amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:12 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Software Issues and Discussion Making Backup copies of software

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2006, 11:26 AM   #1
BGary335
Technoid
Points: 2,751, Level: 32 Points: 2,751, Level: 32 Points: 2,751, Level: 32
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 208
Default Making Backup copies of software

This is probably a real easy question-I just want to know how to make duplicate copies of my Amiga programs for backup purposes. It's been quite some time since I've done it and I've plumb forgoteen how! Thanks in advance for your help!
BGary335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 01:10 PM   #2
Amiduffer
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,424, Level: 80 Points: 15,424, Level: 80 Points: 15,424, Level: 80
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Amiduffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles CA area
Posts: 1,594
Default Re: Making Backup copies of software

Easy way, if you have two disk drives.

Put original disk in DF0: make sure its write protected

Put blank disk in DF1:

drag the DF0: icon on top of DF1: icon.

or, open DF0: and drag whatever files you have there into the DF1: disk.

With only one disk drive

Click once on df0: go to menu and choose copy, it'll copy the info to ram: and then ask you to put a blank disk in df0:

edit: oh, and heres a few copy programs aminet search
__________________
Amiga 3000D UP and running! Hear that clicking. 8)
Amiga 3000D & 4000D in storage sadly.
Amiduffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 01:21 PM   #3
BGary335
Technoid
Points: 2,751, Level: 32 Points: 2,751, Level: 32 Points: 2,751, Level: 32
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 208
Default Re: Making Backup copies of software

Ah, the two drive method is the one I was looking for. Thanks for your help! :-)
BGary335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 01:31 PM   #4
Tomas
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,331, Level: 75 Points: 13,331, Level: 75 Points: 13,331, Level: 75
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,828
Default Re: Making Backup copies of software

The best way would be to use a disk copy program like xcopy or similar. There is also a disc copy program included in amigaos, but this one will only handle amigaos friendly software/games.
Tomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 02:33 PM   #5
BGary335
Technoid
Points: 2,751, Level: 32 Points: 2,751, Level: 32 Points: 2,751, Level: 32
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 208
Default Re: Making Backup copies of software

I've got another question: After I finish copying a disk, I try to go into it to make sure everything is there but I am unable to access the disk and at the top of the Workbench screen it says the icons have no default tool. What does this mean? Am I missing a step somewhere?
BGary335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 03:05 PM   #6
AmiDude
Cult Member
Points: 9,301, Level: 64 Points: 9,301, Level: 64 Points: 9,301, Level: 64
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
AmiDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 820
Default Re: Making Backup copies of software

The best copy program for classic Amiga's:

DCopy3.1

AmiDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 03:51 PM   #7
Amiduffer
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,424, Level: 80 Points: 15,424, Level: 80 Points: 15,424, Level: 80
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Amiduffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles CA area
Posts: 1,594
Default Re: Making Backup copies of software

How weird. Is it a properly formated floppy? You can format it from the WB. Click once on the floppy, and in the Icon menu is the format command, and do a full format. Then it should work fine in your Ami.
__________________
Amiga 3000D UP and running! Hear that clicking. 8)
Amiga 3000D & 4000D in storage sadly.
Amiduffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 04:18 PM   #8
BGary335
Technoid
Points: 2,751, Level: 32 Points: 2,751, Level: 32 Points: 2,751, Level: 32
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 208
Default Re: Making Backup copies of software

Tried a different disk and everything went ok this time. I guess the first disk I tried to use must have been no good.
BGary335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
copies , making , software , backup

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAKING BACKUP COPIES USING MAVERICK VERSION 5 Jburg96 Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 6 01-20-2009 04:35 PM
Making a Backup of a Floppy the-topdog Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 12 06-13-2008 10:35 AM
copies of copy written software on ebay amiga92570 Amiga Marketplace 14 03-15-2007 06:56 AM
Making Backup copies of copy protected games RobinGodd Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 8 06-13-2006 06:44 AM
Backup software AMIGAZ Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 1 01-16-2005 06:28 AM