amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:49 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics Powerbook 1400+MkLinux+uae=Low end Amiga?

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2006, 10:30 PM   #1
nagaflas
Too much caffeine
Points: 4,693, Level: 43 Points: 4,693, Level: 43 Points: 4,693, Level: 43
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
nagaflas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Memphis, Tennessee USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to nagaflas
Default Powerbook 1400+MkLinux+uae=Low end Amiga?

I am currently trying to install MkLinux (or one of the BSDs) on an old, mint condition Powerbook 1400 for the main purpose of running UAE on it. I am installing just enough OS on the machine to run UAE; no fancy mail systems or server software.

My question: has anyone here run UAE in a Un*x enviornment? If so, what was the speed like? Since my Powerbook is a 603e (I am debating on whether or not to invest in a G3 add-on, but if this does not work, I probably will), OS 8.6 is about as much as it can handle. I ran MacUAE under System 7.6, but it was still pretty slow.

Thanx in advance for any advice.
nagaflas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2006, 11:41 PM   #2
adolescent
Desperately needs a life
Points: 13,811, Level: 76 Points: 13,811, Level: 76 Points: 13,811, Level: 76
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
adolescent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,056
Default Re: Powerbook 1400+MkLinux+uae=Low end Amiga?

It's going to be slow (read: unusable).
__________________
Time to move on. Bye Amiga.org.
adolescent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 12:50 AM   #3
Piru
Banned
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: Powerbook 1400+MkLinux+uae=Low end Amiga?

Agreed, it will be unusable. It won't be able to emulate A500.
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 02:35 AM   #4
Oliver
Cult Member
Points: 5,656, Level: 48 Points: 5,656, Level: 48 Points: 5,656, Level: 48
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 803
Default Re: Powerbook 1400+MkLinux+uae=Low end Amiga?

You might be better off buying a second hand PC notebook rather than that G3 card. Also, might be better with win98 and winuae.
Oliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
uaelow , powerbook , mklinux , end , amiga , 1400

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTT: PowerBook 3400c For Amiga 1200, 2000 in Los Angeles? tregas Amiga Marketplace 0 09-01-2007 10:44 PM
PowerBook 1400 wont turn-on any HELP??? :-? Gwion Alternative Operating Systems 6 03-14-2007 10:35 AM
E-UAE on G4 1gHz Powerbook HELP! amigadave Amiga Emulation 10 01-06-2007 02:38 PM
*Have* a G3 Powerbook... odin CH / General 30 08-11-2005 07:45 AM
I got my PowerBook!!! Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 14 03-25-2003 02:25 AM