amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:30 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion » My 4000 just died - help!

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2008, 02:49 AM   #21
chiark
Technoid
Points: 6,424, Level: 52 Points: 6,424, Level: 52 Points: 6,424, Level: 52
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 304
Default Re: My 4000 just died - help!

Just a quick update.

I stripped, cleaned, and inspected the motherboard and cpu card yesterday. It all looks fine, no signs of scarring or distressed chips that have given up their magic smoke.

Checked all fuses. Unfortunately they're all good :-(

Tried again, and now I get random coloured screens on power up - sometimes it'll go from white to grey, or sometimes salmon pink to purple, or ... basically completely random and not telling me anything about the state of the boot process.

I've ordered an ATX PSU converter cable: if I do borrow anyone's hardware, I want to make very, very sure that the power it's getting from the PSU is clean. This also eliminates one unknown from the equation.

The screen colours confuses the hell out of me. I know the amiga boot process, and can't think why it might be doing what it's doing. Well, other than it's fundamentally very confused :-D
chiark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 04:06 AM   #22
Oli_hd
Cult Member
Points: 10,841, Level: 68 Points: 10,841, Level: 68 Points: 10,841, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: London/UK
Posts: 911
Default Re: My 4000 just died - help!

Quote:
Tried again, and now I get <snip> basically completely random and not telling me anything about the state of the boot process.
Sounds like memory problems.
Check you put the 2meg chipram simm back in the right slot, clean the contacts on the memory simm too.
Remove any extra memory and try again.

There are other reasons for such behavour though, those aluminium capacitors can leak and cause the same trouble and it seems to be happening to a lot of A4000's last year. (A few years ago I didnt hear of a single report) so it may be worth probing the silver capacitors with a multimeter to see if they are reading roughly correct, I hear the ones around the RTC can specifically cause error colours on switch-on.

Its a good sign you got it to attempt to load the kickstart though, that means the chips are all working ok, or at least they are alive.
Oli_hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 04:30 AM   #23
chiark
Technoid
Points: 6,424, Level: 52 Points: 6,424, Level: 52 Points: 6,424, Level: 52
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 304
Default Re: My 4000 just died - help!

That's great news that it means something is working - I was mortified I'd killed it stone dead by shorting 12v to 5v somehow!

Yup, the only memory on the board is the 2MB chip ram in the chip ram slot.

Next steps then are to utterly, utterly clean the simms and cpu connectors, and to cross fingers!

The battery / rtc is long dead. I am wondering if the battery leak has damaged the machine to the point of non-booting... However, that short noise makes me thing that it's something else.
chiark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 04:32 AM   #24
tokyoracer
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,135, Level: 69 Points: 11,135, Level: 69 Points: 11,135, Level: 69
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
tokyoracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,590
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: My 4000 just died - help!

Owning an Amiga these days seems to be like owning a classic car. Parts are running out and they are getting older so we need to keep as many alive as possible, specially the 1000 series. I'm currently "shareing the experiance" as I have given 2 Amigas to friends already so they can understand how special they really are.
tokyoracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 04:53 AM   #25
chiark
Technoid
Points: 6,424, Level: 52 Points: 6,424, Level: 52 Points: 6,424, Level: 52
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 304
Default Re: My 4000 just died - help!

My 1000 is working fine , as is the 500. The 2000 is a little bit sick in some way as the video output is smeared.

The 3000 is long dead.

The 4000 is potentially coming back to life after being full of beans just 38 hours ago!
chiark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 03:40 PM   #26
chiark
Technoid
Points: 6,424, Level: 52 Points: 6,424, Level: 52 Points: 6,424, Level: 52
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 304
Default Re: My 4000 just died - help!

Well, stranger and stranger.

I get the random colours with *nothing* plugged in. no memory, no CPU card. Plugging in the CPU and memory makes no difference.

I've tried different kickstart ROMs.

I think the motherboard is dead. Sniff.

chiark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 03:56 PM   #27
JuvUK
Technoid
Points: 7,922, Level: 59 Points: 7,922, Level: 59 Points: 7,922, Level: 59
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
JuvUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cheltenham
Posts: 243
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: My 4000 just died - help!

hi,
there is a guy in the UK called Paul Willingham, he is a top, top bloke and really helpful, he just got my A4000 up and running for me (completely dead just a black screen) he also did the dreaded battery replacement and sorted out a load of problems for me, and he was incredably cheap, so cheap in fact that i paid him extra just to ease my conscience. would you like me to put you in touch with him?
best regards, Justin
JuvUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 01:31 AM   #28
chiark
Technoid
Points: 6,424, Level: 52 Points: 6,424, Level: 52 Points: 6,424, Level: 52
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 304
Default Re: My 4000 just died - help!

Yes please! That would be great.

I'm pretty much convinced after inspecting the PSU and everything that it's the motherboard that's gone. I don't have the skills to take it any lower level than that
chiark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 11:18 AM   #29
JuvUK
Technoid
Points: 7,922, Level: 59 Points: 7,922, Level: 59 Points: 7,922, Level: 59
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
JuvUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cheltenham
Posts: 243
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: My 4000 just died - help!

No problem mate, i've just send to a PM, good luck ;o)
Justin
JuvUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 03:50 AM   #30
chiark
Technoid
Points: 6,424, Level: 52 Points: 6,424, Level: 52 Points: 6,424, Level: 52
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 304
Default Re: My 4000 just died - help!

Well, Paul's guess from the symptoms was spot on, unfortunately

I got a 3640 for a great price... And the 4000 lives again!

The WarpEngine is dead. :-o

Anyone know a repairer?
chiark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 04:02 AM   #31
Kin-Hell
Cult Member
Points: 7,665, Level: 58 Points: 7,665, Level: 58 Points: 7,665, Level: 58
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Kin-Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cornwall - U.K
Posts: 615
Default Re: My 4000 just died - help!

Quote:
chiark wrote:
Well, Paul's guess from the symptoms was spot on, unfortunately

I got a 3640 for a great price... And the 4000 lives again!

The WarpEngine is dead. :-o

Anyone know a repairer?
Yeah. JJB @ Amiga France! ;-)
__________________
Kin-Hell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 11:23 AM   #32
JuvUK
Technoid
Points: 7,922, Level: 59 Points: 7,922, Level: 59 Points: 7,922, Level: 59
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
JuvUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cheltenham
Posts: 243
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: My 4000 just died - help!

well i'm glad Paul helped ;o)
told you he's a top bloke! lol
JuvUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 02:31 PM   #33
rkauer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: São Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
Posts: 3,263
Send a message via MSN to rkauer
Default Re: My 4000 just died - help!

IIRC, any Amiga puts the information of GURU and booting process thru serial port.

Just one thing is needed: hook a null-modem cable to it and connect the other end in another Amiga's serial port.

Type (in CLI in the working Amiga):

type SER: >RAM:bootup.txt

Then start the faulty Amiga, wait for a while, unpower it and read the bootup.txt archive in RAM: on the working one.

I could be wrong, but this worth a try.
__________________
Goodbye people.

I'll pop on from time to time, RL is acting up.
rkauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
4000 , died

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has my A3000 died? Gwion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 32 06-09-2008 12:41 AM
A4000d Died scuzzb494 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 14 02-18-2007 07:02 AM
parnet died orange Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 6 09-27-2004 11:53 AM
Monitor died... what now? textory Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 6 08-06-2004 12:09 PM
My A4000 has died Aniway Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5 09-18-2003 10:53 PM