amiga coders, focus on a logo and cartoon mascot become more important than code. in the end it become difficult to stay on the right path. someone wanted aros to run on eifka, others wanted a more modern amiga lookalike os called analbus, then it all fell apart. the main goal the x86 and 68k uae integration was forgotten. as i see it now aros is pretty much dead and will not go anywhere, becouse of the split there simply aint enough coders that have any intressted anymore, sad but true.

A1260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 07:00 AM   #156
uncharted
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,520
Default Re: maybe this can interest some of you...

Nice flamebait A1260.
uncharted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 07:18 AM   #157
bloodline
Master Sock Abuser
Points: 39,716, Level: 100 Points: 39,716, Level: 100 Points: 39,716, Level: 100
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
bloodline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 11,968
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: maybe this can interest some of you...

@A1260

Aros has only lost two coders to Anubis, one of whom worked on some AROS apps a while back and the other who was planning to leave the project anyway... Now at least these guys will stay in the community...

Aros is still going strong, activity on the Dev list has rarely been higher... Get a clue before you post.
__________________
My iPhone Game: Puny Humans -
http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/puny-...362230281?mt=8
bloodline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 07:25 AM   #158
cicero790
Technoid
Points: 5,771, Level: 49 Points: 5,771, Level: 49 Points: 5,771, Level: 49
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 322
Default Re: maybe this can interest some of you...

I donít think this split will damage AROS, it will only future prof the Amiga as a whole. AROS donít move forward, it kind of sprints forward. I highly anticipate the next vmwaros for there seems to be a lot of goodies for both devs and users in the next version.
__________________
A1200 030 40MHz: 2/32MB Indivision AGA MkII
A600 7 MHz: 2MB
AROS 600 MHz
PC 13600 MHz: quad core i7 2600K 3.4GHz: 16GB RAM: ATI HD6950 2GB (Yes I know)

WINUAE AmiKit ClassicWB AmigaSYS UAE4Droid

cicero790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
aros , move , forward

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Of FPGAs and the way forward SamuraiCrow General chat about Amiga topics 33 08-13-2008 09:01 PM
Looking Forward to 1993 scuzzb494 General chat about Amiga topics 4 04-07-2008 11:51 PM
Linux: The way forward? stefcep2 Alternative Operating Systems 2 02-02-2008 03:08 AM
Look forward to any new Amy news Reactioned General chat about Amiga topics 12 08-21-2006 05:15 PM
Fast Forward to Jail FluffyMcDeath CH / Entertainment 14 11-26-2004 05:56 PM