amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:46 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion X1000 xmos

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2012, 07:26 PM   #1
tabbybasco
Beginner
Points: 3,244, Level: 35 Points: 3,244, Level: 35 Points: 3,244, Level: 35
Activity: 30% Activity: 30% Activity: 30%
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to tabbybasco Send a message via MSN to tabbybasco Send a message via Yahoo to tabbybasco
Default X1000 xmos

The Minimeg uses Field Programmable Logic Arrays to emulate The Classic Amiga chip set in hardware. One of the things that has fascinated me about the X1000 is the XMOS chip and the ability to add XMOS chips to it through the Xorro bus and the possibility to use the XMOS technology to also emulate the Custom Chip Set in hardware. This would vastly improve performance of the X1000 while running Classic Amiga Software especially some games that bang the metal.
tabbybasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 08:40 PM   #2
Kesa
Ninja Fruit Slasher
Points: 13,700, Level: 76 Points: 13,700, Level: 76 Points: 13,700, Level: 76
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Kesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Princess Castle
Posts: 2,387
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Hmmmmm... interesting concept

Although I wouldn't suggest using the Xena for emulation to Trevor Dick. He will have your head!
__________________
Even my cat doesn't like me.
Kesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 08:49 PM   #3
bbond007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
bbond007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kesa View Post
He will have your head!
I did not realize wielded that kind of power....

That kind of power and he can't keep his forum accounts locked down?

What, me worry?


Off to hack Trev's email account... Whose head goes on the chopping block? Did somebody say McBill?

Last edited by bbond007; 01-25-2012 at 08:51 PM..
bbond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 09:08 PM   #4
Kesa
Ninja Fruit Slasher
Points: 13,700, Level: 76 Points: 13,700, Level: 76 Points: 13,700, Level: 76
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Kesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Princess Castle
Posts: 2,387
Blog Entries: 4
Lightbulb Re: X1000 xmos

You idiot. SHE will have your head!

__________________
Even my cat doesn't like me.
Kesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 09:27 PM   #5
bbond007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
bbond007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kesa View Post
You idiot. SHE will have your head!

He she what? I'm the idiot? have another beer.... you're not making sense yet...

Last edited by bbond007; 01-25-2012 at 09:33 PM..
bbond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 09:44 PM   #6
Kesa
Ninja Fruit Slasher
Points: 13,700, Level: 76 Points: 13,700, Level: 76 Points: 13,700, Level: 76
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Kesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Princess Castle
Posts: 2,387
Blog Entries: 4
Lightbulb Re: X1000 xmos

XMOS is code named Xena. You obviously didn't see the double meaning (punchline) so i will explain it to you. Trevor is in charge of the X1000 which Xena is attached to so he has control over Xena. So yes he will have your head but she will do it for him. You really didn't get that?

Besides Amiga custom chips are traditionally named after female names.
__________________
Even my cat doesn't like me.
Kesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 09:10 PM   #7
takemehomegrandma
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 20,000, Level: 89 Points: 20,000, Level: 89 Points: 20,000, Level: 89
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
takemehomegrandma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,918
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by tabbybasco View Post
The Minimeg uses Field Programmable Logic Arrays to emulate The Classic Amiga chip set in hardware. One of the things that has fascinated me about the X1000 is the XMOS chip and the ability to add XMOS chips to it through the Xorro bus and the possibility to use the XMOS technology to also emulate the Custom Chip Set in hardware. This would vastly improve performance of the X1000 while running Classic Amiga Software especially some games that bang the metal.
Oh! My! God!

__________________
MorphOS is Amiga done right!
takemehomegrandma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 11:06 PM   #8
Piru
' union select name,pwd--
Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100 Points: 30,457, Level: 100
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
Piru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 6,946
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by tabbybasco View Post
The Minimeg uses Field Programmable Logic Arrays to emulate The Classic Amiga chip set in hardware. One of the things that has fascinated me about the X1000 is the XMOS chip and the ability to add XMOS chips to it through the Xorro bus and the possibility to use the XMOS technology to also emulate the Custom Chip Set in hardware.
The XMOS chip included is totally unsuitable for emulation. The chip has nothing to do with FPGA.
Piru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 11:43 PM   #9
bbond007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67 Points: 10,304, Level: 67
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
bbond007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,384
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
The XMOS chip included is totally unsuitable for emulation. The chip has nothing to do with FPGA.
Piru

All I hear about XMOS is what it is unsuitable for...

What CAN it do? Please tell me that it can create a cool plasma effect or something...
bbond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 11:54 PM   #10
Kesa
Ninja Fruit Slasher
Points: 13,700, Level: 76 Points: 13,700, Level: 76 Points: 13,700, Level: 76
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Kesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Princess Castle
Posts: 2,387
Blog Entries: 4
Lightbulb Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post
I always thought it was a woman in a dressing-gown having a meltdown.
Actually it reminds me of Jesus Christ for some reason. Maybe Moses...

It also reminds me of IK+ for some reason.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbond007 View Post
Piru

All I hear about XMOS is what it is unsuitable for...

