View Full Version : Would you trust this?
McVenco
05-10-2007, 08:31 AM
CD32 on eBay (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200107950208&ru=http://search.ebay.com:80/200107950208_W0QQfromZR40QQfviZ1)
The item location says Germany (or at least, it looks like that), but when asked I got the answer "Hi, this item will be directly shipped from warehouse located in China. Thanks
"
The seller sells a lot of (counterfeit?) DVD's, also coming from China I presume, and he already has some negative/neutral feedback which says the goods are counterfeit.
Would anyone want to buy this, or is this probably counterfeit as well?
ffastback
05-10-2007, 08:37 AM
No, he has like 5 negatives this month alone, I'd forget it!
Oli_hd
05-10-2007, 08:50 AM
Would anyone want to buy this, or is this probably counterfeit as well?
I would buy it, a NOS boxed CD32 in 2007 for £5 plus £25 P&P.
And the effort needed to counterfit a CD32 would be massive, re-make the PCB, chips, case etc. heck if it was a 2007 CD32 it would be worth a tonne.
As for the 5 negatives, well on a 99% feedback I would still take the risk... unless it was a DVD, then I wouldnt :)
----edit---
in typing my reply the price went from $9.99 to $62 O_O
still cheap IMHO
McVenco
05-10-2007, 09:02 AM
Oli_hd wrote:
----edit---
in typing my reply the price went from $9.99 to $62 O_O
still cheap IMHO
Nop, it's still at $9.99. He's got more than 1 for sale apparently. Which even makes me doubt this more.
countzero
05-10-2007, 09:06 AM
if you guys keep it calm I can buy one and see what it's about. shipping to japan should be cheaper.
Oli_hd
05-10-2007, 09:14 AM
Nop, it's still at $9.99. He's got more than 1 for sale apparently. Which even makes me doubt this more.
Opps yup your right. :-)
ZeBeeDee
05-10-2007, 09:45 AM
$50 for shipping throughout the EU??? I could hop on a plane and pick the darn thing up in person for less!
Oldsmobile_Mike
05-10-2007, 10:01 AM
Do an ebay search - he's got three of them on there right now (although one has <1 minute left, at $96, another is still at >4 days, for $9.99).
My guess is, he stumbled across - or stole - a NOS supply of them. It is in China, right? And anything can happen in China. :-o
ZeBeeDee
05-10-2007, 10:20 AM
@ Oldsmobile_Mike
Not China ... Seller is located in Germany
Homer
05-10-2007, 10:39 AM
Didn't I read somewhere about some company mislaying a warehouse full of Amiga stuff in Germany :-o
Retromania
05-11-2007, 07:11 AM
@ McVenco
Without sounding too negative, due to my experiences recently (last few months) I would not touch it. There are just too many scams going on and if the location is not the same as that of the seller, it does sound suspicious.
Retro
This (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200094748317) CD32 seems to have been sent to the right place in orderly fashion.
Looks like it's fairly safe to buy, although it looks rather dodgy =). You can't really make a counterfeit CD32 =).
McVenco
05-11-2007, 07:49 AM
odin wrote:
You can't really make a counterfeit CD32
True, it was more of a joke really :-)
But I think I will look somewhere else if I want to buy one. Shipping costs are too high to make it a decent priced object, plus I can't use a 110 Volt, NTSC version here in Europe anyway....
gizmo350
05-11-2007, 09:03 AM
I emailed the guy and asked if it would work here in the states and how much shipping would be but I get now reply. :-?
amigadave
05-11-2007, 09:17 AM
gizmo350 wrote:
I emailed the guy and asked if it would work here in the states and how much shipping would be but I get now reply. :-?
It clearly states that it is NTSC and 110 volts, why wouldn't it work here in the states?
He probably didn't answer because it was a question that was obviously answered in the auction.
If I were interested in getting (another) CD32, I would be all over this auction, if I could pay by Paypal with a credit card. That way you have two protections, one from Paypal and the other from being able to reverse the credit card charge for something that never arrived.
c64_d0c
05-11-2007, 09:18 AM
nope!
________
Mflb Battery Charge Time (http://vaporizer.org/reviews)
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.