amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion FPGA Replay Board

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2010, 01:44 AM   #1
espskog
Technoid
Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75 Points: 13,617, Level: 75
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 210
Default FPGA Replay Board

Hello to Mike J and Yaqube.

I know you guys are probably swamped in work and out shopping mega-pacs of fireworks already, but could you see if you could publish images or youtube clips of the Replay board itself and when operating and maybe also with the 060 daughterboard installed ?

We would be glued to the monitors, even at 23:59:59 at 31.12.2010 if you do this....screw the fireworks :-D


Merry X-Mas and a hapyp new year!!!


//Espen

Last edited by espskog; 12-30-2010 at 01:48 AM..
espskog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 09:52 AM   #2
yaqube
Technoid
Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 197
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Frankly speaking there is not much to show right now. Everything has been delayed slightly.

I should get the new revision of the board shortly after Mike has verified the design. The daughter board should be ready in January.

In the meantime Tobias has managed to implement missing bitfield instructions. It has increased the core size to 75% of the FPGA.

We are still working on fixing minor problems. Finally we've got the RNC Copy Lock games to work.
yaqube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 10:27 AM   #3
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,321, Level: 89 Points: 20,321, Level: 89 Points: 20,321, Level: 89
Activity: 76% Activity: 76% Activity: 76%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
Frankly speaking there is not much to show right now. Everything has been delayed slightly.

I should get the new revision of the board shortly after Mike has verified the design. The daughter board should be ready in January.

In the meantime Tobias has managed to implement missing bitfield instructions. It has increased the core size to 75% of the FPGA.

We are still working on fixing minor problems. Finally we've got the RNC Copy Lock games to work.
Cheers for the info. Sounds like things are just about done with th exception of a few morer tweaks.

Just out of interest, will/can the AGA core be ported to the C-One?
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 12:17 PM   #4
yaqube
Technoid
Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 197
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post
Just out of interest, will/can the AGA core be ported to the C-One?
The current Minimig AGA core needs circa 25K logic cells. The Cyclone-III on the C-One extender has 24.6K LCs but some more are required for another CPU core acting as ARM MCU replacement.
Actually it's very hard to use more than 95% of the FPGA due to limited routing resources. It's hard to tell for sure but with clever coding it might be possible.


Quote:
Originally Posted by xyzzy View Post
What will be present on the upcoming daughter board?
I will post more info when I have the board on my desk running.

Last edited by yaqube; 12-30-2010 at 12:19 PM..
yaqube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 11:56 AM   #5
xyzzy
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,492, Level: 36 Points: 3,492, Level: 36 Points: 3,492, Level: 36
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 74
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

What will be present on the upcoming daughter board?
xyzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 12:19 PM   #6
wizard66
Technoid
Points: 6,624, Level: 53 Points: 6,624, Level: 53 Points: 6,624, Level: 53
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
wizard66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Spijkenisse, Netherlands
Posts: 244
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

@ Yacube
Count me in for a daughterboard ;-)
__________________
-=* Homemade Minimig's Build 09 *=-

1x FPGAARCADE Replay v1.0B (Inside a A590 case)
Dreaming of 1x FPGAArcade Daughter-board :-) (inline from day 1)
1x A600
wizard66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 12:36 PM   #7
freqmax
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 15,237, Level: 79 Points: 15,237, Level: 79 Points: 15,237, Level: 79
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,169
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

@yaqube, 75% of the Spartan-3E 1200 ..?

75% is a lot, and makes me wonder about the space for the AGA core etc..
freqmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 01:21 PM   #8
yaqube
Technoid
Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 197
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by freqmax View Post
75% of the Spartan-3E 1200 ..?
75% of the Spartan-3E 1600

Quote:
75% is a lot, and makes me wonder about the space for the AGA core etc..
75% is taken by: Minimig AGA core (with 24-bit scandoubler) + SDRAM DDR memory controller + TG68.C (V0.40) + dual CPU caches + 16-bit DMA AHI sound card module + 128 channel embeded logic analyzer
yaqube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:22 AM   #9
Darth_X
Cult Member
Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Darth_X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 754
Send a message via MSN to Darth_X
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by xyzzy View Post
What will be present on the upcoming daughter board?
I would like to know how much it would cost to add an Amiga floppy drive controller to this board. Its a strange request, I know, but I'm curious. I still need to read/write Amiga floppies.
Darth_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:54 AM   #10
xyzzy
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,492, Level: 36 Points: 3,492, Level: 36 Points: 3,492, Level: 36
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 74
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_X View Post
I would like to know how much it would cost to add an Amiga floppy drive controller to this board. Its a strange request, I know, but I'm curious. I still need to read/write Amiga floppies.
The Kryoflux USB floppy controller might be just what you're looking for, of course there's the small question of amiga drivers.

http://www.kryoflux.com/

Alternatively it may be possible to connect a floppy drive up to some spare I/O lines and run it through the FPGA.
xyzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 12:46 PM   #11
Darth_X
Cult Member
Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67 Points: 10,151, Level: 67
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Darth_X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 754
Send a message via MSN to Darth_X
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by xyzzy View Post
The Kryoflux USB floppy controller might be just what you're looking for, of course there's the small question of amiga drivers.

http://www.kryoflux.com/

Alternatively it may be possible to connect a floppy drive up to some spare I/O lines and run it through the FPGA.
I'm interested in the Kryoflux, but it costs $172 CAD$. Great with a PC with USB, but not really an add-on for an FPGA based Amiga.
Darth_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:38 AM   #12
wizard66
Technoid
Points: 6,624, Level: 53 Points: 6,624, Level: 53 Points: 6,624, Level: 53
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
wizard66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Spijkenisse, Netherlands
Posts: 244
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
Frankly speaking there is not much to show right now. Everything has been delayed slightly.