What CAN it do? Please tell me that it can create a cool plasma effect or something...
I second this. C'mon Piru, let's see if you are as smart as you claim to be.
__________________
Even my cat doesn't like me.
Kesa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 11:55 PM   #11
Britelite
Technoid
Points: 8,239, Level: 61 Points: 8,239, Level: 61 Points: 8,239, Level: 61
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Espoo, Finland
Posts: 165
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbond007 View Post
What CAN it do? Please tell me that it can create a cool plasma effect or something...
It could probably pull off a cool plasma, but then again, so can the vic20 (and every other machine ever made)
Britelite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 02:30 AM   #12
tabbybasco
Beginner
Points: 3,244, Level: 35 Points: 3,244, Level: 35 Points: 3,244, Level: 35
Activity: 30% Activity: 30% Activity: 30%
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to tabbybasco Send a message via MSN to tabbybasco Send a message via Yahoo to tabbybasco
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Actually, Xena, the Warrior Princess is a lesbian. The blonde chick who is her "companion" became her lover in latter episodes. Sorry to bust your wet dream bubbles boys.

But Trever and his merry men build the hardware, it's up to us how we use it. The beauty of programmable hardware is it can basically do whatever you want it to within it's capability. It really started out with PLA or Programmable Logic Arrays to simulate chip designs before they are sent to manufacturing. So...what we do with his hardware is none of Trever's business. Okk...get your minds out of the gutter.
tabbybasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 03:27 AM   #13
Daedalus
Cult Member
Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64 Points: 9,252, Level: 64
Activity: 22% Activity: 22% Activity: 22%
 
Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 880
Send a message via ICQ to Daedalus Send a message via MSN to Daedalus
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by tabbybasco View Post
Actually, Xena, the Warrior Princess is a lesbian. The blonde chick who is her "companion" became her lover in latter episodes. Sorry to bust your wet dream bubbles boys.
That ruins absolutely *nothing* for me I have to say... In fact, it probably has the opposite effect!

Quote:
But Trever and his merry men build the hardware, it's up to us how we use it. The beauty of programmable hardware is it can basically do whatever you want it to within it's capability. It really started out with PLA or Programmable Logic Arrays to simulate chip designs before they are sent to manufacturing. So...what we do with his hardware is none of Trever's business. Okk...get your minds out of the gutter.
As Piru said, the design of the Xena isn't suited to traditional computing ideas like chipset emulation. It might be possible, but you'd be much better off with an FPGA on a PCI card. What it's really about is real-time I/O. I'm sure someone will come up with some interesting uses, but using it as a traditional co-processor isn't really gonna happen.
__________________
Engineers do it with precision
--
http://www.robthenerd.com
Daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 12:29 AM   #14
Mazze
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,449, Level: 47 Points: 5,449, Level: 47 Points: 5,449, Level: 47
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Mazze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lohr, Germany
Posts: 123
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbond007 View Post
Piru

All I hear about XMOS is what it is unsuitable for...

What CAN it do? Please tell me that it can create a cool plasma effect or something...
It can drive the ventilators of the board. Hot air powered by Amiga
__________________
AROS - Make Code, Not War
Mazze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 04:02 AM   #15
takemehomegrandma
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 20,000, Level: 89 Points: 20,000, Level: 89 Points: 20,000, Level: 89
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
takemehomegrandma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,918
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mazze View Post
It can drive the ventilators of the board. Hot air powered by Amiga
Vapor! Brilliant!
__________________
MorphOS is Amiga done right!
takemehomegrandma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 05:04 AM   #16
Tripitaka
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,922, Level: 66 Points: 9,922, Level: 66 Points: 9,922, Level: 66
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Tripitaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,288
Default Re: X1000 xmos

http://www.xmos.com/applications

...sadly not as exciting as a big ass FPGA IMHO, but then a clockport was once just a clockport, now it's a very useful expansion option.
__________________
Falling into a dark and red rage.
Tripitaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 04:01 AM   #17
takemehomegrandma
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 20,000, Level: 89 Points: 20,000, Level: 89 Points: 20,000, Level: 89
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
takemehomegrandma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,918
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbond007 View Post
Piru

All I hear about XMOS is what it is unsuitable for...

What CAN it do?
Ask the X1000 board developers/manufacturers! Why did they put it there, what will they use it for? It must have some kind of point, there must be some kind of reason, right...?
__________________
MorphOS is Amiga done right!
takemehomegrandma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:37 AM   #18
zylesea
Cult Member
Points: 7,981, Level: 60 Points: 7,981, Level: 60 Points: 7,981, Level: 60
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
zylesea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bielefed, F.R.Germany
Posts: 565
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbond007 View Post
What CAN it do? Please tell me that it can create a cool plasma effect or something...
Throwing precisely timed interrupts and control a little digital I/O.

Last edited by zylesea; 01-28-2012 at 11:48 AM..
zylesea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 12:00 PM   #19
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,618, Level: 100 Points: 50,618, Level: 100 Points: 50,618, Level: 100
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,667
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbond007 View Post
What CAN it do? Please tell me that it can create a cool plasma effect or something...
If I had to guess, I'd suggest that perhaps the intended purpose of the XMOS chip is to allow the signal specification for the "xorro" slot to be customised from software. A customisable geek port that you can rewire using code, maybe?
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB

Last edited by Karlos; 01-28-2012 at 12:04 PM..
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 12:07 PM   #20
takemehomegrandma
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 20,000, Level: 89 Points: 20,000, Level: 89 Points: 20,000, Level: 89
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
takemehomegrandma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,918
Default Re: X1000 xmos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
If I had to guess, I'd suggest that perhaps the intended purpose of the XMOS chip is to allow the signal specification for the "xorro" slot to be customised from software. A customisable geek port that you can rewire using code, maybe?
I agree.

But who will do it? I mean designing and manufacturing the custom PCB-things...? And for what purose that couldn't be done by existing USB/PCI devides?
__________________
MorphOS is Amiga done right!
takemehomegrandma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
circlejerk , x1000 , xmos

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump