amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:55 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Converting a NTSC 1200 to PAL

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2007, 11:51 AM   #21
James
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,202, Level: 28 Points: 2,202, Level: 28 Points: 2,202, Level: 28
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: Converting a NTSC 1200 to PAL

@leirbag28
How about you let people decide what they do with the machines they've bought for themselves?

Quote:
At leasst those of us who use Amigas for Video....................thats the main diference I think between UK Amigan and US Amigans............they want it for games........we want it for Video and Video compatibility. such as Genlocks, SCALA, Video Toaster.
You're full of {bleep}. Nice stereotypical redneck behaviour there. "We yanks rock, you euros are just kids" I wish there was an ocean between my country and yours.

Just for you, I'm going to photograph every step of me modding my amigas for PAL.
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 12:43 PM   #22
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: Converting a NTSC 1200 to PAL

Quote:
adolescent wrote:
When you switch by changing Alice (or Agnus, etc.) and don't change the motherboard crystals you end up with NTSC-50Hz (or PAL-60Hz if it's a PAL model). For example, on my 1% TV I get a signal, but no color if I use a PAL Amiga.
The crystal swap is needed to reach the exact clock you need for genlocking, connecting an A2024 etc. To get proper (enough) composite - whatever that's worth :-P - you need to exchange the modulator and (NTSC -> PAL) add the missing components for the PAL color clock.
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 01:57 PM   #23
adolescent
Desperately needs a life
Points: 13,811, Level: 76 Points: 13,811, Level: 76 Points: 13,811, Level: 76
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
adolescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,056
Default Re: Converting a NTSC 1200 to PAL

@Zac

Thank you for the correction. You're of course right. I've never been willing to bother, it's just easier to find a PAL Amiga.
__________________
Time to move on. Bye Amiga.org.
adolescent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 02:30 PM   #24
adolescent
Desperately needs a life
Points: 13,811, Level: 76 Points: 13,811, Level: 76 Points: 13,811, Level: 76
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
adolescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,056
Default Re: Converting a NTSC 1200 to PAL

Quote:
James wrote:

You're full of {bleep}. Nice stereotypical redneck behaviour there. "We yanks rock, you euros are just kids" I wish there was an ocean between my country and yours.

Just for you, I'm going to photograph every step of me modding my amigas for PAL.
Lay off the meds there James (or maybe increase the dosage). Everyone is entitled to his/her opinion. Or, did you miss the "I think" part of his message.
__________________
Time to move on. Bye Amiga.org.
adolescent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 02:43 PM   #25
da9000
Cult Member
Points: 6,500, Level: 52 Points: 6,500, Level: 52 Points: 6,500, Level: 52
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
da9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 922
Default Re: Converting a NTSC 1200 to PAL

Quote:
adolescent wrote:
I must be having a lot of that 1% then. None of my TVs fully support PAL modes. The 10Hz isn't the complete story, as the NTSC and PAL color encoding is different. When you switch by changing Alice (or Agnus, etc.) and don't change the motherboard crystals you end up with NTSC-50Hz (or PAL-60Hz if it's a PAL model). For example, on my 1% TV I get a signal, but no color if I use a PAL Amiga.
Because you're right, it's not just a 10Hz thing, but the actual encoding of the chroma and luma info is different in PAL vs NTSC.

Edit: Zac explained it better.

To all:

There are two "types" of NTSC->PAL (or the reverse) which you can (or better: LIKE TO) do:

1) Convert an NTSC Amiga to PAL so you use the _RGB port_. This is the easiest, since you do the Alice hack and voila the RGB port will spit out a 50Hz vertical refresh screen (PAL). I believe the sound will be off with this unless you change the crystals. Could someone verify?

2) Convert an NTSC Amiga to PAL so you can use the _RF/composite port_. This is harder since there's lots more work involved since you'll have to do the Alice hack and replace the modulator (read Zac's comments for details). It's also the more correct approach because you'll be able to use genlocks etc.

Most people will probably want to do the 1st.
da9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
1200 , converting , pal , ntsc

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wtb: ntsc 1200 amiga 23703jim Amiga Marketplace 0 06-21-2006 08:01 AM
Converting PAL Amiga500 to NTSC justinr12 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 10 05-04-2006 01:35 PM
Converting a PAL A1200 to NTSC rlfmendes Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2 01-09-2006 01:56 PM
Converting a PAL A520 to NTSC nagaflas Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 4 01-09-2006 10:56 AM
Amiga 1200 PAL <--> NTSC w00p Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 22 09-18-2004 01:02 AM