I should get the new revision of the board shortly after Mike has verified the design. The daughter board should be ready in January.

In the meantime Tobias has managed to implement missing bitfield instructions. It has increased the core size to 75% of the FPGA.

We are still working on fixing minor problems. Finally we've got the RNC Copy Lock games to work.
@Yacube can i use my new unused ceramic PGA 060 rev 6 (71E41J) on your daughter board ?
__________________
-=* Homemade Minimig's Build 09 *=-

1x FPGAARCADE Replay v1.0B (Inside a A590 case)
Dreaming of 1x FPGAArcade Daughter-board :-) (inline from day 1)
1x A600

Last edited by wizard66; 01-02-2011 at 07:45 AM..
wizard66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 08:22 AM   #13
yaqube
Technoid
Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 197
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by wizard66 View Post
can i use my new unused ceramic PGA 060 rev 6 (71E41J) on your daughter board ?
Definitely
yaqube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 08:42 AM   #14
wizard66
Technoid
Points: 6,624, Level: 53 Points: 6,624, Level: 53 Points: 6,624, Level: 53
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
wizard66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Spijkenisse, Netherlands
Posts: 244
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
Definitely
Sweet, i'm happy that I hold back this CPU then ;-)
Maybe it's possible to overclock the cpu in the future this cpu can run 80 mhz easy..
__________________
-=* Homemade Minimig's Build 09 *=-

1x FPGAARCADE Replay v1.0B (Inside a A590 case)
Dreaming of 1x FPGAArcade Daughter-board :-) (inline from day 1)
1x A600

Last edited by wizard66; 01-02-2011 at 09:12 AM..
wizard66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 09:52 AM   #15
DCAmiga
Hobbyist
Points: 2,853, Level: 32 Points: 2,853, Level: 32 Points: 2,853, Level: 32
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
DCAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA, native of Sydney
Posts: 70
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by wizard66 View Post
Sweet, i'm happy that I hold back this CPU then ;-)
Maybe it's possible to overclock the cpu in the future this cpu can run 80 mhz easy..
Or maybe in a few years it will be much, much faster take a look at this up coming FPGA technology:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencete...es-faster.html


__________________
Amiga 500, 1/2 Meg Trap Door, RocTec HD, Slim External Floppy (DF1), KS Switcher: KS 1.3 & KS 2.04 (1987-1995)
PeeCee Box, W7 - WinUAE
Dell Inspiron 14R - laptop
Sony PS3
Sony PSP
Nintendo Wii
Nintendo 3DS
DCAmiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 04:23 PM   #16
AmigaClassicRule
Cult Member
Points: 7,492, Level: 57 Points: 7,492, Level: 57 Points: 7,492, Level: 57
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 953
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
Frankly speaking there is not much to show right now. Everything has been delayed slightly.

I should get the new revision of the board shortly after Mike has verified the design. The daughter board should be ready in January.

In the meantime Tobias has managed to implement missing bitfield instructions. It has increased the core size to 75% of the FPGA.

We are still working on fixing minor problems. Finally we've got the RNC Copy Lock games to work.

If you are part of the team for FPGAReplay is it possible...in the new version you can at least give the user the ability to use real storage media such as HD, Disk Drive, Optical Media, etc? Please, can you consider it in the future? Can you turn it into a desktop motherbord with build in PCI, allow for video card too as well? Can you consider it? Thanks.
AmigaClassicRule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 04:58 PM   #17
Blinx123
Technoid
Points: 6,511, Level: 52 Points: 6,511, Level: 52 Points: 6,511, Level: 52
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 352
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Just sent an email to support@fpgaarcade.com
I hope it's the right address.

I kind of really want one now.
With the lack of proper accelerators for classic Amigas, this would make the perfect developer system.
__________________
Sam: \"You crack me up little buddy\"
Max: \"I love you Sam\"
Blinx123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 05:39 PM   #18
freqmax
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 15,237, Level: 79 Points: 15,237, Level: 79 Points: 15,237, Level: 79
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,169
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

PCI etc.. = more $$ and also more EMC issues.

Just a suggestion.. put a list in the order of first to get board online. Then less people need ask for the status
freqmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:25 AM   #19
mikej
Cult Member
Points: 8,612, Level: 62 Points: 8,612, Level: 62 Points: 8,612, Level: 62
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 744
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaClassicRule View Post
If you are part of the team for FPGAReplay is it possible...in the new version you can at least give the user the ability to use real storage media such as HD, Disk Drive, Optical Media, etc? Please, can you consider it in the future? Can you turn it into a desktop motherbord with build in PCI, allow for video card too as well? Can you consider it? Thanks.
Hi.
I got an email with a similar question, but I will answer here as well.

Answer is no, the board is relatively cheap as it is small - it's as small as it can be and fit everything on. It fits on two normal ATX holes quite stably so it will go in an itx/atx etc case.

PCI does not help at all - it would have to be PCI express nowadays which is fairly complex to bridge. The idea is future daughter boards could add more advanced features.

SD cards give you significant storage and emulate hard drives as fast as the original Amiga drives pretty much in transfer rate. You can hook USB devices from the daughter board.

/MikeJ
mikej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:57 AM   #20
Blinx123
Technoid
Points: 6,511, Level: 52 Points: 6,511, Level: 52 Points: 6,511, Level: 52
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 352
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Hey Mike.

Have you received my email? Is support@fpgaarcade.com the correct address?
__________________
Sam: \"You crack me up little buddy\"
Max: \"I love you Sam\"
Blinx123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fpga , replay , board

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump