amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:03 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion I recently picked up a scary monitor. Will my A500 work with it?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2006, 08:33 PM   #1
Generale
Technoid
Points: 4,205, Level: 41 Points: 4,205, Level: 41 Points: 4,205, Level: 41
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 233
Send a message via ICQ to Generale Send a message via MSN to Generale Send a message via Yahoo to Generale
Default I recently picked up a scary monitor. Will my A500 work with it?

G'day everyone. It's been a looong time since I posted here. I still haven't even got my poor A500 set up since the last move!

Anyway to the point.

Recently I picked up a KTX 19UE monitor. It's my current monitor for the PC.

This monitor is special because it has the whole onscreen display stuff, refresh rate detection/info etc. It also has seperate RGB,HSYNC&VSYNC RCA connectors on the back along with
the hd15 connector. The inputs can be switched by a button on the front.

I haven't found any useful information for this unit on the web. Has anyone else encountered it? And if they have, will it work?

I'm asking before I try because it would mean me excavating a lot of bits and pieces from different places then making a cable.

So if it's a 'yes' then yay for me! I'll dig everything up.

If it's a 'maybe' or a 'no', then I'll probably still dig everything up, but it'll take a lot longer.

I haven't even got any of my trusty C64s set up right now. What's wrong with me!
__________________
A500 (salvo): 1Mb RAM (512k chip, 512k SlowFast)
1x880k Floppy Disk, 1xIBM 540Mb 3.5\"HDD KS1.3, WB1.3
1084S monitor. AT Keyboard!
A500 (Whitey): 512k RAM, 1x880k Floppy Disk, KS1.2, WB1.3
Generale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 09:43 PM   #2
InTheSand
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
InTheSand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nelson, NZ
Posts: 1,766
Default Re: I recently picked up a scary monitor. Will my A500 work with it?

Hi,

I can't find any info on that monitor either, other than a post saying that it doesn't work with the Playstation 2 version of Linux!

I hate to be a pessimist, but it's quite possible that this monitor won't sync low enough for the Amiga's 15KHz screenmodes...

- Ali
InTheSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 11:36 PM   #3
Generale
Technoid
Points: 4,205, Level: 41 Points: 4,205, Level: 41 Points: 4,205, Level: 41
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 233
Send a message via ICQ to Generale Send a message via MSN to Generale Send a message via Yahoo to Generale
Default Re: I recently picked up a scary monitor. Will my A500 work with it?

I managed to find enough to power it up.

The sync was out of range. Oh well. At least I tried.
__________________
A500 (salvo): 1Mb RAM (512k chip, 512k SlowFast)
1x880k Floppy Disk, 1xIBM 540Mb 3.5\"HDD KS1.3, WB1.3
1084S monitor. AT Keyboard!
A500 (Whitey): 512k RAM, 1x880k Floppy Disk, KS1.2, WB1.3
Generale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
work , a500 , scary , recently , picked , monitor

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
just picked up some amiga items.. what are they and why dont they work! Derf General chat about Amiga topics 20 02-20-2009 04:36 PM
2002 monitor work on C128? sprocket General chat about Amiga topics 3 10-20-2007 06:37 AM
A500 doesn't work with RAM expansion... HELP zonaps2 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5 08-05-2007 12:13 PM
Will a 2.04 Rom work in a rev 5 A500? zx6r6 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 9 07-12-2005 03:27 AM
1084 Monitor doesn't work with RGB. Composite works fine Antiriad Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 1 01-07-2005 11:50 PM